You are not logged in.

#1 2023-09-08 18:46:10

b42
Member
Registered: 2023-07-20
Posts: 160

[SOLVED] OS does not boot

Hi there,

This is basically my first time trying to install Arch, I have followed this youtube video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dI3bGeT31Bo

and my system does not boot, I suspect I might have configured grub file in a wrong way, here is my grub file:

# GRUB boot loader configuration

GRUB_DEFAULT=0
GRUB_TIMEOUT=5
GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR="Arch"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="loglevel=3 quiet cryptdevice=UUID=1293b780-a426-42e2-80a9-7060e48c7bcb:kripted root=UUID=aa3f4ee4-7e43-4d9f-9059-6b3ba1490098"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""
#└─sda2      crypto_LUKS                   1293b780-a426-42e2-80a9-7060e48c7bcb                
#  └─kripted btrfs                         aa3f4ee4-7e43-4d9f-9059-6b3ba1490098  144.5G     1% /

# Preload both GPT and MBR modules so that they are not missed
GRUB_PRELOAD_MODULES="part_gpt part_msdos"

# Uncomment to enable booting from LUKS encrypted devices
#GRUB_ENABLE_CRYPTODISK=y

# Set to 'countdown' or 'hidden' to change timeout behavior,
# press ESC key to display menu.
GRUB_TIMEOUT_STYLE=menu

# Uncomment to use basic console
GRUB_TERMINAL_INPUT=console

# Uncomment to disable graphical terminal
#GRUB_TERMINAL_OUTPUT=console

# The resolution used on graphical terminal
# note that you can use only modes which your graphic card supports via VBE
# you can see them in real GRUB with the command `videoinfo'
GRUB_GFXMODE=auto

# Uncomment to allow the kernel use the same resolution used by grub
GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX=keep

# Uncomment if you want GRUB to pass to the Linux kernel the old parameter
# format "root=/dev/xxx" instead of "root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/xxx"
#GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_UUID=true

# Uncomment to disable generation of recovery mode menu entries
GRUB_DISABLE_RECOVERY=true

# Uncomment and set to the desired menu colors.  Used by normal and wallpaper
# modes only.  Entries specified as foreground/background.
#GRUB_COLOR_NORMAL="light-blue/black"
#GRUB_COLOR_HIGHLIGHT="light-cyan/blue"

# Uncomment one of them for the gfx desired, a image background or a gfxtheme
#GRUB_BACKGROUND="/path/to/wallpaper"
#GRUB_THEME="/path/to/gfxtheme"

# Uncomment to get a beep at GRUB start
#GRUB_INIT_TUNE="480 440 1"

# Uncomment to make GRUB remember the last selection. This requires
# setting 'GRUB_DEFAULT=saved' above.
#GRUB_SAVEDEFAULT=true

# Uncomment to disable submenus in boot menu
#GRUB_DISABLE_SUBMENU=y

# Probing for other operating systems is disabled for security reasons. Read
# documentation on GRUB_DISABLE_OS_PROBER, if still want to enable this
# functionality install os-prober and uncomment to detect and include other
# operating systems.
#GRUB_DISABLE_OS_PROBER=false 

any ideas what might have gone wrong?

Last edited by b42 (2023-09-09 07:43:27)

Offline

#2 2023-09-08 19:11:51

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 19,823

Re: [SOLVED] OS does not boot

b42 wrote:

any ideas what might have gone wrong?

this

I have followed this youtube video...

There is a reason we don't support installs that have followed videos.  Its not just that we don't want to watch them, it is primarily because they are invariably wrong or outdated.

Let's look for the obvious.  Boot from your install media, establish an internet connection,  and post the link provided by lsblk --fs by runnning lsblk --fs | curl -F 'file=@-' 0x0.st so that we can see your disk layout.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#3 2023-09-08 19:32:09

b42
Member
Registered: 2023-07-20
Posts: 160

Re: [SOLVED] OS does not boot

ewaller wrote:
b42 wrote:

any ideas what might have gone wrong?

this

I have followed this youtube video...

There is a reason we don't support installs that have followed videos.  Its not just that we don't want to watch them, it is primarily because they are invariably wrong or outdated.

Let's look for the obvious.  Boot from your install media, establish an internet connection,  and post the link provided by lsblk --fs by runnning lsblk --fs | curl -F 'file=@-' 0x0.st so that we can see your disk layout.

I did not know whether to do it chrooted or not, so I did it from Arch ISO USB:

http://0x0.st/HfBA.txt

Offline

#4 2023-09-08 19:54:27

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 19,823

Re: [SOLVED] OS does not boot

I'm afraid I am not going to be able to help much.  I don't use LUKS crypto, and I have never set up my root on btrfs.

What is it doing when it does not boot?  I am not certain, but I think there is something we need to add to the initrd if we are going to start from btrfs; but as i say, this is out of my wheelhouse.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#5 2023-09-08 20:04:02

b42
Member
Registered: 2023-07-20
Posts: 160

Re: [SOLVED] OS does not boot

ewaller wrote:

I'm afraid I am not going to be able to help much.  I don't use LUKS crypto, and I have never set up my root on btrfs.

What is it doing when it does not boot?  I am not certain, but I think there is something we need to add to the initrd if we are going to start from btrfs; but as i say, this is out of my wheelhouse.

the screen gets black for a couple of seconds as if trying to boot and then jumps back to a Boot Menu

Offline

#6 2023-09-08 20:04:59

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 19,823

Re: [SOLVED] OS does not boot

Grub menu?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#7 2023-09-08 20:09:41

b42
Member
Registered: 2023-07-20
Posts: 160

Re: [SOLVED] OS does not boot

ewaller wrote:

Grub menu?

this. Is it GRUB or my machine's BIOS Boot Menu?

TvqPhbV

Offline

#8 2023-09-08 20:15:42

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 19,823

Re: [SOLVED] OS does not boot

It is your "BIOS" menu.   Although that is a misnomer.  I suspect your system is really a uEFI machine, not a BIOS.
When you start, do you get to a GRUB menu at all?  If your grub configuration file is to be believed, it should be visible for about 5 seconds.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#9 2023-09-08 20:28:05

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,365

Re: [SOLVED] OS does not boot

Make sure to disable secure boot.
If you never see anything like https://think.unblog.ch/wp-content/uplo … _menut.png you botched the bootloader installation

=> For UEFI systems see https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/GRUB#Installation

Offline

#10 2023-09-08 20:34:47

b42
Member
Registered: 2023-07-20
Posts: 160

Re: [SOLVED] OS does not boot

seth wrote:

Make sure to disable secure boot.
If you never see anything like https://think.unblog.ch/wp-content/uplo … _menut.png you botched the bootloader installation

=> For UEFI systems see https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/GRUB#Installation

my machine does not even support Secure Boot.

And no, I do not see anything like in your picture above.

I followed that guide, maybe I did something wrong indeed, sorry but it is not easy to install this system for a newbie big_smile

Is it possible to fix it?

Offline

#11 2023-09-08 20:39:03

b42
Member
Registered: 2023-07-20
Posts: 160

Re: [SOLVED] OS does not boot

I did this command:

grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/boot/efi --bootloader-id=grub

I have to create efi folder manually. Maybe here I made something wrong?

Offline

#12 2023-09-08 20:53:24

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,365

Re: [SOLVED] OS does not boot

You did that when, where and in what context?
"--efi-directory=/boot/efi" would be correct if the ESP (sda1) was mounted  there - not if you mounted it to /boot and if this was outside the chroot, it should have likely  been more like "/mnt/boot"

Consider a more beginner-friendly distro until you don't feel overwhelmed by the installation guide in the wiki.
If it must be archlinux right now, and I cannot believe I'm going to say that, use the archinstall script - you'll still be confronted with a system that's essentially a black box to you, but you've way better chances to get it somehow installed than by following some likeshareandsubscribe idiot on youtube.
These people are not interested in helping you to install archlinux but to monetize their videos and while the latter is perfectly fine, the former is not.

Offline

#13 2023-09-08 21:06:56

b42
Member
Registered: 2023-07-20
Posts: 160

Re: [SOLVED] OS does not boot

seth wrote:

You did that when, where and in what context?
"--efi-directory=/boot/efi" would be correct if the ESP (sda1) was mounted  there - not if you mounted it to /boot and if this was outside the chroot, it should have likely  been more like "/mnt/boot"

Consider a more beginner-friendly distro until you don't feel overwhelmed by the installation guide in the wiki.
If it must be archlinux right now, and I cannot believe I'm going to say that, use the archinstall script - you'll still be confronted with a system that's essentially a black box to you, but you've way better chances to get it somehow installed than by following some likeshareandsubscribe idiot on youtube.
These people are not interested in helping you to install archlinux but to monetize their videos and while the latter is perfectly fine, the former is not.

Yes, I have mounted sda1 to /mnt/boot

so do I need to install EFI to /boot then?

grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/boot --bootloader-id=grub

Maybe this will help:
TYV32C1



I am not a complete newbie. Been using Linux for 3 years, out of those 3 manjaro has been my main driver (and still is) for 2 years. I am very comfortable with the command line, pacman and linux in general. I know it will be hard to switch to Arch but I really want to give it a try!

Last edited by b42 (2023-09-08 21:09:55)

Offline

#14 2023-09-08 21:17:11

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,365

Re: [SOLVED] OS does not boot

so do I need to install EFI to /boot then?

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/GRUB#Installation wrote:

Mount the EFI system partition and in the remainder of this section, substitute esp with its mount point.

# grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=esp --bootloader-id=GRUB

/boot would be correct when being chrooted into the installed system at this point.

I know it will be hard to switch to Arch but I really want to give it a try!

That would imply to try the https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Installation_guide - not some youtube scam-artist.

Offline

#15 2023-09-08 21:22:23

b42
Member
Registered: 2023-07-20
Posts: 160

Re: [SOLVED] OS does not boot

seth wrote:

so do I need to install EFI to /boot then?

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/GRUB#Installation wrote:

Mount the EFI system partition and in the remainder of this section, substitute esp with its mount point.

# grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=esp --bootloader-id=GRUB

/boot would be correct when being chrooted into the installed system at this point.

when I did

grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/boot/efi --bootloader-id=grub

I was chrooted into the installed system, so instead of this I needed to do

grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/boot --bootloader-id=grub

Do I get it right?

Offline

#16 2023-09-08 21:26:11

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,365

Re: [SOLVED] OS does not boot

Yes.
Please btw. stop full-quoting, you're bloating the thread with redndant information.

Offline

#17 2023-09-08 21:46:37

b42
Member
Registered: 2023-07-20
Posts: 160

Re: [SOLVED] OS does not boot

seth wrote:

Yes.
Please btw. stop full-quoting, you're bloating the thread with redndant information.

it worked!!! Thank you!

Offline

#18 2023-09-08 22:04:27

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,365

Re: [SOLVED] OS does not boot

\o/
Please always remember to mark resolved threads by editing your initial posts subject - so others will know that there's no task left, but maybe a solution to find.
Thanks.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB