You are not logged in.

#1 2006-11-09 22:49:03

Bernie
Member
From: Oldebroek, Gelderland, The Ned
Registered: 2006-11-09
Posts: 40

How to start

Hiya. can someone help me to get started with installing Archlinux?

I want to install it on an PC that I use as a webserver but I'm completely new at Linix. How do I install it?

yurs,

bernhard


Life is what you make of it.....

Offline

#2 2006-11-09 23:52:42

Pajaro
Member
Registered: 2004-04-21
Posts: 878

Re: How to start

read the documentation in www.archlinux.org and in wiki.archlinux.org. This is what i did

Offline

#3 2006-11-09 23:54:22

brain0
Developer
From: Aachen - Germany
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 1,382

Re: How to start

Download the latest Arch snapshots for i686: http://www.archlinux.org/~tpowa/newisos/ or x86_64: http://www.archlinux.org/~andyrtr/newisos/ and boot them. Then follow the instructions on the screen.

After that, you will reboot into a minimal console-only base system. Configure your network (like it is described in the rc.conf file or in the wiki) and use pacman to install everything you need.

Offline

#4 2006-11-13 17:34:27

Bernie
Member
From: Oldebroek, Gelderland, The Ned
Registered: 2006-11-09
Posts: 40

Re: How to start

Where do I open it? In Dos? (I didn't know that you can open an ISO in dos) :-S Or in Windows?


Life is what you make of it.....

Offline

#5 2006-11-13 19:28:22

kozaki
Member
From: London >. < Paris
Registered: 2005-06-13
Posts: 638
Website

Re: How to start

Hi Bernie,
You might want to check Quick Archlinux Install which is clear & has got screenshots,
then comes back here if you still has questions.


Seeded week #28: Arch 25 gig (stock 12, Talking 1, Anywhere 11, Apricity 1)
Desktop @3.30GHz 8 gig RAM, Arch linux-ck
laptop1 Atom 2 gig RAM, Arch linux stock i686 (5+H battery smile) & 2: ARM Tegra K1 4 gig RAM, ChrOS
Atom Z520 2 gig RAM, OMV (Debian 7) kernel 3.16 bpo on SDHC | PGP Key: 0xFF0157D9

Offline

#6 2006-11-13 22:40:24

ndlarsen
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2005-11-02
Posts: 157

Re: How to start

The .iso file is an image of a cd. You need to burn it to a cd with software such as nero or cdburnerxp. If you don't have any burning software I would recomend cdburnerxp as it is free to download and use (as in it will not cost you a dime, not sure about the license, though). Consider downloading the gparted live cd too, for disc partitioning prior to the install. Do yourself the favour and read through the install related documentaion provided in the previous posts, it might save you a headache. Other than that, welcome to the arch linux community, hope you will like it here.


I made it long
as I lacked the time to make it short...

Offline

#7 2006-11-29 20:24:20

Bernie
Member
From: Oldebroek, Gelderland, The Ned
Registered: 2006-11-09
Posts: 40

Re: How to start

Do I burn the ISO on a CD or do I burn the files to a CD?


Life is what you make of it.....

Offline

#8 2006-11-29 20:29:13

filoktetes
Member
From: Skien, Norway
Registered: 2003-12-29
Posts: 286

Re: How to start

You burn the iso.
The cd burning program might call it an image.

Offline

#9 2006-11-30 01:10:48

Bernie
Member
From: Oldebroek, Gelderland, The Ned
Registered: 2006-11-09
Posts: 40

Re: How to start

okay. I'm a bit further. Got Arch Linux installed now..... but I cant get it to launch.... I bet a boot srceen with 2 options. The first is Arch Linux. The second is Arch Linux Fallback. When I select Arch Linux after a while I see the following line of text:

Kinit: Cannot open root device hda3(3.3)
Kinit: init not found!

Kernel panic - not syncing: attempted to kill init!


What have I done wrong? How do I solve it?


Life is what you make of it.....

Offline

#10 2006-12-02 15:32:10

pelle.k
Member
From: Åre, Sweden (EU)
Registered: 2006-04-30
Posts: 667

Re: How to start

I've had this problem in the past. It's either the fact that you've updated the system, and is now running mkinicpio (thus /boot/grub/menu.lst should have the line with kernel26.img instead of image26.img (if i remeber correctly)), and i have also been forced to run grub-install /dev/hda (or sda1 or whatever partition you chose to install grub to...) after an update of the system from a fresh installation.
These annoyances will probably not exist in the next release, because they are a product of drastic changes from the installation version, and current base system.


"Your beliefs can be like fences that surround you.
You must first see them or you will not even realize that you are not free, simply because you will not see beyond the fences.
They will represent the boundaries of your experience."

SETH / Jane Roberts

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB