You are not logged in.

#176 2024-01-12 23:07:58

Xabre
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2009-03-19
Posts: 754

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

Thanks, much appreciated.

Offline

#177 2024-01-13 09:46:18

df8oe
Member
From: Northern Germany
Registered: 2023-12-21
Posts: 33

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

The outrolled qt6.7 declarative fixes at least the qml-issue. It is very interesting to test both environments (qt6.6 and qt6.7) so the reason for an issue can addressed to plasma or qt...

Offline

#178 2024-01-13 09:48:55

genericity
Member
Registered: 2014-09-20
Posts: 29

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

MacTavishAO wrote:

Use "pacman -Sl kde-unstable | awk '/installed/ {print $2}' | sudo pacman -Syu -" to reinstall all packages installed from kde-unstable.

Thanks!

Note to fellow users: you might need to translate "installed" to your locale.

Offline

#179 2024-01-13 10:00:55

genericity
Member
Registered: 2014-09-20
Posts: 29

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

MacTavishAO wrote:

I recompiled every package in kde-unstable repo against QT 6.6 instead of QT 6.7 Beta.

kdeconnect in your repo requires kpeople, but it's missing. Also missing is extra-cmake-modules and print-manager.

Last edited by genericity (2024-01-13 10:02:43)

Offline

#180 2024-01-13 10:15:50

MacTavishAO
Member
Registered: 2022-12-29
Posts: 11

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

genericity wrote:

kdeconnect in your repo requires kpeople, but it's missing. Also missing is extra-cmake-modules and print-manager.

Thanks for letting me know! I've added rebuilds of these packages: https://github.com/MacTavishAO/arch-kde … 90229d63fa

Last edited by MacTavishAO (2024-01-13 10:20:13)

Offline

#181 2024-01-13 10:47:38

genericity
Member
Registered: 2014-09-20
Posts: 29

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

Thanks! Did some quick comparasion between two repos. Hope this helps:

> akonadi-notes5-23.08.4-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst
> breeze-plymouth-5.92.0-1-any.pkg.tar.zst
> calindori-24.01.90-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst

< kdenlive-24.01.90-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst
---
> kdenlive-24.01.90-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst

< kdiagram-2.8.0-3-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst
---
> kdiagram-3.0.1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst

< kglobalaccel5-5.112.0-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst
---
> kglobalaccel5-5.113.0-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst

> kidentitymanagement5-23.08.4-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst
> kimageformats-5.248.0-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst

< kio5-5.113.0-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst
---
> kio5-5.113.0-3-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst

> kio5-extras-24.01.90-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst

< kirigami-addons-0.11.0-4-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst
< kirigami-addons5-0.11.0-4-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst
---
> kirigami-addons-0.11.90-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst

> kmix-24.01.90-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst
> kontactinterface5-23.08.4-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst
> kpimtextedit5-23.08.4-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst

< ksanecore-24.01.90-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst
< ksanecore5-24.01.90-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst
---
> ksanecore-24.01.90-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst
> ksanecore5-24.01.90-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst

< kuserfeedback5-1.3.0-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst
< kuserfeedback6-1.3.0-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst
---
> kuserfeedback-5.248.0-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst

> plasma-framework5-5.113.0-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst
> plasma5-integration-5.92.0-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst
> plymouth-kcm-5.92.0-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst
> qcachegrind-24.01.90-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst
> qmlkonsole-24.01.90-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst

Last edited by genericity (2024-01-13 10:48:10)

Offline

#182 2024-01-13 11:58:14

MacTavishAO
Member
Registered: 2022-12-29
Posts: 11

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

genericity wrote:

Thanks! Did some quick comparasion between two repos. Hope this helps:

Thank you once again! https://github.com/MacTavishAO/arch-kde … 009a88c96b

Updating requires manual intervention. Before running "pacman -Syu", run "pacman -Sy kuserfeedback" to replace kuserfeedback5 with kuserfeedback.

Last edited by MacTavishAO (2024-01-13 11:58:34)

Offline

#183 2024-01-13 13:27:09

csutcliff
Member
Registered: 2024-01-13
Posts: 2

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

MadCat_X wrote:
Schlaefer01 wrote:
MadCat_X wrote:

The suggested patch fixes the problem but a trivial backport is needed for it to apply cleanly on KWin 5.92.0. https://pastebin.com/ykhzZZdB


A patch would be really nice. Not having the mouse visible - on all Intel GPUs as it seems - is a complete showstopper and the bug catches a lot of duplicates on the tracker too.

Alas the bug was introduced one day before the RC1 freeze and the fix just missed it.

If you know how to build Arch Packages, you can grab the patch on pasebin I linked and rebuild KWin with it. That should fix the problem.

Building kwin with this patch restored the cursor on 2 of my 3 monitors, I've posted on the KDE bug linked but thought I would also ask here also on the off chance anyone has an idea?

Offline

#184 2024-01-13 13:55:01

MadCat_X
Member
Registered: 2009-10-08
Posts: 189

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

csutcliff wrote:
MadCat_X wrote:
Schlaefer01 wrote:

A patch would be really nice. Not having the mouse visible - on all Intel GPUs as it seems - is a complete showstopper and the bug catches a lot of duplicates on the tracker too.

Alas the bug was introduced one day before the RC1 freeze and the fix just missed it.

If you know how to build Arch Packages, you can grab the patch on pasebin I linked and rebuild KWin with it. That should fix the problem.

Building kwin with this patch restored the cursor on 2 of my 3 monitors, I've posted on the KDE bug linked but thought I would also ask here also on the off chance anyone has an idea?

Does switching the affected screen to landscape orientation fix the problem by any chance?

Offline

#185 2024-01-13 14:02:43

csutcliff
Member
Registered: 2024-01-13
Posts: 2

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

MadCat_X wrote:
csutcliff wrote:
MadCat_X wrote:

If you know how to build Arch Packages, you can grab the patch on pasebin I linked and rebuild KWin with it. That should fix the problem.

Building kwin with this patch restored the cursor on 2 of my 3 monitors, I've posted on the KDE bug linked but thought I would also ask here also on the off chance anyone has an idea?

Does switching the affected screen to landscape orientation fix the problem by any chance?

Good point, don't know why I didn't think about trying that!

It works in landscape or inverted landscape but not either portrait orientation.

Offline

#186 2024-01-13 14:13:44

Schlaefer01
Member
Registered: 2024-01-12
Posts: 6

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

csutcliff wrote:

It works in landscape or inverted landscape but not either portrait orientation.

Same here with an Intel card on the patched Arch RC1 (and Garuda with latest dev build): Mouse cursor is invisible if screen is rotated by 90 degree.

Probably worth opening a new bug report, I'm not sure how much attention comments in closed reports receive.

Offline

#187 2024-01-13 20:29:29

Strangiato
Member
Registered: 2020-01-10
Posts: 382

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

Thumbnail Grid task switcher (alt+tab menu) is still not working on my Plasma 6.

journal log prints these messages:

jan 13 17:28:35 Arch-PC kwin_wayland[17455]: kwin_tabbox: Component failed to load:  QList(file:///home/my_username/.local/share/kwin/tabbox/thumbnail_grid/contents/ui/main.qml:4:1: module "org.kde.plasma.components" version 2.0 is not installed
                                                 import org.kde.plasma.components 2.0 as PlasmaComponents
                                                 ^)

any idea on how to fix this?

Edit:
Thumbnail Grid task switcher works with another user account.

Last edited by Strangiato (2024-01-13 20:42:53)

Offline

#188 2024-01-13 22:25:18

MacTavishAO
Member
Registered: 2022-12-29
Posts: 11

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

Strangiato wrote:

any idea on how to fix this?

Edit:
Thumbnail Grid task switcher works with another user account.

Try deleting ~/.local/share/kwin as new user account wouldn't have that folder.
org.kde.plasma.components belongs to plasma-framework5 package but try deleting that folder first.

Offline

#189 2024-01-13 22:50:54

Strangiato
Member
Registered: 2020-01-10
Posts: 382

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

MacTavishAO wrote:
Strangiato wrote:

any idea on how to fix this?

Edit:
Thumbnail Grid task switcher works with another user account.

Try deleting ~/.local/share/kwin as new user account wouldn't have that folder.
org.kde.plasma.components belongs to plasma-framework5 package but try deleting that folder first.

Problem solved. Thank you very much. smile

Offline

#190 2024-01-14 01:32:36

Echoa
Member
Registered: 2024-01-14
Posts: 1

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

MacTavishAO wrote:

I recompiled every package in kde-unstable repo against QT 6.6 instead of QT 6.7 Beta. This way QML_DISABLE_DISK_CACHE is unneeded to have somewhat functioning system. Building against QT6.6 fixes System Settings entirely, dolphin and konsole plugins respect your customisations, window previews work as expected and applications can be added to favourites and application launcher can be resized. There are probably more things it fixes as a result but these bugs were only ones grinding my gears. If you want to use Plasma 6 beta with QT6.6 add code block below to pacman.conf before kde-unstable:

An alternative to this If you only really care about the plugins in dolphin/konsole you can simply build qt6-base with this revert

https://codereview.qt-project.org/c/qt/qtbase/+/527377

It fixes both Dolphin and Konsole but unfortunately the settings being offset, missing ability to add favorites, etc. arent fixed but at least you dont have the plugins showing all the time and you can just rebuild a single package or not add a repo that isnt the Arch repos if youre the paranoid sort.

Last edited by Echoa (2024-01-14 01:32:52)

Offline

#191 2024-01-14 03:38:24

genericity
Member
Registered: 2014-09-20
Posts: 29

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

MacTavishAO wrote:

org.kde.plasma.components belongs to plasma-framework5 package but try deleting that folder first.

No, I don't think `kwin` (or other Plasma components) depends on `plasma-framework5` anymore.

Offline

#192 2024-01-14 04:51:47

MacTavishAO
Member
Registered: 2022-12-29
Posts: 11

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

genericity wrote:

No, I don't think `kwin` (or other Plasma components) depends on `plasma-framework5` anymore.

Yes, it doesn't but if you look at the journal log they shared, you can see they have a plugin or something installed for kwin in their home directory. Hence why I recommended deleting that folder, or install plasma-framework5 if they wish to keep it.

Last edited by MacTavishAO (2024-01-14 04:55:44)

Offline

#193 2024-01-15 21:44:36

nerolucas
Member
Registered: 2016-11-22
Posts: 7

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

Does it make any sense to release plasma 6 in kde-unstable based on QT 6.7 beta? From the release schedule (https://wiki.qt.io/Qt_6.7_Release), the final release will be in March, while Plasma 6 will be release in Wed 2024-02-28: https://community.kde.org/Schedules/Plasma_6.

So the stable version of Plasma will be release before QT 6.7.

Offline

#194 2024-01-15 22:38:26

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 2,130

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

nerolucas wrote:

Does it make any sense to release plasma 6 in kde-unstable based on QT 6.7 beta? From the release schedule (https://wiki.qt.io/Qt_6.7_Release), the final release will be in March, while Plasma 6 will be release in Wed 2024-02-28: https://community.kde.org/Schedules/Plasma_6.

Which means Plasma needs to work fine with Qt 6.7 by then, and for that it needs to be tested and issues reported and fixed.

Online

#195 2024-01-15 23:06:32

nerolucas
Member
Registered: 2016-11-22
Posts: 7

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

So the final release of Plasma 6 in Arch will be based on QT 6.7 even though it will still be in beta? Asking because if not, then it feels weird that testing targets 6.7 when the final release will be compiled against QT 6.6
But if that's the case, makes sense.

Offline

#196 2024-01-15 23:53:52

sergekorol
Member
Registered: 2021-04-13
Posts: 18

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

Qt 6.7 release plan


Beta2 Release    11.01.2024       
Beta3 Release    01.02.2024       
Soft String Freeze    06.02.2024       
String freeze    13.02.2024       
Branch 6.7.0 from 6.7    23.02.2024       
Beta4 Release    22.02.2024       
Release Candidate    05.03.2024       
Final Release    19.03.2024

Schedules/Plasma 6

5.93.0              (Plasma 6.0 Release Candidate 2)     Release Candidate                         Wed 2024-01-31   
6.0.0                                 Private Tarball                        Release                                 Wed 2024-02-21    Final tag from Plasma/6.0 branch, only urgent fixes approved by release mangler after the Tarball release, please
6.0                                                                                                                                  Wed 2024-02-28    Public release of Plasma 6.0

From Plasma 6 Schedule Community wiki

Notes

Plasma 6.0 will depend on Qt 6.6 and Frameworks 6.0 (and Gear 24.02 for libkexiv2)

From the notes we should be building against QT6 6.6 not QT6 6.7.

Last edited by sergekorol (2024-01-16 00:04:52)

Offline

#197 2024-01-16 03:54:30

fanzhuyifan
Member
Registered: 2020-11-21
Posts: 29

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

arojas wrote:

Which means Plasma needs to work fine with Qt 6.7 by then, and for that it needs to be tested and issues reported and fixed.

We really appreciate that. Currently on kde bugzilla almost all Qt 6.7 issues are reported by arch (or arch derivative) users, which has led to many fixes, both in upstream Qt, and in KDE software.

sergekorol wrote:

Plasma 6.0 will depend on Qt 6.6 and Frameworks 6.0 (and Gear 24.02 for libkexiv2)

From the notes we should be building against QT6 6.6 not QT6 6.7.

Since Arch Linux only ships the latest stable version, KDE would need to co-exist with Qt 6.7 on Arch Linux when Qt 6.7 is released.

Last edited by fanzhuyifan (2024-01-16 04:06:29)

Offline

#198 2024-01-16 07:45:34

BS86
Member
Registered: 2022-11-03
Posts: 29

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

nerolucas wrote:

So the final release of Plasma 6 in Arch will be based on QT 6.7 even though it will still be in beta? Asking because if not, then it feels weird that testing targets 6.7 when the final release will be compiled against QT 6.6
But if that's the case, makes sense.

sergekorol wrote:

Qt 6.7 release plan
From the notes we should be building against QT6 6.6 not QT6 6.7.

fanzhuyifan wrote:

Since Arch Linux only ships the latest stable version, KDE would need to co-exist with Qt 6.7 on Arch Linux when Qt 6.7 is released.

You are all forgetting the simplest solution to that problem: Plasma 6 / KF6 will remain in unstable and testing until at least March 19 when Qt 6.7 is released and maybe even further until all 3 (Plasma/KF/Qt) are ready to be moved to stable wink

Offline

#199 2024-01-16 08:57:59

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 2,130

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

BS86 wrote:

You are all forgetting the simplest solution to that problem: Plasma 6 / KF6 will remain in unstable and testing until at least March 19 when Qt 6.7 is released and maybe even further until all 3 (Plasma/KF/Qt) are ready to be moved to stable wink

There is no problem to solve. Stuff will be shipped in the stable repos when it is released as stable by upstream, as always.

Online

#200 2024-01-16 11:12:00

nerolucas
Member
Registered: 2016-11-22
Posts: 7

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

arojas wrote:
BS86 wrote:

You are all forgetting the simplest solution to that problem: Plasma 6 / KF6 will remain in unstable and testing until at least March 19 when Qt 6.7 is released and maybe even further until all 3 (Plasma/KF/Qt) are ready to be moved to stable wink

There is no problem to solve. Stuff will be shipped in the stable repos when it is released as stable by upstream, as always.

Got it, thanks for the explanation!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB