You are not logged in.

#1 2004-04-07 11:05:16

tmadhavan
Member
From: Wales :D
Registered: 2004-03-26
Posts: 441

Why can't I run UT2004/Quake3 etc from my home directory?

Hi all.

Just a simple question (I think). I've installed quake3 and UT2004 demo (full version should be here tomorrow big_smile), and they both run fine, but it involves changing to the usr/local/games/$game directory and running the launch script from there.

I tried writing a little script (first go) to change to the UT2004 directory and run ut2004-bin, but I just get an error:

/usr/local/games/ut2004demo/System/ut2004-bin: /usr/local/games/ut2004demo/System/ut2004-bin: cannot execute binary file

My question is a) why can't I just run 'quake3' or 'ut2004' from my home directory (something to do with paths?) and b) why can't I do sh /usr/local/games/ut2004demo/System/ut2004-bin instead of cd'ing to System, *then* running ut2004-bin? Grrr.

Thanks a lot all, see you on the ut2004 servers soon big_smile

Thom

Offline

#2 2004-04-07 11:16:44

robot5x
Member
Registered: 2004-01-26
Posts: 266

Re: Why can't I run UT2004/Quake3 etc from my home directory?

When I installed ut2004 demo it defaulted to /usr/local/ut2004demo which was in my path Therefore, I could just run 'ut2004' from my /home/robot5x directory.
So you need to make sure that the directory you installed the games to is in your path

Offline

#3 2004-04-07 12:54:06

tmadhavan
Member
From: Wales :D
Registered: 2004-03-26
Posts: 441

Re: Why can't I run UT2004/Quake3 etc from my home directory?

Is that the path variable you set with

[tm@home]$ path=/usr/local/games/ut2004

or something like that?

Thanks

t.

Offline

#4 2004-04-07 13:05:11

punkrockguy318
Member
From: New Jersey
Registered: 2004-02-15
Posts: 706
Website

Re: Why can't I run UT2004/Quake3 etc from my home directory?

Edit your ~/.bashrc and add :/usr/local/games


If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.   1 Corinthians 13:2

Offline

#5 2004-04-07 17:38:08

tmadhavan
Member
From: Wales :D
Registered: 2004-03-26
Posts: 441

Re: Why can't I run UT2004/Quake3 etc from my home directory?

Hmm that didn't seem to work.

My .bashrc file looks like this:

alias ls='ls --color=auto'
PS1='[u@h W]$ '
path=/usr/local/games:

but it doesn't find ut2004 or quake3. If I write it as you said, and add just :/usr/local/games (without the path= ) I get an error, directory not found. If I add /usr/local/games: I get an error saying that /usr/local/games is a directory??

Any ideas??

Offline

#6 2004-04-07 17:47:41

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: Why can't I run UT2004/Quake3 etc from my home directory?

try PATH instead of path


Mr Green

Offline

#7 2004-04-07 23:15:51

Bjørn
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-03-18
Posts: 139
Website

Re: Why can't I run UT2004/Quake3 etc from my home directory?

Yeah, it's PATH, not path, and you'd want to keep the rest of your path too, instead of replace it with only that directory:

export PATH=$PATH:/usr/local/games

Of course, there'd need to be the executable in that directory...


http://themanaworld.org/
A Free Real-time Massively Multiplayer Online RPG in development.

Offline

#8 2004-04-08 10:38:51

tmadhavan
Member
From: Wales :D
Registered: 2004-03-26
Posts: 441

Re: Why can't I run UT2004/Quake3 etc from my home directory?

K, thanks I'll try that.

One this though - there wasn't a path section in my original .bashrc, I had to add that bit myself. What directories should be in my path? I'm running normal AL 0.6, nothin special. I guess it should be /usr/bin, /urs/local/bin etc?

Thanks.

Thom

Offline

#9 2004-04-08 14:22:43

Bjørn
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-03-18
Posts: 139
Website

Re: Why can't I run UT2004/Quake3 etc from my home directory?

Before your ~/.bashrc runs, a lot of other scripts have already been run and in several places directories are added to the PATH variable. The /usr/bin will already be in your path once ~/.bashrc is reached. You just need to add any custom paths you want to run stuff from, hence you put $PATH inside the string you set PATH to, that'll be replaced by whatever PATH was already set to.

Also, Arch tries not to use /usr/local. Keeps it simple. smile


http://themanaworld.org/
A Free Real-time Massively Multiplayer Online RPG in development.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB