You are not logged in.

#1 2023-03-05 08:05:28

nopefish
Member
Registered: 2020-02-17
Posts: 13

Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

Hi all.
My laptop sometimes hangs forever on reboot or powering off via commands in terminal.
In this case I'm just pressing the "power on" button on the laptop for a long time.
This issue is happening sometimes when I run

reboot

or

shutdown -h now

commands.
When it happens I see three messages on the screen:

watchdog: watchdog0: watchdog did not stop!
watchdog: watchdog0: watchdog did not stop!
spi-nor spi0.0: Software reset failed: -524

Sometimes it shows only the last one.
I have no idea what is the cause of this issue.

Below is some parts of neofetch output:

OS: Arch Linux x86_64 
Kernel: 6.2.1-arch1-1 
Resolution: 1366x768 
WM: i3 
Theme: Adwaita [GTK2] 
Icons: Adwaita [GTK2] 
Terminal: termite 
CPU: Intel Celeron N3050 (2) @ 2.160GHz 
GPU: Intel Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx 
Memory: 1099MiB / 1750MiB 

The device is Asus E402SA laptop.

On this url http://ix.io/4qBq is output of the command

sudo journalctl --since="2023-03-12 07:00:00" -p 4 > journalctl_output_since_2023_03_12_07_00_00.txt

Last edited by nopefish (2023-03-12 06:09:12)

Offline

#2 2023-03-09 13:00:46

Va1
Member
Registered: 2023-03-09
Posts: 1

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

Did you ever find a solution I have the same problem

Offline

#3 2023-03-09 13:38:51

nopefish
Member
Registered: 2020-02-17
Posts: 13

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

Va1 wrote:

Did you ever find a solution I have the same problem

I don't have time to collect journal entries and logs for this issue.
I will collect them in a day or two.
You could do the same.
The instructions are on sticked top threads.

Offline

#4 2023-03-12 04:57:36

nopefish
Member
Registered: 2020-02-17
Posts: 13

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

Updated the post with logs.

Offline

#5 2023-03-12 08:00:05

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,601

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

"-p 4" isn't helpful, there's no indication of a shutdown nor what's going on during that.
Nor is

In this case I'm just pressing the "power on" button on the laptop for a long time.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Keyboa … el_(SysRq)

Online

#6 2023-03-12 19:45:03

.devilok
Member
Registered: 2011-02-20
Posts: 3

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

I got same error after update kernel to 6.xx. I am on desktop though, and system is rebooted successfully.

Last edited by .devilok (2023-03-12 19:45:49)

Offline

#7 2023-03-18 02:43:53

nopefish
Member
Registered: 2020-02-17
Posts: 13

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

So I enabled the SysRq using `echo "1" > /proc/sys/kernel/sysrq` and typed `reboot` and pressed enter. After that I got the first three lines from the pic below. I tried all keyboard shortcuts I found to launch appropriate function but all I got is two symbols "^@" in response to `Alt+Fn+PrintScreen+c`.
I'm going to reboot and to try to enable SysRq using systemd settings.
Frozen screen on reboot

Offline

#8 2023-03-18 06:26:21

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,601

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

I tried all keyboard shortcuts I found to launch appropriate function

The "appropriate" function here is REISUB
Even if the reboot fails, ifff the filesystem sync succeeds, you at least get the journal.

And please post your complete system journal for any boot:

sudo journalctl -b | curl -F 'file=@-' 0x0.st

The NOR device spi0.0 seems to cuase trouble…

Online

#9 2023-03-18 09:59:32

nopefish
Member
Registered: 2020-02-17
Posts: 13

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

Here's the log that I made just now https://0x0.st/H-pV.txt

Offline

#10 2023-03-18 12:56:15

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,601

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

You've dhcpcd and systemd-networkd enabled in parallel and apparently also some netctl@wlan0. Pick one, disable the others.
Also there's some nonsense in your hosts file:

Mar 18 10:04:57 arche402s systemd-resolved[227]: /etc/hosts:5: hostname "arch_e402s.localdomain" is not valid, ignoring.
Mar 18 10:04:57 arche402s systemd-resolved[227]: /etc/hosts:5: hostname "arch_e402s" is not valid, ignoring.
Mar 18 10:04:57 arche402s systemd-resolved[227]: /etc/hosts:5: line is missing any valid hostnames

On topic:

Mar 18 10:04:47 arche402s kernel: scsi 0:0:0:0: Direct-Access     ATA      Smartbuy SSD 128 117D PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
Mar 18 10:04:49 arche402s systemd[1]: Mounted /mnt/smartbuy128.
Mar 18 10:04:49 arche402s kernel: Adding 6291452k swap on /mnt/smartbuy128/swapfile.  Priority:-2 extents:82 across:61579264k SSFS

Mar 18 10:04:47 arche402s kernel: mmcblk0: mmc0:0001 BGND3R 29.1 GiB 
Mar 18 10:04:49 arche402s systemd[1]: Mounted /mnt/emmc.

Mar 18 10:04:52 arche402s kernel: spi-nor spi0.0: w25q64dw (8192 Kbytes)
Mar 18 10:04:52 arche402s kernel: Creating 1 MTD partitions on "intel-spi":

Post the output of "lsblk -f" and your fstab.
The NOR MTD is apparently not the emmc nor the ssd?
The root partition is on the ssd, so what's the extra "smartbuy128" mount?

Online

#11 2023-03-19 05:08:45

nopefish
Member
Registered: 2020-02-17
Posts: 13

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

/mnt/smartbuy128 is just a partition on the same ssd. Previosly the arch was living on the emmc ext4 partition that you can see below. After discovering that emmc is a slow device I moved arch to ssd.

lsblk -f:

NAME         FSTYPE FSVER LABEL    UUID                                 FSAVAIL FSUSE% MOUNTPOINTS
sda                                                                                    
├─sda1       ext4   1.0   archdata 1d646146-2592-48dc-965e-647f89e63c28    4.7G    87% /mnt/smartbuy128
├─sda2       vfat   FAT32          D620-BCCF                                           
└─sda3       ext4   1.0            8b9c55a8-d4c2-4746-ad67-609b8d35029b   20.5G    60% /
mmcblk0                                                                                
├─mmcblk0p1  vfat   FAT32 SYSTEM   E096-E6D3                                           
├─mmcblk0p2                                                                            
├─mmcblk0p3  ext4   1.0            61f902c0-33e2-4062-95e7-e6fa197c715b    4.4G    79% /mnt/emmc
└─mmcblk0p4  ntfs         RECOVERY 2AF89478F894444B                                    
mmcblk0boot0                                                                           
mmcblk0boot1  

/etc/fstab:

# Static information about the filesystems.
# See fstab(5) for details.

# <file system> <dir> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
# /dev/sda1
UUID=1d646146-2592-48dc-965e-647f89e63c28    /mnt/smartbuy128    ext4        defaults    0 1

# /dev/sda3
UUID=8b9c55a8-d4c2-4746-ad67-609b8d35029b    /             ext4          rw,relatime    0 1

/mnt/smartbuy128/swapfile    none          swap          defaults      0 0
UUID=61f902c0-33e2-4062-95e7-e6fa197c715b    /mnt/emmc             ext4          rw,relatime    0 1

Last edited by nopefish (2023-03-19 07:14:19)

Offline

#12 2023-03-19 07:05:39

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,601

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

Please use "code" tags, https://bbs.archlinux.org/help.php#bbcode
Edit your post in this regard.

Move the root partition up in the fstab order, so you end up w/

UUID=8b9c55a8-d4c2-4746-ad67-609b8d35029b    /             ext4          rw,relatime    0 1
UUID=1d646146-2592-48dc-965e-647f89e63c28    /mnt/smartbuy128    ext4        defaults    0 1
/mnt/smartbuy128/swapfile    none          swap          defaults      0 0

While the root partition is probably pre-mounted, the order generally matters and idk whether it can have negative impact on systemd's mount service behavior

Since the emmc isn't relevant to your system setup, comment it in the fstab and blacklist "spi-nor", https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Kernel … acklisting
(Just going by the error in your screenshot)

Online

#13 2023-03-19 07:44:28

nopefish
Member
Registered: 2020-02-17
Posts: 13

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

I've done everything you said but dhcpcd is still runnning on startup. Is it ok?
Here is the last "journalctl -b": https://0x0.st/H-47.txt
I'll look if it's not freezing anymore. Thank you for your help.

Offline

#14 2023-03-19 07:54:07

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,601

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

but dhcpcd is still runnning on startup. Is it ok?

seth wrote:

You've dhcpcd and systemd-networkd enabled in parallel and apparently also some netctl@wlan0. Pick one, disable the others.

"No"

Please post the output of

find /etc/systemd -type l -exec test -f {} \; -print | awk -F'/' '{ printf ("%-40s | %s\n", $(NF-0), $(NF-1)) }' | sort -f

Online

#15 2023-03-19 08:02:33

nopefish
Member
Registered: 2020-02-17
Posts: 13

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

bluetooth.service                        | bluetooth.target.wants
ctrl-alt-del.target                      | system
dbus-org.bluez.service                   | system
dbus-org.freedesktop.home1.service       | system
dbus-org.freedesktop.resolve1.service    | system
dbus-org.freedesktop.timesync1.service   | system
getty@tty1.service                       | getty.target.wants
machines.target                          | multi-user.target.wants
netctl-auto@wlp2s0.service               | sys-subsystem-net-devices-wlp2s0.device.wants
netctl.service                           | multi-user.target.wants
netctl@wlan0\x2dUCOM_1CF779.service      | multi-user.target.wants
netctl@wlan0\x2dUcom9042_2.4G.service    | multi-user.target.wants
p11-kit-server.socket                    | sockets.target.wants
pipewire.socket                          | sockets.target.wants
pulseaudio.socket                        | sockets.target.wants
remote-cryptsetup.target                 | multi-user.target.wants
remote-fs.target                         | multi-user.target.wants
sshd.service                             | multi-user.target.wants
systemd-boot-update.service              | sysinit.target.wants
systemd-homed-activate.service           | systemd-homed.service.wants
systemd-homed.service                    | multi-user.target.wants
systemd-pstore.service                   | sysinit.target.wants
systemd-resolved.service                 | sysinit.target.wants
systemd-timesyncd.service                | sysinit.target.wants
systemd-userdbd.socket                   | sockets.target.wants

Offline

#16 2023-03-19 08:26:03

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,601

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

netctl-auto@wlp2s0.service               | sys-subsystem-net-devices-wlp2s0.device.wants
netctl.service                           | multi-user.target.wants
netctl@wlan0\x2dUCOM_1CF779.service      | multi-user.target.wants
netctl@wlan0\x2dUcom9042_2.4G.service    | multi-user.target.wants

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Netctl
I assume netctl-auto@wlp2s0.service and the two netctl@wlan0 services are in conflict?
systemd-networkd is gone, if you disabled the dhcpcd service and just wonder why the process still starts: netctl starts and uses it - that's fine.

Online

#17 2023-03-19 09:51:53

nopefish
Member
Registered: 2020-02-17
Posts: 13

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

It still freezes on reboot. I'll try to check things later.
Here's the last journalctl if it is needed https://0x0.st/H-J9.txt

Offline

#18 2023-03-19 12:58:40

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,601

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

What does the tail of the shutdown console printout say?
What if you additionally bock mmc_core and mmc_block?

(Though we're still sailing blind)

Online

#19 2023-03-21 01:24:37

creative_username
Member
Registered: 2023-03-21
Posts: 2

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

Hi, I'm having the same issue on both of my Arch installs since a few weeks.
Using KDE Plasma.
Both are running on AMD mobile CPUs (although slightly different variants) and both use luks full disk encryption. Other than that I try to keep them minimalist.
Although I primarily noticed the issue during shutdown and it doesn't show any unusual messages there (been using Arch for quite a few years now).
Sorry if this isn't super helpful, but I thought I'd confirm that this issue exists.

Last edited by creative_username (2023-03-21 01:25:15)

Offline

#20 2023-03-21 08:19:12

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,601

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

Or not.
Plasma crashing out of the session and SDDM throwing a hissifit about that is "normal". Try to log out of the session and shutdown/reboot from SDDM (or use sddm-git where this is apparently fixed) to see whether you're actually anywhere near the OPs situation.

Online

#21 2023-03-23 06:19:01

nopefish
Member
Registered: 2020-02-17
Posts: 13

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

seth wrote:

What does the tail of the shutdown console printout say?
What if you additionally bock mmc_core and mmc_block?

It prints nothing or a couple of lines "watchdog: watchdog0: watchdog did not stop!"
I blocked mmc_core and mmc_block but still no result.
My suggestion it may be a cpu bug. In the past when I leave this laptop working for several days it could freeze. I remember I googled it and found out there is some issue with Intel cpu and for that time I saw no solution for that issue.

Offline

#22 2023-03-23 07:14:48

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,601

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Intel_ … Intel_CPUs
Probably not the cause of the reboot issues, though.
(Neither seems the emmc, so that was a red herring)

Online

#23 2023-03-23 20:57:58

creative_username
Member
Registered: 2023-03-21
Posts: 2

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

seth wrote:

Or not.
Plasma crashing out of the session and SDDM throwing a hissifit about that is "normal". Try to log out of the session and shutdown/reboot from SDDM (or use sddm-git where this is apparently fixed) to see whether you're actually anywhere near the OPs situation.

I tried logging out of Plasma before and then shutting down in SDDM. It only worked one time, otherwise the issue persists.

Offline

#24 2023-03-24 06:56:19

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,601

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 0#p2090710 (avoid the power button, try sysqr+reisub and post a journal)

Online

#25 2023-03-26 06:35:01

nopefish
Member
Registered: 2020-02-17
Posts: 13

Re: Sometimes Arch does not reboot or shutdown and hangs forever

It seems that sysrq wasn't working for me at all according to this link https://docs.kernel.org/admin-guide/sys … at-s-wrong
I'll try to fix it later today.
UPD: tried Alt + SysRq + e and Alt + SysRq + b while Arch was working and it closed all programs and rebooted. So it\s not an issue.

Last edited by nopefish (2023-04-02 04:37:59)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB