You are not logged in.

#1 2024-05-20 17:12:34

Librehosseini
Member
From: iran
Registered: 2024-03-29
Posts: 62

Dummy Output in Gnome, i tried my best but it didn't work ...

I have an important problem. I don't have sound in Arch Linux and I don't know what the problem is. I tried my best and read all the forums, but it didn't help

Below you can see some output from some commands :

$ pacman -Qq | grep pulseaudio
<no any output>
$ pacman -Qq| grep pipe
libpipewire
pipewire
pipewire-alsa
pipewire-audio
pipewire-jack
pipewire-pulse
pipewire-session-manager

what is the problem?

$ systemctl --user start pipewire
< no output >
This had no effect either


what i did :

$ systemctl --user start pipewire-pulse.service
<no output >

Last edited by Librehosseini (2024-05-21 14:47:38)

Offline

#2 2024-05-21 09:57:13

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 22,367

Re: Dummy Output in Gnome, i tried my best but it didn't work ...

sudo fuser -v /dev/snd/*
aplay -lL
sudo dmesg | grep -E 'snd|sof'
systemctl --user status pipewire{-pulse} wireplumber

Offline

#3 2024-05-21 14:22:38

Librehosseini
Member
From: iran
Registered: 2024-03-29
Posts: 62

Re: Dummy Output in Gnome, i tried my best but it didn't work ...

$ sudo fuser -v /dev/snd/*
                     USER        PID ACCESS COMMAND
/dev/snd/controlC0:  mahdi      1617 F.... pulseaudio
/dev/snd/seq:        mahdi      1615 F.... pipewire

Offline

#4 2024-05-21 14:23:21

Librehosseini
Member
From: iran
Registered: 2024-03-29
Posts: 62

Re: Dummy Output in Gnome, i tried my best but it didn't work ...

$ aplay -lL
bash: aplay: command not found

Offline

#5 2024-05-21 14:24:02

Librehosseini
Member
From: iran
Registered: 2024-03-29
Posts: 62

Re: Dummy Output in Gnome, i tried my best but it didn't work ...

$ sudo dmesg | grep -E 'snd|sof'
[    0.054434] software IO TLB: area num 16.
[    0.819264] PCI-DMA: Using software bounce buffering for IO (SWIOTLB)
[    0.819265] software IO TLB: mapped [mem 0x0000000058b08000-0x000000005cb08000] (64MB)
[    0.872923] integrity: Loaded X.509 cert 'Microsoft Windows Production PCA 2011: a92902398e16c49778cd90f99e4f9ae17c55af53'
[    0.872932] integrity: Loaded X.509 cert 'Microsoft Corporation UEFI CA 2011: 13adbf4309bd82709c8cd54f316ed522988a1bd4'
[    5.413828] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1f.3: DSP detected with PCI class/subclass/prog-if info 0x040100
[    5.413868] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1f.3: Digital mics found on Skylake+ platform, using SOF driver
[    5.413947] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: enabling device (0000 -> 0002)
[    5.414129] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Disabling MSI
[    5.414137] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Handle vga_switcheroo audio client
[    5.434178] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: bound 0000:01:00.0 (ops nv50_audio_component_bind_ops [nouveau])
[    5.481889] snd_soc_avs 0000:00:1f.3: DSP detected with PCI class/subclass/prog-if info 0x040100
[    5.481911] snd_soc_avs 0000:00:1f.3: Digital mics found on Skylake+ platform, using SOF driver
[    5.555976] sof-audio-pci-intel-tgl 0000:00:1f.3: DSP detected with PCI class/subclass/prog-if info 0x040100
[    5.555996] sof-audio-pci-intel-tgl 0000:00:1f.3: Digital mics found on Skylake+ platform, using SOF driver
[    5.556006] sof-audio-pci-intel-tgl 0000:00:1f.3: enabling device (0000 -> 0002)
[    5.556136] sof-audio-pci-intel-tgl 0000:00:1f.3: DSP detected with PCI class/subclass/prog-if 0x040100
[    5.556171] sof-audio-pci-intel-tgl 0000:00:1f.3: bound 0000:00:02.0 (ops i915_audio_component_bind_ops [i915])
[    5.563028] sof-audio-pci-intel-tgl 0000:00:1f.3: use msi interrupt mode
[    5.614622] sof-audio-pci-intel-tgl 0000:00:1f.3: hda codecs found, mask 5
[    5.614626] sof-audio-pci-intel-tgl 0000:00:1f.3: using HDA machine driver skl_hda_dsp_generic now
[    5.614629] sof-audio-pci-intel-tgl 0000:00:1f.3: DMICs detected in NHLT tables: 2
[    5.614748] sof-audio-pci-intel-tgl 0000:00:1f.3: SOF firmware and/or topology file not found.
[    5.614749] sof-audio-pci-intel-tgl 0000:00:1f.3: Supported default profiles
[    5.614750] sof-audio-pci-intel-tgl 0000:00:1f.3: - ipc type 0 (Requested):
[    5.614751] sof-audio-pci-intel-tgl 0000:00:1f.3:  Firmware file: intel/sof/sof-rpl.ri
[    5.614751] sof-audio-pci-intel-tgl 0000:00:1f.3:  Topology file: intel/sof-tplg/sof-hda-generic-2ch.tplg
[    5.614752] sof-audio-pci-intel-tgl 0000:00:1f.3: Check if you have 'sof-firmware' package installed.
[    5.614753] sof-audio-pci-intel-tgl 0000:00:1f.3: Optionally it can be manually downloaded from:
[    5.614753] sof-audio-pci-intel-tgl 0000:00:1f.3:    https://github.com/thesofproject/sof-bin/
[    5.615056] sof-audio-pci-intel-tgl 0000:00:1f.3: error: sof_probe_work failed err: -2

Offline

#6 2024-05-21 14:24:49

Librehosseini
Member
From: iran
Registered: 2024-03-29
Posts: 62

Re: Dummy Output in Gnome, i tried my best but it didn't work ...

$ systemctl --user status pipewire{-pulse} wireplumber
Invalid unit name "pipewire{-pulse}" escaped as "pipewire\x7b-pulse\x7d" (maybe you should use systemd-escape?).
Unit pipewire\x7b-pulse\x7d.service could not be found.
● wireplumber.service - Multimedia Service Session Manager
     Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/user/wireplumber.service; enabled; preset: enabled)
     Active: active (running) since Tue 2024-05-21 17:48:56 +0330; 5min ago
   Main PID: 1616 (wireplumber)
      Tasks: 7 (limit: 38005)
     Memory: 4.8M (peak: 5.6M)
        CPU: 126ms
     CGroup: /user.slice/user-1000.slice/user@1000.service/session.slice/wireplumber.service
             └─1616 /usr/bin/wireplumber

May 21 17:48:56 parabyte systemd[1038]: Started Multimedia Service Session Manager.
May 21 17:48:56 parabyte wireplumber[1616]: BlueZ system service is not available
May 21 17:48:56 parabyte wireplumber[1616]: device number invalid for v4l2 device:nil
May 21 17:48:56 parabyte wireplumber[1616]: [0:00:16.898009962] [1616] ERROR IPAModule ipa_module.cpp:172 Symbol ipaModuleInfo not found
May 21 17:48:56 parabyte wireplumber[1616]: [0:00:16.898036284] [1616] ERROR IPAModule ipa_module.cpp:292 v4l2-compat.so: IPA module has no valid>
May 21 17:48:56 parabyte wireplumber[1616]: [0:00:16.898083468] [1616]  INFO Camera camera_manager.cpp:284 libcamera v0.2.0
May 21 17:48:56 parabyte wireplumber[1616]: device number invalid for libcamera device:libcamera_device.\_SB_.PC00.XHCI.RHUB.HS06-6:1.0-30c9:0069

Offline

#7 2024-05-21 14:46:05

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 54,271

Online

#8 2024-05-21 14:48:48

Librehosseini
Member
From: iran
Registered: 2024-03-29
Posts: 62

Re: Dummy Output in Gnome, i tried my best but it didn't work ...

ok, i install it

Offline

#9 2024-05-21 14:49:28

Librehosseini
Member
From: iran
Registered: 2024-03-29
Posts: 62

Re: Dummy Output in Gnome, i tried my best but it didn't work ...

but i still doesn't work

Offline

#10 2024-05-21 14:50:12

Librehosseini
Member
From: iran
Registered: 2024-03-29
Posts: 62

Re: Dummy Output in Gnome, i tried my best but it didn't work ...

$ systemctl --user status pipewire{-pulse} wireplumber
Invalid unit name "pipewire{-pulse}" escaped as "pipewire\x7b-pulse\x7d" (maybe you should use systemd-escape?).
Unit pipewire\x7b-pulse\x7d.service could not be found.
● wireplumber.service - Multimedia Service Session Manager
     Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/user/wireplumber.service; enabled; preset: enabled)
     Active: active (running) since Tue 2024-05-21 18:08:13 +0330; 11min ago
   Main PID: 11328 (wireplumber)
      Tasks: 7 (limit: 38005)
     Memory: 6.6M (peak: 10.0M)
        CPU: 2.470s
     CGroup: /user.slice/user-1000.slice/user@1000.service/session.slice/wireplumber.service
             └─11328 /usr/bin/wireplumber

May 21 18:08:13 parabyte wireplumber[11328]: device number invalid for v4l2 device:nil
May 21 18:08:13 parabyte wireplumber[11328]: [0:19:33.948857555] [11328] ERROR IPAModule ipa_module.cpp:172 Symbol ipaModuleInfo not found
May 21 18:08:13 parabyte wireplumber[11328]: [0:19:33.948878402] [11328] ERROR IPAModule ipa_module.cpp:292 v4l2-compat.so: IPA module has no val>
May 21 18:08:13 parabyte wireplumber[11328]: [0:19:33.948915099] [11328]  INFO Camera camera_manager.cpp:284 libcamera v0.2.0
May 21 18:08:13 parabyte wireplumber[11328]: device number invalid for libcamera device:libcamera_device.\_SB_.PC00.XHCI.RHUB.HS06-6:1.0-30c9:0069
May 21 18:08:25 parabyte wireplumber[11328]: device number invalid for v4l2 device:nil
May 21 18:09:36 parabyte wireplumber[11328]: device number invalid for v4l2 device:nil
May 21 18:11:59 parabyte wireplumber[11328]: device number invalid for v4l2 device:nil
May 21 18:11:59 parabyte wireplumber[11328]: <WpAsyncEventHook:0x5e568cab2400> failed: failed to activate item: Object activation aborted: proxy >
May 21 18:18:31 parabyte wireplumber[11328]: device number invalid for v4l2 device:nil

Offline

#11 2024-05-21 14:52:07

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 54,271

Re: Dummy Output in Gnome, i tried my best but it didn't work ...

Stop bumping oneliners, this isn't twitter so you are allowed to first use your brain and collect your thoughts before posting.

Did you reboot?
If not, do so.
If the sound still doesn't work and w/ the obvious problems out of the way, repost the outputs of the command in https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 6#p2172706
In one post.

Online

#12 2024-05-21 15:02:36

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 22,367

Re: Dummy Output in Gnome, i tried my best but it didn't work ...

You probably also want to replace pulseaudio with pipewire-pulse if wireplumber is installed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB