You are not logged in.

#1 2024-04-11 16:40:28

Gabachin
Member
Registered: 2022-05-06
Posts: 93

What did I do wrong?

Noob question that has been bugging me. I have installed vanilla Arch several times and have gotten to the point that I do not need the wiki to do it. On my last setup I had a boot, root and home partition. No swap partition. I wanted to do a fresh install keeping my home partition, but instead of repeating the steps in the wiki, I was going to cheat a bit and use the installer. So I formatted root and boot, left home alone, mounted root to /mnt, boot to mnt/boot/efi and home to /mnt/home. Then I launched the installer, and used the "previously mounted" option in the disk configuration section. When prompted for the mount point of the root partition, I put /mnt. I selected grub as the bootloader. The install failed with the dreaded failed to get canonical path of `/boot/efi' error. What did I do wrong?

Last edited by Gabachin (2024-04-11 16:54:22)

Offline

#2 2024-04-11 16:45:26

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 22,332

Re: What did I do wrong?

You need to mount things logically towards the intended system. So your intended /boot/efi should've been mounted to /mnt/boot/efi.

When prompted for the mount point of the root partition, the installer will chroot into /mnt at which points all mounts under that go to their "logical root", so from your original list you have /mnt -> / /mnt/home -> /home ... /boot/efi --> ??? (it's not mounted to a path that would be valid inside a chroot)

Moving to the guided installer subsection.

Last edited by V1del (2024-04-11 16:46:18)

Offline

#3 2024-04-11 16:54:01

Gabachin
Member
Registered: 2022-05-06
Posts: 93

Re: What did I do wrong?

Yes, I did that. It is a typo in my original post. I will correct. Thanks.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB