You are not logged in.

#1 2023-01-18 12:56:42

quellen
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2014-05-24
Posts: 246

[SOLVED] tty and boot on low resolution (AMD)

hello,
i have a CPU AMD Ryzen 5 5600G and i set "amdgpu" on mkinitcpio.conf to get hi-res on boot and tty:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/kernel … _KMS_start

but it doesn't work, boot and tty are still on low resolution (seems 640x480).
why?

$ cat /etc/mkinitcpio.conf
# vim:set ft=sh
# MODULES
# The following modules are loaded before any boot hooks are
# run.  Advanced users may wish to specify all system modules
# in this array.  For instance:
#     MODULES=(piix ide_disk reiserfs)
MODULES=(amdgpu snd-aloop)
#MODULES=(i915 hid_apple snd-aloop)


# BINARIES
# This setting includes any additional binaries a given user may
# wish into the CPIO image.  This is run last, so it may be used to
# override the actual binaries included by a given hook
# BINARIES are dependency parsed, so you may safely ignore libraries
BINARIES=()

# FILES
# This setting is similar to BINARIES above, however, files are added
# as-is and are not parsed in any way.  This is useful for config files.
#FILES=()
#FILES=(/usr/lib/firmware/edid/1024x768.bin)

# HOOKS
# This is the most important setting in this file.  The HOOKS control the
# modules and scripts added to the image, and what happens at boot time.
# Order is important, and it is recommended that you do not change the
# order in which HOOKS are added.  Run 'mkinitcpio -H <hook name>' for
# help on a given hook.
# 'base' is _required_ unless you know precisely what you are doing.
# 'udev' is _required_ in order to automatically load modules
# 'filesystems' is _required_ unless you specify your fs modules in MODULES
# Examples:
##   This setup specifies all modules in the MODULES setting above.
##   No raid, lvm2, or encrypted root is needed.
#    HOOKS=(base)
#
##   This setup will autodetect all modules for your system and should
##   work as a sane default
#    HOOKS=(base udev autodetect block filesystems)
#
##   This setup will generate a 'full' image which supports most systems.
##   No autodetection is done.
#    HOOKS=(base udev block filesystems)
#
##   This setup assembles a pata mdadm array with an encrypted root FS.
##   Note: See 'mkinitcpio -H mdadm' for more information on raid devices.
#    HOOKS=(base udev block mdadm encrypt filesystems)
#
##   This setup loads an lvm2 volume group on a usb device.
#    HOOKS=(base udev block lvm2 filesystems)
#
##   NOTE: If you have /usr on a separate partition, you MUST include the
#    usr, fsck and shutdown hooks.
HOOKS=(base udev autodetect modconf block filesystems keyboard fsck)

# COMPRESSION
# Use this to compress the initramfs image. By default, gzip compression
# is used. Use 'cat' to create an uncompressed image.
#COMPRESSION="gzip"
#COMPRESSION="bzip2"
#COMPRESSION="lzma"
#COMPRESSION="xz"
#COMPRESSION="lzop"
#COMPRESSION="lz4"

# COMPRESSION_OPTIONS
# Additional options for the compressor
#COMPRESSION_OPTIONS=()
$ sudo mkinitcpio -p linux
==> Building image from preset: /etc/mkinitcpio.d/linux.preset: 'default'
  -> -k /boot/vmlinuz-linux -c /etc/mkinitcpio.conf -g /boot/initramfs-linux.img
==> Starting build: 6.1.6-arch1-1
  -> Running build hook: [base]
  -> Running build hook: [udev]
  -> Running build hook: [autodetect]
  -> Running build hook: [modconf]
  -> Running build hook: [block]
==> WARNING: Possibly missing firmware for module: xhci_pci
  -> Running build hook: [filesystems]
  -> Running build hook: [keyboard]
  -> Running build hook: [fsck]
==> Generating module dependencies
==> Creating zstd-compressed initcpio image: /boot/initramfs-linux.img
==> Image generation successful
==> Building image from preset: /etc/mkinitcpio.d/linux.preset: 'fallback'
  -> -k /boot/vmlinuz-linux -c /etc/mkinitcpio.conf -g /boot/initramfs-linux-fallback.img -S autodetect
==> Starting build: 6.1.6-arch1-1
  -> Running build hook: [base]
  -> Running build hook: [udev]
  -> Running build hook: [modconf]
  -> Running build hook: [block]
==> WARNING: Possibly missing firmware for module: bfa
==> WARNING: Possibly missing firmware for module: qed
==> WARNING: Possibly missing firmware for module: aic94xx
==> WARNING: Possibly missing firmware for module: wd719x
==> WARNING: Possibly missing firmware for module: qla2xxx
==> WARNING: Possibly missing firmware for module: qla1280
==> WARNING: Possibly missing firmware for module: xhci_pci
  -> Running build hook: [filesystems]
  -> Running build hook: [keyboard]
  -> Running build hook: [fsck]
==> Generating module dependencies
==> Creating zstd-compressed initcpio image: /boot/initramfs-linux-fallback.img
==> Image generation successful
$ lsmod |grep amd
edac_mce_amd           57344  0
kvm_amd               176128  0
kvm                  1146880  1 kvm_amd
ccp                   135168  1 kvm_amd
gpio_amdpt             20480  0
gpio_generic           20480  1 gpio_amdpt
amdgpu              10739712  9
drm_ttm_helper         16384  1 amdgpu
ttm                    94208  2 amdgpu,drm_ttm_helper
video                  65536  1 amdgpu
gpu_sched              49152  1 amdgpu
drm_buddy              20480  1 amdgpu
drm_display_helper    217088  1 amdgpu

Last edited by quellen (2023-01-18 19:11:33)


sorry for my bad english

Offline

#2 2023-01-18 14:06:09

Bradley
Member
Registered: 2022-06-25
Posts: 19

Re: [SOLVED] tty and boot on low resolution (AMD)

Which boot loader are you using?

Offline

#3 2023-01-18 14:20:17

quellen
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2014-05-24
Posts: 246

Re: [SOLVED] tty and boot on low resolution (AMD)

Bradley wrote:

Which boot loader are you using?

GRUB


sorry for my bad english

Offline

#4 2023-01-18 16:48:30

quellen
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2014-05-24
Posts: 246

Re: [SOLVED] tty and boot on low resolution (AMD)

i have tried to add this on /etc/default/grub:

GRUB_GFXMODE=1280x1024x32
GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX=keep

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/GRUB/T … resolution

but nothing changes.

btw, i'm using a very old (2005?) vga monitor 4:3:

$ xrandr 
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 16384 x 16384
HDMI-A-0 disconnected primary (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-A-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DisplayPort-0 connected 1280x1024+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 256mm x 192mm
   1024x768      60.00 +
   1920x1080     60.00  
   1600x1200     60.00  
   1680x1050     59.95  
   1400x1050     59.98  
   1600x900      60.00  
   1280x1024     60.02* 
   1440x900      59.89  
   1280x960      60.00  
   1366x768      59.79  
   1280x720      60.00  
   800x600       60.32  
   640x480       59.94  

max resolution is 1280x1024. if i set 1920x1080 video is weird.

Last edited by quellen (2023-01-18 16:50:19)


sorry for my bad english

Offline

#5 2023-01-18 18:26:35

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 6,873
Website

Re: [SOLVED] tty and boot on low resolution (AMD)

Have you tried the vga= kernel command line parameter? The GRUB wiki page claims it's "deprecated" [sic] but I think it still works — the parameter is listed in https://www.kernel.org/doc/html/latest/ … eters.html.

Another possibility is https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/kernel … cing_modes.

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2023-01-18 18:26:54)

Offline

#6 2023-01-18 19:11:17

quellen
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2014-05-24
Posts: 246

Re: [SOLVED] tty and boot on low resolution (AMD)

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

This works!
i have used:

video=DP-1:1280x1024@60me

Thank you very much! :-)


sorry for my bad english

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB