You are not logged in.

#1 2022-12-28 14:16:09

crypticuser
Member
From: Kolkata
Registered: 2021-01-21
Posts: 9

ArchLinux freezes

Freshly installed archlinux, and it gets stuck in tty, could not login. This problem started since i got Linux 6.1.1 update. This happens in both MBR & UEFI.

Help me get through this.


Archie**

Offline

#2 2022-12-28 14:26:53

d.ALT
Member
Registered: 2019-05-10
Posts: 508

Re: ArchLinux freezes

Are you sure Boot Process is stuck indeed?
Can you get some graphics if you disable Modesetting?
Please, we also need you to post the output of

# journalct -b0 --no-pager

Last edited by d.ALT (2022-12-28 14:27:03)


<49,17,III,I>    Fama di loro il mondo esser non lassa;
<50,17,III,I>    misericordia e giustizia li sdegna:
<51,17,III,I>    non ragioniam di lor, ma guarda e passa.

Online

#3 2022-12-28 14:44:35

crypticuser
Member
From: Kolkata
Registered: 2021-01-21
Posts: 9

Re: ArchLinux freezes


Archie**

Offline

#4 2022-12-29 17:16:03

crypticuser
Member
From: Kolkata
Registered: 2021-01-21
Posts: 9

Re: ArchLinux freezes

got any solutions??


Archie**

Offline

#5 2022-12-29 17:24:24

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 18,993

Re: ArchLinux freezes

Do not bump threads.   Add more information, tell us what you have tried and learned since your last post.
Answer questions that have been asked.
Do not give us the impression you are merely waiting for our answer.

And your video is terrible.  Is the cursor blinking?  Are the keyboard lights blinking?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#6 2022-12-31 11:22:16

crypticuser
Member
From: Kolkata
Registered: 2021-01-21
Posts: 9

Re: ArchLinux freezes

cursor is not blinking keyboard lights are not bliking. stuck at tty


Archie**

Offline

#7 2022-12-31 12:28:03

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 18,175

Re: ArchLinux freezes

If you have a mediatek USB wifi device there's a known breakage leading to a kernel crash, either downgrade to 6.0.12 or test the patches in https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/76922#comment213962

Offline

#8 2022-12-31 12:49:34

crypticuser
Member
From: Kolkata
Registered: 2021-01-21
Posts: 9

Re: ArchLinux freezes

No I don't have mediatek usb card.. i am using LAN. system froze in TTY, so unable to login.. i believe i would have to reinstall archlinux with LTS kernel.


Archie**

Offline

#9 2022-12-31 12:55:35

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 18,175

Re: ArchLinux freezes

Does it? Have you tried switching VTs with Ctrl+Alt+F2 and so forth? Also in general you do not need to reinstall Arch Linux, you can just chroot from a live disk and install the LTS kernel in addition to the normal kernel and configure the bootloader appropriately

Offline

#10 2023-01-02 16:08:36

crypticuser
Member
From: Kolkata
Registered: 2021-01-21
Posts: 9

Re: ArchLinux freezes

i cannot do anything . system hanged in TTY, cursor not blinking neither caps lock button blinking. had to force shutdown the system. I don't know what happened. after linux 6.1.1 update this happened. i tried reinstalling archlinux. after installing system rebooted but again same issue.

Last edited by crypticuser (2023-01-02 16:09:34)


Archie**

Offline

#11 2023-01-02 17:11:07

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 18,175

Re: ArchLinux freezes

Of course you get the same issue if you're indeed running into an issue with the kernel.

You can chroot into your system from the live disk and install the LTS kernel so you have something to boot and then check whether anything got written to the journal from the faulty boots

Offline

#12 2023-01-05 11:28:18

Spartanz51
Member
Registered: 2023-01-05
Posts: 6

Re: ArchLinux freezes

I think I have the same issue, are you running x11?

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=282559

Last edited by Spartanz51 (2023-01-05 11:36:27)

Offline

#13 2023-01-22 06:52:51

paavel.daemon
Member
Registered: 2023-01-20
Posts: 8

Re: ArchLinux freezes

Ya I too have same issue with Arch install...
The 2023.01.01 doesn't boot for Install too and get's stuck...
And the 2022 does boot the Live USB and also installs successfully but it get's stuck on tty...
It blinks for 5 seconds approx and after that the prompt doesn't let me type anything.
But the chroot to root works just fine....
I have AMD Ryzen 3 as Processor and AMD Radeon vega graphics in an HP Laptop db15-xxx
Live boot output of Arch 2023.01.01: http://0x0.st/ohlA.jpeg
TTY output of 2022 arch after installation: http://0x0.st/ohY2.jpg


Just a teen with curiosity in tech, linux, and arch....
Mr.Robot <3 series....
Arch Linux || Preferred poison

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB