You are not logged in.

#1 2023-04-25 18:43:16

darnok
Member
Registered: 2017-08-30
Posts: 9

[Solved] Setting console font error

Hello.
Each time i update kernel, there is an ugly error when mkinitcpio generates kernel image:

==> Starting dry run: '6.2.12-arch1-1'
  -> Running build hook: [base]
  -> Running build hook: [udev]
  -> Running build hook: [autodetect]
  -> Running build hook: [modconf]
  -> Running build hook: [kms]
  -> Running build hook: [keyboard]
==> WARNING: Possibly missing firmware for module: 'xhci_pci'
  -> Running build hook: [keymap]
  -> Running build hook: [consolefont]
==> ERROR: consolefont: requested font not found: 'Lat2-Terminus16.psfu.gz'
  -> Running build hook: [block]
  -> Running build hook: [filesystems]
  -> Running build hook: [fsck]
==> Generating module dependencies
==> Dry run complete, use -g IMAGE to generate a real image

Yes, I know this is a dry run, and that it is not critical, but this happens every time normal update is done.

Trying:
locate Lat2-Terminus16.psfu.gz

gives:

/usr/share/kbd/consolefonts/Lat2-Terminus16.psfu.gz

The mkinitcpio.conf has line HOOKS=(base udev autodetect modconf kms keyboard keymap consolefont block filesystems fsck), so the keymap module is loaded.
Ah, I did forget to write that this is a new thing appearing from few months, also I've tried to find solution, but no luck.

Any help? Or where to start?
Konrad

Last edited by darnok (2023-05-02 18:04:27)

Offline

#2 2023-04-25 19:25:27

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 53,517

Re: [Solved] Setting console font error

What does your vconsole.conf look like?
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=284365

Offline

#3 2023-04-25 21:28:50

darnok
Member
Registered: 2017-08-30
Posts: 9

Re: [Solved] Setting console font error

This is /etc/vconsole.conf

KEYMAP=pl
FONT=Lat2-Terminus16.psfu.gz
FONT_MAP=8859-2

Offline

#4 2023-04-25 21:40:17

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 53,517

Re: [Solved] Setting console font error

Did you check the link I posted?

Offline

#5 2023-05-01 09:24:16

darnok
Member
Registered: 2017-08-30
Posts: 9

Re: [Solved] Setting console font error

seth wrote:

Did you check the link I posted?

Yes, I did and it helped.

What did help was not only to add required modules, but change in the vconsole.conf

Btw: where can I find info about the required change in vcosnole.conf and above all why telling the exact file name in this case is not working anymore?
and... yeah sorry for late replay...

Offline

#6 2023-05-01 12:43:08

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 53,517

Re: [Solved] Setting console font error

I don't think the syntax w/ a full path/suffix was ever legal, what's new-ish is the default consolefont hook.
https://gitlab.archlinux.org/archlinux/ … e12a95470a

Please always remember to mark resolved threads by editing your initial posts subject - so others will know that there's no task left, but maybe a solution to find.
Thanks.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB