You are not logged in.

#1 2023-03-06 14:35:10

rufusreal
Member
Registered: 2023-03-05
Posts: 19

[SOLVED] Break grub trying to add a swap file on BTRFS, help please.

I'm a beginner on Arch and I was trying to fix a problem where I cannot wake up the system after suspend/hibernate Linux with KDE. So I read that I need at least a swap file or partition. But I ended up corrupting grub for not reviewing the swap created. So now I can't access the system, Linux doesn't load because of grub error and no TTY.

I created a swap file without taking in mind that the system is using BTRFS with subvolumes, so now I don't know if I have a swap file but I think I corrupt grub config.

I follow a guide and I did this: 

```
sudo dd if=/dev/nvme0n1 of=/swapfile bs=1G count=18

sudo chmod 600 /swapfile

sudo sudo mkswap /swapfile

sudo swapon /swapfile

echo "/swapfile  none  swap  sw  0  0" >> /etc/fstab

```

Then change grub configuration in /etc/default/grub in the specific line with `GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT= splash resume=/swapfile`

And I created and execute `/usr/sbin/update-grub` to update grub.
```
#!/bin/sh
set -e
exec grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg "$@"
```

Then reboot the computer and I get black screen with the cursor and I cannot access even to TTY.

---

So I think I break grub and I tried to fix from live environment. I booted into an Archlinux live environment, but I couldn't reinstall Linux and grub from chroot, because an error with pacman dependencies.

My Arch system (also grub config) is on /dev/nvme0n1p2 in subvolume @

I followed this but I can't reinstall Linux or grub as I mentioned.
```
mount /dev/nvme0n1p2 /mnt

mount -o subvol=@ /dev/nvme1n1p2 /mnt/home
mount --bind /dev /mnt/dev
mount --bind /sys /mnt/sys
mount --bind /proc /mnt/proc
mount --bind /run /mnt/run

sudo chroot /mnt /bin/bash

sudo pacman -S grub linux # break dependencies

# grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg # update-grub

# sudo grub-install --root-directory=/mnt /dev/sda

Exit, unmount and reboot
```

How can I fix the system? I don't want to reinstall and configure Arch-limux again.

Thanks.

Last edited by rufusreal (2023-03-10 00:01:24)

Offline

#2 2023-03-06 14:56:58

dogknowsnx
Member
Registered: 2021-04-12
Posts: 421

Re: [SOLVED] Break grub trying to add a swap file on BTRFS, help please.

By using random "installation guides" (such like the mess above) you wouldn't be running Arch Linux anyway. Please follow the official guide and wiki:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Installation_guide
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/GRUB
Should you then encounter any issues you at least qualify for support here and are more than welcome to do so...


Wayland.

"We are eternal, all this pain is an illusion" - Maynard James Keenan

Offline

#3 2023-03-06 15:23:17

rufusreal
Member
Registered: 2023-03-05
Posts: 19

Re: [SOLVED] Break grub trying to add a swap file on BTRFS, help please.

dogknowsnx wrote:

By using random "installation guides" (such like the mess above) you wouldn't be running Arch Linux anyway. Please follow the official guide and wiki:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Installation_guide
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/GRUB
Should you then encounter any issues you at least qualify for support here and are more than welcome to do so...

Well, I had installed Arch I only want to fix the suspend mode ("sleep") on KDE and I tried to create a swap file and change grub config.

Because I think to suspend properly and wake up the system I need a swap file or swap partition.

I was running Arch good after installing with archinstall, the only problem was that I use the system after suspending.

Offline

#4 2023-03-06 15:27:06

dogknowsnx
Member
Registered: 2021-04-12
Posts: 421

Re: [SOLVED] Break grub trying to add a swap file on BTRFS, help please.

Creating a swapfile on a Btrfs filesystem requires a Btrfs-specific procedure:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Btrfs#Swap_file


Wayland.

"We are eternal, all this pain is an illusion" - Maynard James Keenan

Offline

#5 2023-03-06 15:30:30

rufusreal
Member
Registered: 2023-03-05
Posts: 19

Re: [SOLVED] Break grub trying to add a swap file on BTRFS, help please.

dogknowsnx wrote:

Creating a swapfile on a Btrfs filesystem requires a Btrfs-specific procedure:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Btrfs#Swap_file

Yes, I notice after changing the grub config. That's why I corrupt the grub config. But I don't how to fix grub from a live environment.

Offline

#6 2023-03-06 15:36:35

dogknowsnx
Member
Registered: 2021-04-12
Posts: 421

Re: [SOLVED] Break grub trying to add a swap file on BTRFS, help please.


Wayland.

"We are eternal, all this pain is an illusion" - Maynard James Keenan

Offline

#7 2023-03-06 15:42:01

rufusreal
Member
Registered: 2023-03-05
Posts: 19

Re: [SOLVED] Break grub trying to add a swap file on BTRFS, help please.

I mounted the affected system and did chroot.
But couldnt reinstall Linux and grub for dependencies issues.

Offline

#8 2023-03-06 15:58:29

dogknowsnx
Member
Registered: 2021-04-12
Posts: 421

Re: [SOLVED] Break grub trying to add a swap file on BTRFS, help please.

You don't need to reinstall those packages. Inside the chroot run the appropriate 'grub-install' command (see the grub wiki page I posted above) and remove the swapfile entry from your 'etc/fstab' (I'm no expert by any means - there are more knowledgeable users out there...)

Last edited by dogknowsnx (2023-03-06 16:04:35)


Wayland.

"We are eternal, all this pain is an illusion" - Maynard James Keenan

Offline

#9 2023-03-07 13:59:54

rufusreal
Member
Registered: 2023-03-05
Posts: 19

Re: [SOLVED] Break grub trying to add a swap file on BTRFS, help please.

Finally I could restore the system doing chroot from a live environment and reinstalling grub. smile

I think the problem with don't wake up after suspend is from Arch. Maybe I should try creating a swapfile under btrfs and see if it works. But for now I will wait and see if a new update of Archlinux fix the problem.

Last edited by rufusreal (2023-03-07 14:04:39)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB