You are not logged in.

#1 2023-02-25 22:38:25

mdcclxv
Member
Registered: 2022-04-26
Posts: 188

[SOLVED] Pacman error, no clue how to handle it

As of today I'm getting a "Maximum file size exceeded" error for a php73 package. Bellow is the relevant section from pacman's output with --debug:

:: Retrieving packages...
 php73-cli-7.3.33-10-x86_64 downloading...
debug: php73-cli-7.3.33-10-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst: url is https://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/el:/archphp/Arch/x86_64/php73-cli-7.3.33-10-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst
debug: php73-cli-7.3.33-10-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst: maxsize 1853552
debug: php73-cli-7.3.33-10-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst: opened tempfile for download: /var/cache/pacman/pkg/php73-cli-7.3.33-10-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst.part (wb)
debug: php73-cli-7.3.33-10-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst: curl returned result 63 from transfer
error: failed retrieving file 'php73-cli-7.3.33-10-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst' from download.opensuse.org : Maximum file size exceeded
debug: php73-cli-7.3.33-10-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst: no more servers to retry
debug: curl_download_internal return code is -1
warning: failed to retrieve some files
error: failed to commit transaction (download library error)
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.

I don't have that php package in pacman's cache.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

Last edited by mdcclxv (2023-02-25 23:23:58)

Offline

#2 2023-02-25 22:42:51

mdcclxv
Member
Registered: 2022-04-26
Posts: 188

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman error, no clue how to handle it

I've downloaded that file manually and I can see it's actually larger by 10 bytes than the size from the --debug output, so my guess is there's an issue with the size being reported by the mirror offering the package.
Is there any way I can get past this and perform the upgrade?

Last edited by mdcclxv (2023-02-25 22:43:07)

Offline

#3 2023-02-25 22:50:39

mdcclxv
Member
Registered: 2022-04-26
Posts: 188

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman error, no clue how to handle it

Further more: found pacman's -U option, so I've manually installed that package. Guess what? The next one also has the same issue. Looks to me like someone at opensuse messed up big time. Any way I can tell pacman to ignore the sizes reported by the mirror?

Offline

#4 2023-02-25 23:12:20

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,729
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman error, no clue how to handle it

That isn't a mirror it is an unofficial user / third-party repository, and not even one listed in our wiki.  What is that repo for?


"UNIX is simple and coherent" - Dennis Ritchie; "GNU's Not Unix" - Richard Stallman

Offline

#5 2023-02-25 23:17:00

mpan
Member
Registered: 2012-08-01
Posts: 1,228
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman error, no clue how to handle it

mdcclxv:
While using third party repositories, please indicate that. It would really save me a bit of time, before I realized the problem is not with Arch repos.

The repository contains invalid information. In “home_el_archphp_Arch.db/php73-cli-7.3.33-10/desc”:

%CSIZE%
1853552

As you yourself have noticed, the actual size is different.

Contact the repository maintainer, so they could solve the problem. Meanwhile you may use -U as a temporary workaround.

Last edited by mpan (2023-02-25 23:17:53)


Sometimes I seem a bit harsh — don’t get offended too easily!

Offline

#6 2023-02-25 23:22:01

mdcclxv
Member
Registered: 2022-04-26
Posts: 188

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman error, no clue how to handle it

My apologies, I completely forgot I added that repo by myself, it was more than an year ago. I used it to install php 7.3 as I need it for a legacy project.

I scripted those packages to manually download & install them.

Many thanks for your time.

Last edited by mdcclxv (2023-02-25 23:23:21)

Offline

#7 2023-02-25 23:56:50

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 12,029
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman error, no clue how to handle it

Mod note: Moving to AUR Issues.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MAG X570S TORPEDO MAX // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB