You are not logged in.

#1 2024-04-08 13:46:50

Silver Saucepan
Member
Registered: 2023-08-01
Posts: 4

powerprofilesctl says "Not Authorized"

Hello
I'm getting this when I try to set a different power profile on my laptop:

$ powerprofilesctl set power-saver
Failed to communicate with power-profiles-daemon: g-dbus-error-quark: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.AccessDenied: Not Authorized: org.freedesktop.UPower.PowerProfiles.switch-profile (9)

Doing it via sudo works

Does my user account need to be a member of a particular group (I've tried power)?

Offline

#2 2024-04-08 14:15:15

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,611
Website

Re: powerprofilesctl says "Not Authorized"

You need to start / enable the daemon process first: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/CPU_fr … les-daemon


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#3 2024-04-08 15:29:01

Silver Saucepan
Member
Registered: 2023-08-01
Posts: 4

Re: powerprofilesctl says "Not Authorized"

Thanks for the suggestion but that doesn't seem to be it:

$ systemctl status power-profiles-daemon.service 
● power-profiles-daemon.service - Power Profiles daemon
     Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/power-profiles-daemon.service; enabled; preset: disabled)
     Active: active (running) since Mon 2024-04-08 09:54:41 BST; 6h ago
   Main PID: 1034 (power-profiles-)
      Tasks: 4 (limit: 9404)
     Memory: 1.4M (peak: 2.0M swap: 488.0K swap peak: 512.0K zswap: 98.1K)
        CPU: 90ms
     CGroup: /system.slice/power-profiles-daemon.service
             └─1034 /usr/lib/power-profiles-daemon

Offline

#4 2024-04-08 15:40:08

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 21,885

Re: powerprofilesctl says "Not Authorized"

Is your dbus/loginctl session broken? How are you starting your session and which session are you starting?

loginctl session-status

Offline

#5 2024-04-08 18:55:27

Silver Saucepan
Member
Registered: 2023-08-01
Posts: 4

Re: powerprofilesctl says "Not Authorized"

Ah! That's it.  I get the error if I'm logged into the machine via ssh, but not when I'm using the machine directly.  Thanks for your help!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB