You are not logged in.

#1 2023-09-15 19:08:38

cra
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2009-09-25
Posts: 70

Built-in display don't work on my system, but works on live image

I'm using Asus Zenbook ux425E
(tl;dr: built-in laptop screen not working after system update, but works when I boot from archlinux iso USB media)

Today I had some issues with bluetooth speaker not connecting during a call, checked the archlinux homepage and did the system upgrade with "yay -Syu" and a reboot which resulted in built-in display not working. I'm somewhat sure that the reboot took longer than I expected and I had to force-shutdown the laptop. I had some travels recently so I thought maybe it's a cable issue since I had something like that with my previous Zenbook laptop. However I usually very careful with my laptops so I was till a bit surprised.

After reboot the screen was blank so I thought the system hanged and I tried a few things:
- resetting the CMOS (by pressing the power button for long amount of seconds)
- rebooting system a few times
- turning off the machine and waiting for a few minutes before starting again

Then I remembered that I have TV somewhere with HDMI input and surprisingly connecting to an on-board laptop HDMI I was able to see video output. I proceed to
- updating BIOS firmware (I was a few versions behind)
- resetting to default optimised settings in BIOS
- disabling i915 settings in my modprobe.d directory
- enabling back i915 settings in my modprobe.d directory
- reinstalling linux-firmware
- installing LTS kernel to see if it would get my screen back

Somehow I broke my bootloader on the last step, so I booted using a live media and surprisingly the screen worked from archinstall image (was mirroring the HDMI to built-in display). Unfortunately it only works when I'm booting the live media.

After I fixed my bootloader I can boot my machine, but only the HDMI works (unless I boot from the live media). It seems that booting from live media still doesn't turn on the screen right away, but after some time during the initial run.

Here's my

journalctl -b

output
https://tmp.mosyag.in/S2V/journalctl.txt

Here's

lshw

https://tmp.mosyag.in/S2V/lshw.txt

And my

mkinitcpio -M

https://tmp.mosyag.in/S2V/mkinitcpio.txt

xrandr doesn't show my typical eDP-1 that used to be there:

$ xrandr -q
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1360 x 768, maximum 32767 x 32767
DP1 disconnected primary (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP4 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI1 connected 1360x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 640mm x 360mm
   1360x768      59.80*+
   1920x1080     60.00    50.00    59.94    30.00    25.00    24.00    29.97    23.98
   1280x720      60.00    50.00    59.94
   1024x768      60.00
   800x600       60.32
   720x576       50.00
   720x480       60.00    59.94
   640x480       60.00    59.94
HDMI2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI4 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI5 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VIRTUAL1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

That HDMI1 is the built-in input I use.
I don't use any login managers so I'm sure the issue is there before I try to start X.

What could be the reason for such weird behavior? Is there a faulty module that I have on my setup that is missing on the liveiso (202309 version from the 1st of September)?

UPD: Tried semi-randomly disabling various params for i915 driver, but no effect. Then I found a workaround (kinda?)
downgraded my main system to 6.2.8, and now when I'm in Xorg I can see eDP1 in the xrandr output and enable it.

Would appreciate if anyone has ideas what's the issue here

Last edited by cra (2023-09-15 21:07:53)


Thou shalt not make a machine in the likeness of a human mind

Offline

#2 2023-09-16 11:59:03

Lone_Wolf
Forum Moderator
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 12,018

Re: Built-in display don't work on my system, but works on live image

First,  lshw and mkinitcpio -M  don't provide the info needed to troubleshoot .
Please post lspci -k (run as user) and the contents of /etc/mkinitcpio.conf .

Only thing in the journal that stands out to me is that your videocard is initialized rather late in the boot and the switch from simpledrm to i915 also takes way to long.

On its own both can cause issues like you described.

Last edited by Lone_Wolf (2023-09-16 11:59:25)


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#3 2023-09-16 12:52:38

cra
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2009-09-25
Posts: 70

Re: Built-in display don't work on my system, but works on live image

here's my lspci -k. Full output https://tmp.mosyag.in/S2V/lspci-k.txt
Lines related to graphics controller:

 $ lspci -k
...
0000:00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation TigerLake-LP GT2 [Iris Xe Graphics] (rev 01)
	DeviceName: Onboard - Video
	Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. TigerLake-LP GT2 [Iris Xe Graphics]
	Kernel driver in use: i915
	Kernel modules: i915
...

should I try that from the livedisk as well?

uncommented lines of mkinitcpio.conf:

MODULES=(vmd i915)
BINARIES=()
FILES=()
HOOKS=(base udev autodetect modconf block filesystems keyboard fsck)

Full file: https://tmp.mosyag.in/S2V/mkinitcpio.conf.txt

Last edited by cra (2023-09-16 12:55:04)


Thou shalt not make a machine in the likeness of a human mind

Offline

#4 2023-09-16 13:14:16

Lone_Wolf
Forum Moderator
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 12,018

Re: Built-in display don't work on my system, but works on live image

Hmm, not what I expected.

Try putting i915 first in modules= , regenerate initramfs , reboot


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#5 2023-09-16 15:22:23

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,290

Re: Built-in display don't work on my system, but works on live image

Sep 15 19:29:09 yay kernel: [drm] Initialized simpledrm 1.0.0 20200625 for simple-framebuffer.0 on minor 0
Sep 15 19:29:09 yay kernel: simple-framebuffer simple-framebuffer.0: [drm] fb0: simpledrmdrmfb frame buffer device

Add "initcall_blacklist=simpledrm_platform_driver_init" to the https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Kernel_parameters

Offline

#6 2023-09-16 15:48:59

cra
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2009-09-25
Posts: 70

Re: Built-in display don't work on my system, but works on live image

Lone_Wolf wrote:

Try putting i915 first in modules= , regenerate initramfs , reboot

that didn't do anything, still loaded into shell without screen

seth wrote:

Add "initcall_blacklist=simpledrm_platform_driver_init" to the https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Kernel_parameters

that also didn't help, visibly got the same result, no screen

loading in either lts 6.1 or zen 6.4 did not show any eDP1 in xrandr output, loading 6.2.8 I got screen built-in screen working in X but not before that sad

Last edited by cra (2023-09-18 19:54:31)


Thou shalt not make a machine in the likeness of a human mind

Offline

#7 2023-09-16 19:19:10

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,290

Re: Built-in display don't work on my system, but works on live image

Sep 15 19:29:10 yay kernel: i915 0000:00:02.0: [drm] [ENCODER:307:DDI A/PHY A] HPD is down, disabling eDP

https://www.spinics.net/lists/intel-gfx/msg320148.html

=> https://bugs.freedesktop.org/
Product: DRI
Component: DRM/Intel

You can try
https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation/fb/modedb.rst

video=eDP-1:e

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Kernel_parameters

Check the actual output name in /sys/class/drm w/ a good kernel

Sidebar:

Sep 15 19:29:10 yay kernel: Setting dangerous option enable_guc - tainting kernel

?

Offline

#8 2023-09-18 19:45:07

cra
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2009-09-25
Posts: 70

Re: Built-in display don't work on my system, but works on live image

the video=eDP-1:e had no effect
The only thing I noticed is that when I specified video=DP-1:e I only saw my terminal in a tiny subsection of a screen during boot.

Even though xrandr shows the output as eDP1, in /sys/class/drm it shows as eDP-1 when I boot in the functioning kernel:

 $ ls /sys/class/drm
card0@        card0-HDMI-A-1@  version
card0-DP-1@   card0-HDMI-A-2@
card0-DP-2@   card0-HDMI-A-3@
card0-DP-3@   card0-HDMI-A-4@
card0-DP-4@   card0-HDMI-A-5@
card0-eDP-1@  renderD128@

For now I forced

GRUB_TOP_LEVEL="/boot/vmlinuz-linux"

in /etc/default/grub so that it boots in 6.2.8 and then I have my screen at least when it gets to the pre-login logs

I tried adding i915 to GRUB_PRELOAD_MODULES, but that didn't seem to do anything. Here's my current /etc/default/grub for reference: https://tmp.mosyag.in/S2V/etc-default-grub.txt

I think I also realised an important addition to my problem: I don't see GRUB when I start my laptop: I can only see grub menu if I connect my laptop to external monitor. Could that have the same underlying issue here?


Thou shalt not make a machine in the likeness of a human mind

Offline

#9 2023-09-18 19:57:02

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,290

Re: Built-in display don't work on my system, but works on live image

I think I also realised an important addition to my problem: I don't see GRUB when I start my laptop: I can only see grub menu if I connect my laptop to external monitor. Could that have the same underlying issue here?

Yes.

It seems that booting from live media still doesn't turn on the screen right away, but after some time during the initial run.

The problem is likely the UEFI and before https://www.spinics.net/lists/intel-gfx/msg320148.html the eDP was used regardless.
The "live media" might be less relevant than the kernel you're booting there.

- installing LTS kernel to see if it would get my screen back

Somehow I broke my bootloader on the last step

Did you ever actually try the LTS kernel?

Offline

#10 2023-09-18 20:11:40

cra
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2009-09-25
Posts: 70

Re: Built-in display don't work on my system, but works on live image

seth wrote:

Did you ever actually try the LTS kernel?

Yes, but I haven't tried to boot to X.
Just tried now:

 $ uname -a
Linux yay 6.1.53-1-lts #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Wed, 13 Sep 2023 09:32:00 +0000 x86_64 GNU/Linux

booting to LTS gives me tty login screen only on the external monitor. However, when running X then I can enable eDP-1 and then get it working.
Though switching to TTY from X is not working, Ctrl-F2/Ctrl-F3 would only change screen on external monitor, it makes the built-in go blank (changing back to Ctrl-F1 where I did login+startx would bring back the mirrored built-in screen)

/sys/class/drm shows same contents as when I run 6.2

UPD: errr something's very weird going on. Switching to 6.2 after LTS left me with non-functioning screen for one reboot. The full sequence:
1. Connected HDMI, booted to LTS. Saw no internal display during startup. Was able to turn it on from X (see above). Weird crop to mirror external display for built-in display picture.
2. Booted to 6.2, internal display still won't work. Login, startX -> xrandr --output eDP1 --auto. Built-in dispay now works (weird crop to mirror external display). Unplugged HDMI -> xrandr --output HDMI1 --disable -> got rescaled proper picture
3. Reboot (to 6.2 again, no external screen connected) -> the built-in screen seem to lose backlight settings, very low brightness

Last edited by cra (2023-09-18 20:23:48)


Thou shalt not make a machine in the likeness of a human mind

Offline

#11 2023-09-18 20:23:19

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,290

Re: Built-in display don't work on my system, but works on live image

Do you have system journal and X11 log from the LTS run?

Offline

#12 2023-09-18 20:37:26

cra
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2009-09-25
Posts: 70

Re: Built-in display don't work on my system, but works on live image

seth wrote:

Do you have system journal and X11 log from the LTS run?

journalctl -b as user from LTS: https://tmp.mosyag.in/S2V/journalctl-b-6.1.53-lts.txt

xorg logs https://tmp.mosyag.in/S2V/xorg-6.1.53-lts.log.txt
collected as startx -- -keeptty >~/.xorg.log 2>&1

just in case, here's my .xinitrc as well: https://tmp.mosyag.in/S2V/dot-xinitrc.txt


Thou shalt not make a machine in the likeness of a human mind

Offline

#13 2023-09-18 20:44:21

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,290

Re: Built-in display don't work on my system, but works on live image

don't fork setxkbmap, your xorg log would be /home/shrimpsizemoose/.local/share/xorg/Xorg.0.log

"HPD is down, disabling eDP" is absent, what if you use video=eDP-1:e on that kernel?

Offline

#14 2023-09-18 21:10:24

cra
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2009-09-25
Posts: 70

Re: Built-in display don't work on my system, but works on live image

Thanks, fixed setxkbmap line

Nothing happens on lts: the behaviour seems to be the same as before
Journalctl: https://tmp.mosyag.in/S2V/journalctl-b- … mdline.txt

On 6.2 I see explicit line "forcing eDP-1", however, this actually ends up with my laptop not turning on eDP-1 neutral
journalctl: https://tmp.mosyag.in/S2V/journalctl-b-non-lts.txt


Thou shalt not make a machine in the likeness of a human mind

Offline

#15 2023-09-18 21:20:44

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,290

Re: Built-in display don't work on my system, but works on live image

The last three boots all have

Sep 18 22:29:39 yay kernel: efifb: probing for efifb
Sep 18 22:29:39 yay kernel: efifb: framebuffer at 0x4000000000, using 4080k, total 4080k
Sep 18 22:29:39 yay kernel: efifb: mode is 1360x768x32, linelength=5440, pages=1
Sep 18 22:29:39 yay kernel: efifb: scrolling: redraw
Sep 18 22:29:39 yay kernel: efifb: Truecolor: size=8:8:8:8, shift=24:16:8:0
Sep 18 22:29:39 yay kernel: fbcon: Deferring console take-over
Sep 18 22:29:39 yay kernel: fb0: EFI VGA frame buffer device
Sep 18 22:29:39 yay kernel: integrity: Loaded X.509 cert 'Huaqin NBD2 Software Certificate: 4672fbfc31a0ada6417c929fb7a3c1ba'
Sep 18 22:29:39 yay kernel: fbcon: Taking over console
Sep 18 22:29:39 yay kernel: fbcon: i915drmfb (fb0) is primary device
Sep 18 22:29:39 yay kernel: i915 0000:00:02.0: [drm] fb0: i915drmfb frame buffer device

Sanity check: it's not just the backlight, is it?

I don't see GRUB when I start my laptop: I can only see grub menu if I connect my laptop to external monitor.

Can you see and enter the UEFI before grub?

Offline

#16 2023-09-18 21:45:40

cra
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2009-09-25
Posts: 70

Re: Built-in display don't work on my system, but works on live image

seth wrote:

Sanity check: it's not just the backlight, is it?

the backlight is the only thing I noticed, what do you mean? The colors seems to be as expected


seth wrote:
I don't see GRUB when I start my laptop: I can only see grub menu if I connect my laptop to external monitor.

Can you see and enter the UEFI before grub?

The fancy graphical BIOS screen? Not unless I plug in external display, no


Thou shalt not make a machine in the likeness of a human mind

Offline

#17 2023-09-18 21:49:40

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,290

Re: Built-in display don't work on my system, but works on live image

I mean the backlight of the eDP being set down all the way to 0

The fancy graphical BIOS screen? Not unless I plug in external display, no

That's a problem.
Was that the case before the update that completely "broke" the display?
Are the UEFI updates available for the system?

Offline

#18 2023-09-19 10:06:20

cra
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2009-09-25
Posts: 70

Re: Built-in display don't work on my system, but works on live image

seth wrote:

I mean the backlight of the eDP being set down all the way to 0

no, in that case it feels like it's set to something like 10-20%

seth wrote:

Was that the case before the update that completely "broke" the display?
Are the UEFI updates available for the system?

Yes, one of the first things I did was to installed the latest UEFI update. I don't really remember though if I saw UEFI splash on this system on a built-in display


Thou shalt not make a machine in the likeness of a human mind

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB