You are not logged in.

#1 2006-11-07 14:13:28

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Order of fstab

Installed Arch last night and upon boot I get a kernel panic, can't find init or something of that nature( @ work right now). I noticed that in my fstab file my hdd partitions are listed @ the bottom. Does this need to b in the order with my hdd partitions @ the top. Fstab man says "The order of records in fstab is important..." Has anyone else experienced this. Thanks!!!!!


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#2 2006-11-07 15:31:15

pressh
Developer/TU
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2005-08-14
Posts: 1,719

Re: Order of fstab

the order in fstab is only important in that the first harddisc (partition) is the one you mount at /, as you mount the other harddiscs / partitions in the directory structure of your / partition (your swap partition is excluded from the above)

Either way, I'm not sure if your problem is due to an incorrect fstab file.
Share your fstab file (/etc/fstab), your grub config file (/boot/grub/menu.lst) (or lilo if you use lilo as your boot manager).
That would be a good starting point for solving your problem.

Offline

#3 2006-11-07 15:40:09

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Offline

#4 2006-11-07 15:43:21

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: Order of fstab

As soon as I get home I will, fooled with it last night for about two hrs. Can get it to work using the boot media and arch root=/dev/hda3 but that was the only way. Thanks Pressh!


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#5 2006-11-07 15:46:05

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: Order of fstab

Phrakture, do I need to first get it to boot w/o using the boot media. I did a base install and it will not boot. Thanks!


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#6 2006-11-07 22:16:52

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: Order of fstab

Here is my lilo.conf: boot=/dev/hda
                             
                              default=Arch
                              timeout=50
                              lba32
                              prompt

                              image=/boot/vmlinuz26
                                         label=arch
                                         root=/dev/hda3

                              inird=/boot/kernel26.img

                              read-only


and here is my fstab:

none  /dev/pts    devpts    defaults   0  0
none  /dev/shm   tmpfs     defaults   0  0


/dev/cdrom   /mnt/cd    iso9660  ro,user,noauto,unhide 0  0
/dev/dvd      /mnt/dvd   udf        ro,user,noauto,unhide 0  0
/dev/fd0       /mnt/fl      vfat       user,noauto                0  0


/dev/hda3   /   ext3     defaults   0  1
/dev/hda1   /boot        defaults   0  1
/dev/hda2   swap         defaults  0  0


Thanks for ur help!!!


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#7 2006-11-07 22:23:16

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: Order of fstab

here is the error I get:

kinit: Cannot open root device hda3(3,3)
kinit: init not found!
kernel panic - not syncing: attempted to kill init


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#8 2006-11-07 23:55:18

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: Order of fstab

During installation when i try to install LILO I get this error message:

Fatal: raid_setup:stat("/dev/hda")

not trying to setup raid, my m/b is an Asus A7V266-E and raid is enabled but I am booting off hda. Any ideas?


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#9 2006-11-08 13:30:13

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: Order of fstab

I've checked my mkinitcpio and the hooks look fine to me, cannot figure out what is going on. Does anyone have any suggestions?


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#10 2006-11-08 13:37:26

vredfreak
Member
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 66

Re: Order of fstab

You probably already have, but you might try booting into your system from the Install CD, i.e "arch root=/dev/hda3" (I hope I'm remembering that right).  Then run lilo and see if it will work.  If you just try to reinstall lilo without chrooting into your system, it's probably not going to work.

Hope this helps

Edit:  Just noticed that in your lilo.conf "initrd" is misspelled.  Maybe just a typo, but if you copy and pasted you may want to double check.


Hi.  I'm a sig.  What are you?

Offline

#11 2006-11-08 13:53:38

vredfreak
Member
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 66

Re: Order of fstab

One other thing.

If this is a fresh install and you haven't upgraded your packages yet, the mkinitcpio won't be there yet (someone correct me if I'm wrong).  So your lilo.conf should still be pointing at "initrd" and not the kernel26.img.  I don't think this will fix your problem with installing lilo though.


Hi.  I'm a sig.  What are you?

Offline

#12 2006-11-08 16:02:11

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: Order of fstab

Thanks for ur reply vredfreak!
That is just a typo on my part in ref to initrd, it is correct in lilo.conf. I can boot into my box using the install disk and arch root=/dev/hda3. And mkinitcpio is there eve though I have not upgraded my packeges yet. Do I need to upgrade my packeges bfore it will work. Do not remember seeing that in the install instructions. Last night I did an ftp install, did not make a difference. Thanks for any help I can get!!


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#13 2006-11-08 19:15:14

vredfreak
Member
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 66

Re: Order of fstab

Sorry, I wasn't aware that mkinitcpio was on the install CD.  No, you shouldn't have to upgrade for lilo to install properly.  I ran into this exact same problem with Arch a long time ago, and booting off the CD into my system, then running lilo worked for me.  You could always try to install grub and see if that works.  Here's the Wiki:


http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GRUB


Hi.  I'm a sig.  What are you?

Offline

#14 2006-11-08 20:34:50

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: Order of fstab

I have gone back in and re-installed lilo to no avail, and I personally like lilo(old Slackware user). Should not matter what boot loader I use. I cannot figure this out to save my life, may have to go back to slack if I don't find out something soon! Thanks for all the help so far!!![/quote]


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#15 2006-11-08 22:12:30

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: Order of fstab

I have checked lilo on my slack laptop and they both look the same so I don't think it is a bootloader prob. Has anyone else had this problem?


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#16 2006-11-09 00:23:36

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: Order of fstab

just did a clean install using grub as the bootloader and the same result. I just don't think Arch is very installable. I hvae a very plain Jane box and I am having a lot of trouble.


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#17 2006-11-09 01:19:36

filoktetes
Member
From: Skien, Norway
Registered: 2003-12-29
Posts: 286

Re: Order of fstab

I had the same problem as you (but on a experimental i586 system), and maybe my solution will help you.

Boot in to your system, put ide-generic in the MODULES= filed in /etc/mkinitcpio.conf
run mkinitcpio as root, run lilo if you run lilo, and reboot, and cross your fingers...

Offline

#18 2006-11-09 01:58:43

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: Order of fstab

Thanks filoktetes but no help. I think it may have something to do with the Promise fastrack raid headers enabled on the m/b. tried to install Arch to an ABIT BP6 dual Celeron m/b that has highpoint ide headers on it for  four extra hdd's and it recognized my hdd as hde when it should b hda.


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#19 2006-11-09 02:11:07

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: Order of fstab

Has anyone installed Arch on a system with onboard raid that was enabled?


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#20 2006-11-10 00:43:18

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: Order of fstab

I got it working!!!


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB