You are not logged in.

#1 2022-11-23 11:54:56

laichiaheng
Member
Registered: 2017-02-12
Posts: 161

How to enable ray tracing on AMDGPU in Resident Evil 3 Remake?

I can't enable ray tracing in Resident Evil 3, doesn't Linux support ray tracing already?

Offline

#2 2022-11-23 21:10:55

yochananmarqos
Member
Registered: 2020-02-05
Posts: 101
Website

Re: How to enable ray tracing on AMDGPU in Resident Evil 3 Remake?

Why not? What did you try? Did you check ProtonDB?

Yes, the NVIDIA drivers support Ray Tracing.

Offline

#3 2022-11-23 22:37:51

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 17,696

Re: How to enable ray tracing on AMDGPU in Resident Evil 3 Remake?

For an amdgpu you'd need to have  the environment variable RADV_PERFTEST=rt set but even then it's not really in a fully stable/performant way yet: https://www.phoronix.com/news/RADV-RT-XDC-2022

AMDVLK is in general considered worse from a perf perspective so even if it might have faster ray tracing your general results might not be as good if you think of switching to that just to test RT, also afaik all of this mandates a RDNA2 GPU at least, do you have that?

If your GPU is still  AMD ATI Radeon RX 470/480/570/570  like a few months ago you can absolutely forget any form of ray tracing since that isn't supported by the HW (and afaik even Vulkan isn't supported anymore for AMDVLK/AMDGPU-PRO for that, depending on whether it is 4xx or 5xx)

Last edited by V1del (2022-11-24 08:59:55)

Offline

#4 2022-11-24 16:18:29

laichiaheng
Member
Registered: 2017-02-12
Posts: 161

Re: How to enable ray tracing on AMDGPU in Resident Evil 3 Remake?

@V1del Thanks for the reply, it works now.
I have another question, does RADV support HDR like AMDVLK does?
AMDVLK can output HDR via DRM, can we also do that by adding options in RADV_PERFTEST when playing videos?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB