You are not logged in.

#1 2024-03-13 12:55:26

merilius
Member
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 48

[SOLVED] Plasma desktop not starting after upgrade

I used to have a working installation of KDE Plasma 6. And it worked on my Intel gpu both in Wayland and X11.
Now when I start a session from SDDM, I see a black screen and then I am back to SDDM.
No errors in Xorg logs. When trying to launch Plasma X11 session I am getting some core dumps from: xembedsniproxy, plasmashell, org_kde_powerdevil, xdg-desktop-portal-kde.

systemd-coredump[9136]: [?] Process 9016 (plasmashell) of user 1000 dumped core.
                                               
                                               Stack trace of thread 9016:
                                               #0  0x00007541810ab32c n/a (libc.so.6 + 0x8d32c)
                                               #1  0x000075418105a6c8 raise (libc.so.6 + 0x3c6c8)
                                               #2  0x00007541810424b8 abort (libc.so.6 + 0x244b8)
                                               #3  0x000075418168a924 n/a (libQt6Core.so.6 + 0x8a924)
                                               #4  0x000075418168b135 _ZNK14QMessageLogger5fatalEPKcz (libQt6Core.so.6 + 0x8b135)
                                               #5  0x0000754181cd9be9 n/a (libQt6Gui.so.6 + 0xd9be9)
                                               #6  0x0000754181d74a18 _ZN22QGuiApplicationPrivate21createEventDispatcherEv (libQt6Gui.so.6 + 0x174a18)
                                               #7  0x000075418173db15 _ZN23QCoreApplicationPrivate4initEv (libQt6Core.so.6 + 0x13db15)
                                               #8  0x0000754181d74ac1 _ZN22QGuiApplicationPrivate4initEv (libQt6Gui.so.6 + 0x174ac1)
                                               #9  0x00007541834f53ee _ZN19QApplicationPrivate4initEv (libQt6Widgets.so.6 + 0xf53ee)
                                               #10 0x00006447029216b6 n/a (plasmashell + 0x246b6)
                                               #11 0x0000754181043cd0 n/a (libc.so.6 + 0x25cd0)
                                               #12 0x0000754181043d8a __libc_start_main (libc.so.6 + 0x25d8a)
                                               #13 0x0000644702924c75 n/a (plasmashell + 0x27c75)
                                               
                                               Stack trace of thread 9037:
                                               #0  0x00007541811190bf __poll (libc.so.6 + 0xfb0bf)
                                               #1  0x00007541803012f6 n/a (libglib-2.0.so.0 + 0xb82f6)
                                               #2  0x00007541802a1162 g_main_context_iteration (libglib-2.0.so.0 + 0x58162)
                                               #3  0x00007541819739c4 _ZN20QEventDispatcherGlib13processEventsE6QFlagsIN10QEventLoop17ProcessEventsFlagEE (libQt6Core.so.6 + 0x3739c4)
                                               #4  0x0000754181743d6e _ZN10QEventLoop4execE6QFlagsINS_17ProcessEventsFlagEE (libQt6Core.so.6 + 0x143d6e)
                                               #5  0x000075418182106f _ZN7QThread4execEv (libQt6Core.so.6 + 0x22106f)
                                               #6  0x00007541824b89df n/a (libQt6DBus.so.6 + 0x299df)
                                               #7  0x00007541818a0bd3 n/a (libQt6Core.so.6 + 0x2a0bd3)
                                               #8  0x00007541810a955a n/a (libc.so.6 + 0x8b55a)
                                               #9  0x0000754181126a3c n/a (libc.so.6 + 0x108a3c)
                                               ELF object binary architecture: AMD x86-64

Journal also shows

xdg-desktop-portal-kde[9166]: qt.qpa.plugin: Could not load the Qt platform plugin "xcb" in "" even though it was found.
xdg-desktop-portal-kde[9166]: This application failed to start because no Qt platform plugin could be initialized. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.                                                     
                                                     Available platform plugins are: eglfs, linuxfb, minimal, minimalegl, offscreen, vkkhrdisplay, vnc, xcb, wayland-egl, wayland.

Prior to this I did

pacman -S qt6

Gnome and Cinnamon work under X11 and Wayland without problems. So does MATE.

Last edited by merilius (2024-03-13 22:26:03)

Offline

#2 2024-03-13 13:13:14

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 21,619

Re: [SOLVED] Plasma desktop not starting after upgrade

Are you exporting QT_QPA_PLATFORM (unnecessariily) globally somewhere? Output of

printenv | grep QT

Other notes based on your post, prior to your -S you most likely also did a -Sy or similar. This is a partial update, always run pacman -Syu. https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/System … nsupported

If you checked both of these, post your pacman.log covering the problematic update. -- If you used to run kde-unstable/testing repositories and do not want to do so anymore you probably also want to

pacman -Syuu

to get to a consistent state.

Last edited by V1del (2024-03-13 13:14:59)

Offline

#3 2024-03-13 14:16:32

merilius
Member
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 48

Re: [SOLVED] Plasma desktop not starting after upgrade

Thanks.
* No I am not exporting QT_QPA_PLATFORM
* Yes, I did run the full

 pacman -Syu 

before
* Yes I used to have kde-unstable and all *-testing repos enabled. I ran

 pacman -Syuu 

now. It only downgraded/synced `qt6-multimedia-ffmpeg` and `xapian-core`

Last edited by merilius (2024-03-13 14:19:33)

Offline

#4 2024-03-13 14:30:41

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 21,619

Re: [SOLVED] Plasma desktop not starting after upgrade

You need to mention and ideally post directly to the testing subboard, when running testing.

A whole bunch of rebuilds are happening right now for new Qt versions/the new Plasma getting released. I'd suggest you try again in a few hours/potentially drop KDE-Unstable while keeping the rest of testing so you're not dependant on Qt Beta ABI breaks

Moving to testing....

Offline

#5 2024-03-13 14:42:26

merilius
Member
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 48

Re: [SOLVED] Plasma desktop not starting after upgrade

Waiting then

Offline

#6 2024-03-13 21:13:53

merilius
Member
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 48

Re: [SOLVED] Plasma desktop not starting after upgrade

I installed the rebuild (version 6.0.2-3 from 6.0.1-1)
The problem persists, powerdevil is crashing

Last edited by merilius (2024-03-13 21:25:33)

Offline

#7 2024-03-13 21:24:58

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 50,924

Re: [SOLVED] Plasma desktop not starting after upgrade

Please post your complete system journal for the boot:

sudo journalctl -b | curl -F 'file=@-' 0x0.st

Please post your Xorg log, https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Xorg#General

Offline

#8 2024-03-13 21:35:02

merilius
Member
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 48

Re: [SOLVED] Plasma desktop not starting after upgrade

Offline

#9 2024-03-13 21:40:32

merilius
Member
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 48

Re: [SOLVED] Plasma desktop not starting after upgrade

Looling at the journal I realised I had `mesa-amber` installed for the support of my gpu (for `i965_dri.so`).
Now I installed `mesa` over `mesa-amber` and plasma works. Now I am using `iris_dri.so` from `mesa`.
Not sure if to mark it [SOLVED] or whether it is a problem with mesa-amber

Last edited by merilius (2024-03-13 21:45:58)

Offline

#10 2024-03-13 21:46:37

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 21,619

Re: [SOLVED] Plasma desktop not starting after upgrade

You have a Kabylake CPU you should've never needed mesa-amber and that driver was never right for your GPU. The only reason you might've thought you needed that was for xf86-video-intel, which is similarly dated and you should be removing as well.

Offline

#11 2024-03-13 22:14:37

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 50,924

Re: [SOLVED] Plasma desktop not starting after upgrade

Please always remember to mark resolved threads by editing your initial posts subject - so others will know that there's no task left, but maybe a solution to find.
Thanks.

Offline

#12 2024-03-13 22:25:03

merilius
Member
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 48

Re: [SOLVED] Plasma desktop not starting after upgrade

V1del wrote:

You have a Kabylake CPU you should've never needed mesa-amber and that driver was never right for your GPU. The only reason you might've thought you needed that was for xf86-video-intel, which is similarly dated and you should be removing as well.

I installed `mesa-amber` only very recently today during debuging why plasma is not starting. There was somewhere in X.org.log a warning that i965_dri.so is missing. So I installed `mesa-amber` which provides it. So initially this was independent: plasma was crashing from some other reason, which after the update is solved.

Thanks,
I removed xf86-video-intel too

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB