You are not logged in.

#1 2002-08-27 06:39:37

mike
Member
From: Basel, Switzerland
Registered: 2002-08-26
Posts: 23

RPM

Hi,

I have some commercial software here that needs RPM to install. Does Arch include RPM? I don't really like it and I won't use it for installing software except when I don't have a choice. It would be nice if the base packages would be installed. I don't need package managers like K-Package of course.

Thanks!

Offline

#2 2002-08-27 09:21:48

ody
Member
From: Manchester, UK
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 212
Website

Re: RPM

you can try using cpio to extract the package manualy? or if you can grab the source for this package  just create your own AL pkg.

Offline

#3 2002-08-27 10:45:47

mike
Member
From: Basel, Switzerland
Registered: 2002-08-26
Posts: 23

Re: RPM

Well, some products use installers that need RPM. It's also impossible to get the source code of a commercial application. I will just try to install it myself. Can't be that hard! smile

Offline

#4 2002-08-27 11:16:23

ody
Member
From: Manchester, UK
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 212
Website

Re: RPM

thats the spirit! tongue

Offline

#5 2002-08-27 11:40:54

mike
Member
From: Basel, Switzerland
Registered: 2002-08-26
Posts: 23

Re: RPM

lol  I will tell you if I got it working as soon as I get the time to install it.

Offline

#6 2002-08-27 17:10:54

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: RPM

You can download rpmunpack from http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/utils/package/ and use that to convert an .rpm into a .cpio.gz which can be extracted with a gzip/cpio command.

I'll look around for other rpm unpackers.

Offline

#7 2002-08-27 18:04:57

ody
Member
From: Manchester, UK
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 212
Website

Re: RPM

You working on my rpm2pkg idea atall?

Offline

#8 2002-08-27 18:09:25

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: RPM

No, I haven't started it, too many things to do at the moment...  We could do it with a simple bash script and rpmunpack, I'd think.

Offline

#9 2002-08-27 18:56:19

ody
Member
From: Manchester, UK
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 212
Website

Re: RPM

yeah.. Ill have a look into it soon as I get a working i586 port out.

Offline

#10 2002-08-27 19:07:05

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: RPM

Cool.  The i586 is going to be really useful.  I have a K6-2 that's just dying to join the elite ranks of his older i686 brothers.  wink

Offline

#11 2002-08-27 19:29:57

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: RPM

one of the first people i introducted to AL installed it on a P2 233MHz. He says it has breathed new life into this computer. It has never been faster.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#12 2002-08-27 19:44:26

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: RPM

I love to hear things like that.    8)

Offline

#13 2002-08-27 20:18:20

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: RPM

BTW i don't know anyone yet that i have mentioned AL to and who then visited your site did not want to or try to install it (only one person had trouble and that was some one who couldn't get his dhcp dsl set up I know he is still interested though!)


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#14 2002-12-27 21:44:39

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: RPM

apeiro wrote:

You can download rpmunpack from http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/utils/package/ and use that to convert an .rpm into a .cpio.gz which can be extracted with a gzip/cpio command.

Hi,

I have successfully installed Archlinux 0.4 and must admit its good. The install was simple and fast. Its excellent. With the gcc 3.2.1 compiler problems of Gentoo Linux, a distro I liked a lot, its inspiring to find a similar system.

I am using Win4Lin, which requires rpm install (Win4Lin-5.2.10c-d.i386.rpm). I tried what Apeiro suggested but I cannot get the rpm converted. How to do it?

Offline

#15 2002-12-28 08:25:05

BluPhoenyx
Member
Registered: 2002-12-23
Posts: 239

Re: RPM

rasat,

Perhaps the easiest method for extracting rpm and some other packages is an enhancement to Midnight Commander. Go to ftp://www.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/utils/package and download the file mcmenu-1.28.tar.gz. This small package extends the F2 menu functions so you can install rpm and some other package files. It comes with a simple rpmunpack and installs into the AL Midnight Commander without problems. I have yet to test it for use with installing Win4Lin as I haven't committed to it completely and Win4Lin is one of the reasons.

Unpacking Win4Lin is actually the simplest part of the whole installation. It is designed for mainstream distributions, primarily RedHat. It even took some effort for Debian users to get a release in deb format. With systems like AL where you must be more intimate with the configuration, you may run into problems with things such as network and printer sharing. As yet, I'm not real sure what other problems will arise. I expect there will be more issues since security is stricter on AL. At least the kernel source seems generic enough to handle the patch.

If you use this method to install the rpm or any similar one, you need to make sure that you run the script which the rpm system would have run. It should wind up in /opt/win4lin/Install/inst_mrg.sh. There used to be archived messages on the W4L website with more info about this also.

FWIW, I think the kpackage program (among others) will also install rpm files without support from RH's rpm program.


BluPhoenyx

Offline

#16 2002-12-28 08:40:23

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: RPM

speaking of rpmunpack...that can be found in the unofficial tree


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#17 2002-12-28 16:25:11

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: RPM

BluPhoenyx wrote:

Unpacking Win4Lin is actually the simplest part of the whole installation. It is designed for mainstream distributions, primarily RedHat. It even took some effort for Debian users to get a release in deb format. With systems like AL where you must be more intimate with the configuration, you may run into problems with things such as network and printer sharing. As yet, I'm not real sure what other problems will arise.

I found on internet rpm2targz.tar.gz and got the rpm2targz to extract the Win4Lin-5.2.i386.rpm files. Also I was able to load the Windows CD files with "loadwindowsCD" command and to create the dos image. But it could not complete when token (printer port, com1, etc.) files are missing. As you said it requires the script to install the rpm files.

To solve the problem, would it not be better to get rpm-4.1.rpm installed? Then the rpm issue is solved.

I extracted the rpm-4.1.rpm files with rpm2targz and copied them in to the folders. The rpm command works but segment error appears when trying to open a rpm file. Again, the script is required.

Offline

#18 2002-12-28 21:28:43

BluPhoenyx
Member
Registered: 2002-12-23
Posts: 239

Re: RPM

I really don't know about installing the rpm program itself as I haven't really needed it yet.

To manually install the Win4Lin rpm, you need to be in X in a terminal as root. Using the MC method, you can simply extract the /etc and /opt directories directly from the rpm, or use the F2 menu and install (doesn't run scripts.) Alternately, use the rpmunpack mentioned by sarah31and found in the unofficial tree. FWIW, I use MC alot so I prefer the ability to access packages from it. The text mode version is still the most capable utility I've found, but perhaps I'm biased since it's what I used when I first switched to Linux way back when.

To get things working, simply run the script (as root still) /opt/win4lin/postinst_rpm.sh which attempts to configure some other items. There will still be some problems and it's been a while since I've dealt with this, but W4L is rather RedHat specific so it may complain about the startup being different. You will at least have problems with the /etc/rc.d/init.d/Win4Lin startup script since AL doesn't use the init.d directory. IIRC, simply run this script yourself from the rc.local script at system startup.


BluPhoenyx

Offline

#19 2002-12-29 06:31:41

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: RPM

BluPhoenyx wrote:

To get things working, simply run the script (as root still) /opt/win4lin/postinst_rpm.sh which attempts to configure some other items.

Thanks BluPhoenyx. I got it to work. For any Win4Lin user wanting to use Archlinux, I wrote a simple guideline. Go to link:

http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?t=236

PS. Being able to run Win4Lin, I will now stay with Archlinux. Thanks to you.

Offline

#20 2003-04-20 10:13:35

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: RPM

When working with Debian packages, I noticed many of them work with AL. I complied rpm from Debian source and uploaded it to AL's incoming archive:
ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/incoming/rpm-4.0.4-1.ok.tar.gz

I didn't try big rpm packages but win4lin rpm worked well when running with Kpackage.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB