You are not logged in.

#1 2006-09-08 07:35:44

clarence
Member
From: fremantle.au
Registered: 2005-10-12
Posts: 294

perl error

Hello, I'm running trying to run a perl script that uses XMLTV and XML::DOM and XML::DOM::NodeList. I'm pretty sure i have all the required perl packages installed.....

Everytime I try to run this script it spits out this error

Can't locate XML/DOM.pm in @INC (@INC contains: /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.8/i686-linux-thread-multi

It appears to be looking for a directory that doesn't exist or is in the wrong location perhaps?


fck art, lets dance.

Offline

#2 2006-09-08 07:55:27

chrismortimore
Member
From: Edinburgh, UK
Registered: 2006-07-15
Posts: 655

Re: perl error

Try installing perlxml.


Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 2x160GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10, 2x320GB WD Caviar RE, Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M, 512MB PC2700, 60GB IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB

Offline

#3 2006-09-08 14:54:15

clarence
Member
From: fremantle.au
Registered: 2005-10-12
Posts: 294

Re: perl error

I already had perl-xml-simple and perlxml from Current installed yeah. But I still get that error...


fck art, lets dance.

Offline

#4 2006-09-08 15:43:14

chrismortimore
Member
From: Edinburgh, UK
Registered: 2006-07-15
Posts: 655

Re: perl error

Run "pacman -Ql perlxml" and make sure the libraries are installed in the right place, and in the search path.  Likewise for perl-xml-simple.


Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 2x160GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10, 2x320GB WD Caviar RE, Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M, 512MB PC2700, 60GB IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB

Offline

#5 2006-09-08 15:54:10

clarence
Member
From: fremantle.au
Registered: 2005-10-12
Posts: 294

Re: perl error

ah, it appears that the libraries aren't looking in the correct directory. Would you know how I can change the search path for perl?

pacman -Ql perlxml=
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/current/i686-linux-thread-multi/

it isn't looking for any path that has "current" as a directory.

thanks chrismortimore


fck art, lets dance.

Offline

#6 2006-09-08 16:02:36

chrismortimore
Member
From: Edinburgh, UK
Registered: 2006-07-15
Posts: 655

Re: perl error

You should be able to just push it onto @INC, like so:

push(@INC,"/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/current/i686-linux-thread-multi/");

Probably not the best way to do it though.  As a matter of curiousity, can you post the output of these commands:

ls -l /usr/lib/perl5/
ls -l /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/   
perl -e 'foreach my $line (@INC) { print("$linen"); }'

I just want to see how your machine is set up just now.


Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 2x160GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10, 2x320GB WD Caviar RE, Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M, 512MB PC2700, 60GB IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB

Offline

#7 2006-09-08 18:05:30

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: perl error

Arch installs perl in /usr/lib/perl5/current and /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/current, with symlinks to /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.x and /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.x respectively. This is, of course, to make version upgrades easier. So if your script goes looking in /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.8/*, it's actually looking in /usr/lib/perl5/current/*.

XML/DOM.pm is in the perl-template-toolkit package - do you have that installed? It's in the AUR here.

Offline

#8 2006-09-09 07:41:48

clarence
Member
From: fremantle.au
Registered: 2005-10-12
Posts: 294

Re: perl error

checked the directories and the do indeed symlink to current as tomk pointed out.

installed perl-template-toolkit from current, rebooted and no joy. Still getting the exact same error.

hmm


fck art, lets dance.

Offline

#9 2006-09-09 08:11:48

chrismortimore
Member
From: Edinburgh, UK
Registered: 2006-07-15
Posts: 655

Re: perl error

Again, please post the output of

perl -e 'foreach my $line (@INC) { print("$linen"); }'

The reason I ask for this is because I want to see what perl has as it's search paths just now.  That way, we'll know if perl has been configured correctly or not.


Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 2x160GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10, 2x320GB WD Caviar RE, Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M, 512MB PC2700, 60GB IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB

Offline

#10 2006-09-09 08:48:48

clarence
Member
From: fremantle.au
Registered: 2005-10-12
Posts: 294

Re: perl error

chrismortimore wrote:

Again, please post the output of

perl -e 'foreach my $line (@INC) { print("$linen"); }'

The reason I ask for this is because I want to see what perl has as it's search paths just now.  That way, we'll know if perl has been configured correctly or not.

/usr/lib/perl5/5.8.8/i686-linux-thread-multi
/usr/lib/perl5/5.8.8
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.8/i686-linux-thread-multi
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.8
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.7/i686-linux-thread-multi
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.7
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.6/i686-linux-thread-multi
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.6
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.5/i686-linux-thread-multi
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.5
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.4/i686-linux-thread-multi
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.4
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.3/i686-linux-thread-multi
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.3
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.2/i686-linux-thread-multi
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.2
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.1/i686-linux-thread-multi
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.1
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.0/i686-linux-thread-multi
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.0
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl

fck art, lets dance.

Offline

#11 2006-09-09 09:31:01

chrismortimore
Member
From: Edinburgh, UK
Registered: 2006-07-15
Posts: 655

Re: perl error

Right, so now we know that perl is certainly looking in the right place..  Run this and post the output:

find /usr/lib/perl5/ -iname *dom*

Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 2x160GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10, 2x320GB WD Caviar RE, Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M, 512MB PC2700, 60GB IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB

Offline

#12 2006-09-09 11:41:50

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: perl error

clarence wrote:

installed perl-template-toolkit from current

It's not in current - it's in the AUR. Are you sure you installed the right package?

Offline

#13 2006-09-09 11:57:46

clarence
Member
From: fremantle.au
Registered: 2005-10-12
Posts: 294

Re: perl error

tomk wrote:
clarence wrote:

installed perl-template-toolkit from current

It's not in current - it's in the AUR. Are you sure you installed the right package?

It's most definately installed, yeah.

find /usr/lib/perl5/ -iname *dom*

/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/current/i686-linux-thread-multi/auto/Net/SSLeay/randomize.al
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/current/i686-linux-thread-multi/XML/LibXML/DOM.pod
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/current/Locale/TextDomain.pm
/usr/lib/perl5/current/Net/Domain.pm

I have no idea what's happening here. I need to get off my lazy cheeks and learn more about perl I thinks.


fck art, lets dance.

Offline

#14 2006-09-09 12:11:19

chrismortimore
Member
From: Edinburgh, UK
Registered: 2006-07-15
Posts: 655

Re: perl error

There's your problem.  You don't actually have XML/DOM.pm installed.


Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 2x160GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10, 2x320GB WD Caviar RE, Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M, 512MB PC2700, 60GB IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB

Offline

#15 2006-09-09 12:41:00

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: perl error

OK - this is my fault - sorry.

perl-template-toolkit provides Template::Plugin::XML::DOM, not XML::DOM. At present, there is no Arch package for XML::DOM, so installing it via CPAN would be the quickest fix, albeit not the most Arch-friendly.

If you want to do it the Arch way, take a recent Perl PKGBUILD, and change it as required. If you need any help with that, let me know.

Offline

#16 2006-09-09 15:52:40

clarence
Member
From: fremantle.au
Registered: 2005-10-12
Posts: 294

Re: perl error

ok cheers. I'll try making a PKGBUILD for http://www.cpan.org/authors/id/T/TJ/TJM … .44.tar.gz

Thanks for your help smile


fck art, lets dance.

Offline

#17 2006-09-09 16:11:43

clarence
Member
From: fremantle.au
Registered: 2005-10-12
Posts: 294

Re: perl error

Nice. Just created a PKGBUILD for XML-DOM and it all seems to be working so far.

I'll just triple check the PKGBUILD and upload it to aur later. Thanks very much tomk and chrismortimore smile


fck art, lets dance.

Offline

#18 2006-09-09 16:23:21

chrismortimore
Member
From: Edinburgh, UK
Registered: 2006-07-15
Posts: 655

Re: perl error

My pleasure, enjoy all of your XML endevours smile


Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 2x160GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10, 2x320GB WD Caviar RE, Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M, 512MB PC2700, 60GB IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB

Offline

#19 2006-09-09 18:43:52

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: perl error

Glad it worked out for you, clarence, and sorry for steering you wrong earlier.

Offline

#20 2006-09-11 02:52:34

Tatey
Member
From: Brisbane, Australia
Registered: 2006-04-02
Posts: 66
Website

Re: perl error

I'm also seeking this package, please share your PKGBUILD smile


Check out my website, http://tatey.com

Offline

#21 2006-09-11 14:09:13

clarence
Member
From: fremantle.au
Registered: 2005-10-12
Posts: 294

Re: perl error

Tatey: aur'd smile


fck art, lets dance.

Offline

#22 2006-12-12 13:14:22

tunkaflux
Member
Registered: 2005-12-31
Posts: 13

Re: perl error

Where can I find this?

Offline

#23 2006-12-12 16:44:12

hugin
Member
Registered: 2006-05-19
Posts: 93

Re: perl error

You could submit it to the [perlcpan] repository.  read more about it here: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/PerlCPAN_Repository

Actually upon going there myself, to make sure I don't mis-speak; it's actually already in the [perlcpan] repository.  Personally I like this method better, as I don't like dealing with CPAN. 


/swogs


Open Toes; Open Mind; Open Source.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB