You are not logged in.

#1 2024-04-04 15:53:52

Alarming_Thing
Member
Registered: 2021-06-01
Posts: 30

[SOLVED] - Getting Sound going (ALSA)

Installed KDE Plasma 6 + kde-multimedia-meta. Volume applet appeared in systray, but audio didn't work - icon was crossed out. I wanted to use alsa (kde appeared to be using pulseaudio), so removed pulseaudio along with kde-multimedia-meta package and installed alsa-utils (+ reboots)

However, unmuting channels using 'amixer sset Master unmute' doesn't seem to work. I get error "amixer: Unable to find simple control 'Master',0". Same thing for speaker and headphone.

I followed ArchWiki's 'sound architecture troubleshooting'. Did 'speaker-test', which produces

 speaker-test 1.2.11
Playback device is default
Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 1 channels
Using 16 octaves of pink noise
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1000:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
Playback open error: -2,No such file or directory

'$ sudo alsa-info.sh' output is at 'http://0x0.st/XirF.txt'

I did some websearch, but most recommend modifying sound config files which I have not done (don't understand them).

Can someonne help get sound to work?
Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Alarming_Thing (2024-04-06 13:05:51)

Offline

#2 2024-04-04 16:38:04

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 7,771
Website

Re: [SOLVED] - Getting Sound going (ALSA)

Alarming_Thing wrote:

I wanted to use alsa (kde appeared to be using pulseaudio), so removed pulseaudio along with kde-multimedia-meta package and installed alsa-utils

You now have PipeWire installed instead of PulseAudio. I don't use KDE so I don't know if you can run it without a sound server.

To get PipeWire working for you follow https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/PipeWire#Usage.

If you manage to get KDE running without a sound server see https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Advanc … sound_card — I think the files shown in 3.2.1 should work for your hardware. Alternatively apply the index=1 parameter to the snd_hda_intel kernel module.

Offline

#3 2024-04-04 16:46:28

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 21,885

Re: [SOLVED] - Getting Sound going (ALSA)

If you don't understand the configuration files when googling I'd strongly reccommend you stick to pipewire or pulseaudio. There are a lot of gotchas that require an understanding of the ALSA subsystem you can simply avoid via pulseaudio/pipewire(-pulse) and they generally give you are more consistent experience because their handling of audio card access is much clearer defined than plain ALSA

Last edited by V1del (2024-04-04 16:46:51)

Offline

#4 2024-04-06 13:05:22

Alarming_Thing
Member
Registered: 2021-06-01
Posts: 30

Re: [SOLVED] - Getting Sound going (ALSA)

Thanks _/\_. Sound works. Appreciate your help.

Offline

#5 2024-04-06 14:54:35

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 7,771
Website

Re: [SOLVED] - Getting Sound going (ALSA)

Alarming_Thing wrote:

Sound works

Please share your solution: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Genera … way_street

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB