You are not logged in.

#1 2023-05-13 14:08:04

helpneeded31
Member
Registered: 2023-05-13
Posts: 2

[SOLVED] Cannot make nvidia graphics card work

I started using Hyprland yesterday. I havent encountered any problem except my nvidia driver. The problem is nvidia driver seems installed but I can't make it work.

[sam@ArchARH ~]$ nvidia-smi
Sat May 13 19:12:28 2023       
+---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| NVIDIA-SMI 530.41.03              Driver Version: 530.41.03    CUDA Version: 12.1     |
|-----------------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
| GPU  Name                  Persistence-M| Bus-Id        Disp.A | Volatile Uncorr. ECC |
| Fan  Temp  Perf            Pwr:Usage/Cap|         Memory-Usage | GPU-Util  Compute M. |
|                                         |                      |               MIG M. |
|=========================================+======================+======================|
|   0  NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650         Off| 00000000:01:00.0 Off |                  N/A |
| N/A   39C    P8                1W /  N/A|      3MiB /  4096MiB |      0%      Default |
|                                         |                      |                  N/A |
+-----------------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
                                                                                         
+---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| Processes:                                                                            |
|  GPU   GI   CI        PID   Type   Process name                            GPU Memory |
|        ID   ID                                                             Usage      |
|=======================================================================================|
|    0   N/A  N/A       642      G   Hyprland                                      1MiB |
+---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+

$ neofetch

                   -`                    sam@ArchARH 
                  .o+`                   ----------- 
                 `ooo/                   OS: Arch Linux x86_64 
                `+oooo:                  Host: 82EY IdeaPad Gaming 3 15ARH05 
               `+oooooo:                 Kernel: 6.3.1-arch2-1 
               -+oooooo+:                Uptime: 2 hours, 29 mins 
             `/:-:++oooo+:               Packages: 939 (pacman) 
            `/++++/+++++++:              Shell: bash 5.1.16 
           `/++++++++++++++:             Resolution: 1920x1080 
          `/+++ooooooooooooo/`           DE: Hyprland 
         ./ooosssso++osssssso+`          WM: sway 
        .oossssso-````/ossssss+`         Theme: Adwaita [GTK2/3] 
       -osssssso.      :ssssssso.        Icons: Adwaita [GTK2/3] 
      :osssssss/        osssso+++.       Terminal: foot 
     /ossssssss/        +ssssooo/-       CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 4600H with Radeon Graphics (12) @ 3.000GHz 
   `/ossssso+/:-        -:/+osssso+-     GPU: NVIDIA 01:00.0 NVIDIA Corporation TU117M 
  `+sso+:-`                 `.-/+oso:    GPU: AMD ATI 05:00.0 Renoir 
 `++:.                           `-/+/   Memory: 5132MiB / 15359MiB 
 .`                                 `/

Can you help me?

Last edited by helpneeded31 (2023-05-18 15:56:35)

Offline

#2 2023-05-13 15:07:41

TheSgtBilko
Member
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 80

Re: [SOLVED] Cannot make nvidia graphics card work

Pls use code tags (https://bbs.archlinux.org/help.php) for better readability.

OT: https://wiki.hyprland.org/Nvidia/

Offline

#3 2023-05-13 23:34:52

jonno2002
Member
Registered: 2016-11-21
Posts: 510

Re: [SOLVED] Cannot make nvidia graphics card work

you have an optimus system, the nvidia gpu is just used when you need it by prepending 'prime-run' when launching a program/game.
read this page: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/PRIME

Offline

#4 2023-05-14 08:01:08

shadowelite
Member
Registered: 2023-05-14
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED] Cannot make nvidia graphics card work

Hi , I am also facing the same issue

GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 1650 Ti Mobile

Last edited by shadowelite (2023-05-14 08:52:54)

Offline

#5 2023-05-14 13:00:33

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 38,726

Re: [SOLVED] Cannot make nvidia graphics card work

And you have the same solution.
Did you check the link in jonno2002's post?

Offline

#6 2023-05-16 09:10:10

shadowelite
Member
Registered: 2023-05-14
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED] Cannot make nvidia graphics card work

helpneeded31 wrote:

I started using Hyprland yesterday. I havent encountered any problem except my nvidia driver. The problem is nvidia driver seems installed but I can't make it work.

[sam@ArchARH ~]$ nvidia-smi
Sat May 13 19:12:28 2023       
+---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| NVIDIA-SMI 530.41.03              Driver Version: 530.41.03    CUDA Version: 12.1     |
|-----------------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
| GPU  Name                  Persistence-M| Bus-Id        Disp.A | Volatile Uncorr. ECC |
| Fan  Temp  Perf            Pwr:Usage/Cap|         Memory-Usage | GPU-Util  Compute M. |
|                                         |                      |               MIG M. |
|=========================================+======================+======================|
|   0  NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650         Off| 00000000:01:00.0 Off |                  N/A |
| N/A   39C    P8                1W /  N/A|      3MiB /  4096MiB |      0%      Default |
|                                         |                      |                  N/A |
+-----------------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
                                                                                         
+---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| Processes:                                                                            |
|  GPU   GI   CI        PID   Type   Process name                            GPU Memory |
|        ID   ID                                                             Usage      |
|=======================================================================================|
|    0   N/A  N/A       642      G   Hyprland                                      1MiB |
+---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+

$ neofetch

                   -`                    sam@ArchARH 
                  .o+`                   ----------- 
                 `ooo/                   OS: Arch Linux x86_64 
                `+oooo:                  Host: 82EY IdeaPad Gaming 3 15ARH05 
               `+oooooo:                 Kernel: 6.3.1-arch2-1 
               -+oooooo+:                Uptime: 2 hours, 29 mins 
             `/:-:++oooo+:               Packages: 939 (pacman) 
            `/++++/+++++++:              Shell: bash 5.1.16 
           `/++++++++++++++:             Resolution: 1920x1080 
          `/+++ooooooooooooo/`           DE: Hyprland 
         ./ooosssso++osssssso+`          WM: sway 
        .oossssso-````/ossssss+`         Theme: Adwaita [GTK2/3] 
       -osssssso.      :ssssssso.        Icons: Adwaita [GTK2/3] 
      :osssssss/        osssso+++.       Terminal: foot 
     /ossssssss/        +ssssooo/-       CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 4600H with Radeon Graphics (12) @ 3.000GHz 
   `/ossssso+/:-        -:/+osssso+-     GPU: NVIDIA 01:00.0 NVIDIA Corporation TU117M 
  `+sso+:-`                 `.-/+oso:    GPU: AMD ATI 05:00.0 Renoir 
 `++:.                           `-/+/   Memory: 5132MiB / 15359MiB 
 .`                                 `/

Can you help me?

Hi,

For me, the issue was solved by adding the following lines to the file ~/.config/hypr/hyprland.conf:

env = __NV_PRIME_RENDER_OFFLOAD,1
env = __VK_LAYER_NV_optimus,NVIDIA_only

After adding these lines, I tried running programs like mpv and firefox. I also checked the output of nvidia-smi. Everything seems to be working properly now.

I hope this helps!

Offline

#7 2023-05-16 09:24:46

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 19,299

Re: [SOLVED] Cannot make nvidia graphics card work

Now you run everything on the nvidia GPU all the time which is "normally" not what you want, but you do you.

Offline

#8 2023-05-16 11:00:36

helpneeded31
Member
Registered: 2023-05-13
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED] Cannot make nvidia graphics card work

Thanks for all replys. Finally, I managed get it work. First I installed nvidia drivers and nvidia-prime package. When I want to run an application with nvidia, all I do is:

$ prime-run steam

Offline

#9 2023-05-16 12:05:42

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 19,299

Re: [SOLVED] Cannot make nvidia graphics card work

That's how you should do it (...though for steam it might be more useful to do this as necessary on individual games, note that the common translation layers in use in Proton will already identify and use a discrete GPU without further action and you might just have to adjust the LAUNCH_OPTIONS of a select few titles with

prime-run %command%

In any case, if the topic is resolved, please mark it as such by editing the title in the first post and adding [SOLVED] or so.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB