You are not logged in.

#1 2024-01-27 07:16:52

duyinthee
Member
Registered: 2015-06-14
Posts: 222
Website

[SOLVED] different version number of AUR Package

I have a script to just update and install AUR packages. It is simple and just working for me.
I check the version number from the output of $ pacman -Qm against the version number from the output of

https://aur.archlinux.org/rpc/v5/info?arg[]=package

.
But sometime, some package show different version numbers against each other while they are at the same version.
for example, @ 2024-01-27, AUR package eww-wayland is showing the different versions. So, every time I run my script to update AUR packages, eww-wayland is getting updating but some version.
while

 ~]$ pacman -Qm | grep eww-wayland
eww-wayland 0.4.0-1

The version from AURweb RPC Interface

https://aur.archlinux.org/rpc/v5/info?arg[]=eww-wayland

shows

Version: 0.4.0-5

What is the best way to check AUR package version in my script?
Thanks in advance.

Last edited by duyinthee (2024-01-28 05:46:28)

Offline

#2 2024-01-27 08:27:57

d_fajardo
Member
Registered: 2017-07-28
Posts: 1,571

Re: [SOLVED] different version number of AUR Package

What is the best way to check AUR package version in my script

Why don't you share the script so we can have a look? Why not just use an established AUR helper?  Bear in mind that AUR helpers or scripts are a little frowned upon here.
The best way to check the version is of course reading the PKGBUILD's and the recommended way of installing is via makepkg.

Offline

#3 2024-01-27 10:03:09

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 51,842

Re: [SOLVED] different version number of AUR Package

pacman -Qi eww-wayland

Either the package gets ignored by your script or fails to build or doesn't rebuild but installs a present dated version of the package.

Offline

#4 2024-01-28 02:30:24

duyinthee
Member
Registered: 2015-06-14
Posts: 222
Website

Re: [SOLVED] different version number of AUR Package

Let me paste a snippet of my script here.

# update aur packages
updateaur_func () {
    for INSTNAME in $(pacman -Qmq); do
        local INSTVER=$(pacman -Q $INSTNAME | cut -d ' ' -f 2)
        local CURRVER=$(curl -s "https://aur.archlinux.org/rpc/?v=5&type=info&arg[]=$INSTNAME" | \
            jq -r '.results[] | .Version')
        if [ -z "$CURRVER" ]; then
            echo "Oop! "$INSTNAME", AUR Package does not exist. continue @ updateaur_func"
            continue
        fi
        if [ "$INSTVER" = "$CURRVER" ]; then
            echo " $INSTNAME ---------> up to date."
            continue
        fi
        aurdownload_func $INSTNAME
        installaur_func
    done
}

Then in aurdownload_func I check if the package exists and download snapshot using wget.

AURPKG=$(curl -s "https://aur.archlinux.org/rpc/?v=5&type=info&arg[]="$1"" | jq -r '.results[] | .Name')
    if [ -z "$AURPKG" ]; then
        echo "Oop! AUR Package does not exist."
        return 3
    fi
    ...

    wget https://aur.archlinux.org/cgit/aur.git/snapshot/"$AURPKG".tar.gz
    tar -xzf "$PWD"/"$AURPKG".tar.gz
    ...

In case of eww-wayland package name, my script gets the snapshot this

wget https://aur.archlinux.org/cgit/aur.git/snapshot/eww-wayland.tar.gz

But, at this link https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/eww-wayland, if I download snapshot from the link inside the right side box called Package Actions, I get the following,

https://aur.archlinux.org/cgit/aur.git/snapshot/eww.tar.gz

So, the snapshots are different, eww-wayland.tar.gz and eww.tar.gz.

PKGBUILD in the eww-wayland.tar.gz shows

...
pkgver=0.4.0
pkgrel=1
...

But PKGBUILD in the eww.tar.gz shows

...
pkgver=0.4.0
pkgrel=5
...

Therefore, every time I run my script, eww-wayland is getting update because of pkgrel=1 in PKGBUILD.

Last edited by duyinthee (2024-01-28 02:33:18)

Offline

#5 2024-01-28 02:39:41

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 11,614

Re: [SOLVED] different version number of AUR Package

It's a split package, the pkgbase is eww. When you're grabbing eww-wayland.tar.gz, you're grabbing an old, deleted pkgbase

Offline

#6 2024-01-28 03:38:26

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,576
Website

Re: [SOLVED] different version number of AUR Package

The solution:

- AURPKG=$(curl -s "https://aur.archlinux.org/rpc/?v=5&type=info&arg[]="$1"" | jq -r '.results[] | .Name')
+ AURPKG=$(curl -s "https://aur.archlinux.org/rpc/?v=5&type=info&arg[]="$1"" | jq -r '.results[] | .PackageBase')

Also, while not related to the current error, I'd strongly suggest replacing this:

if [ "$INSTVER" = "$CURRVER" ]; then

and use `vercmp` instead.

EDIT: I suppose if you're checking strictly for equality it should not matter.  But still switching to vercmp now could prevent a future headache if you ever change that part of the script to handle any other comparisons.

Last edited by Trilby (2024-01-28 03:43:51)


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#7 2024-01-28 05:46:03

duyinthee
Member
Registered: 2015-06-14
Posts: 222
Website

Re: [SOLVED] different version number of AUR Package

and use `vercmp` instead.

EDIT: I suppose if you're checking strictly for equality it should not matter.  But still switching to vercmp now could prevent a future headache if you ever change that part of the script to handle any other comparisons.

Thanks for helpful suggestion.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB