You are not logged in.

#1 2004-04-08 02:25:32

whol
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 155

Trying to use my Logitech QuickCam Pro 4000

Last night I got my Cannon A60 working bny using gphoto2 and a well placed chown command.

Tonight I'm trying to get my webcam to work, its a usb Logitech Pro 4000.  I see the "came" package, from linuxbrits website (ironically a website ive learning stuff from for the past year).

I see my quick cam shows up as /proc/bus/usb/003/004.  But I don't see it under /dev/s*.  Thats what happened to my A60, but it turned out the A60 uses a non-standard usb protocol (which gphoto fortuneatley natively speaks).

I did a search on this board for "quikcam" and surprisingly found 0 hits.  :-(

I tried following the recent "Usb mass storage thread", but the quikcam did not show up as a scsi drive.

I'm not sure what to do next. 

Any suggestions?

Offline

#2 2004-04-08 02:59:47

whol
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 155

Re: Trying to use my Logitech QuickCam Pro 4000

Ok, I did this command:

    xawtv -hwcan

which produced:

=====================================

[root@ant23 root]# xawtv -hwscan
This is xawtv-3.91, running on Linux/i686 (2.6.4)
looking for available devices
port 77-77
    type : Xvideo, image scaler
    name : NV10 Video Overlay

port 78-109
    type : Xvideo, image scaler
    name : NV05 Video Blitter

port 110-110                            [ -xvport 110 ]
    type : Xvideo, video overlay
    name : NVIDIA Video Interface Port

/dev/v4l/video0: OK                     [ -device /dev/v4l/video0 ]
    type : v4l
    name : Logitech QuickCam Pro 4000
    flags:  capture 

[root@ant23 root]#

=====================================

So then I did a:

[root@ant23 root]# xawtv -c /dev/v4l/video0
   
Which looked like it was going to work, but the window was blank.  I will play around with it some more.

thx

Offline

#3 2004-04-08 03:13:06

whol
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 155

Re: Trying to use my Logitech QuickCam Pro 4000

[root@ant23 root]# xawtv -c /dev/v4l/video0
This is xawtv-3.91, running on Linux/i686 (2.6.4)
/dev/v4l/video0 [v4l]: no overlay support
v4l-conf had some trouble, trying to continue anyway
Warning: Cannot convert string "-*-ledfixed-medium-r-*--39-*-*-*-c-*-*-*" to type FontStruct
ioctl: VIDIOCMCAPTURE(frame=0;height=120;width=160;format=7): Invalid argument
ioctl: VIDIOCMCAPTURE(frame=0;height=288;width=352;format=15): No such file or directory
ioctl: VIDIOCMCAPTURE(frame=0;height=288;width=352;format=15): No such file or directory

Offline

#4 2004-04-08 03:15:19

whol
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 155

Re: Trying to use my Logitech QuickCam Pro 4000

[root@ant23 root]# v4l-conf
v4l-conf: using X11 display :0.0
dga: version 2.0
mode: 1280x1024, depth=16, bpp=16, bpl=2560, base=0xd8000000
/dev/video0 [v4l2]: ioctl VIDIOC_QUERYCAP: Invalid argument
/dev/video0 [v4l]: no overlay support
[root@ant23 root]#

Offline

#5 2004-04-08 03:25:23

whol
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 155

Re: Trying to use my Logitech QuickCam Pro 4000

maybe i need to "force" a driver to load as mentioned here:

http://seismo.ethz.ch/linux/webcam.html

maybe i get the driver from here:

http://www.smcc.demon.nl/webcam/

?

[EDIT]

Hmm, lsmod shows module "pwc" already loaded.  I wonder hwow that happened.  Or what I do next.  :?

Offline

#6 2004-04-09 15:04:35

whol
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 155

Re: Trying to use my Logitech QuickCam Pro 4000

Ok, I seemed to have lost my /dev/v4l/video0 device. :-(

=====================================
[root@ant23 b]# xawtv -hwscan
This is xawtv-3.91, running on Linux/i686 (2.6.4)
looking for available devices
port 77-77
    type : Xvideo, image scaler
    name : NV10 Video Overlay

port 78-109
    type : Xvideo, image scaler
    name : NV05 Video Blitter

port 110-110                            [ -xvport 110 ]
    type : Xvideo, video overlay
    name : NVIDIA Video Interface Port

=====================================

[root@ant23 b]# v4l-conf
v4l-conf: using X11 display :0.0
dga: version 2.0
mode: 1280x1024, depth=16, bpp=16, bpl=2560, base=0xd8000000
can't open /dev/video0: No such file or directory
[root@ant23 b]#

=====================================

[root@ant23 b]# dmesg | grep USB
ehci_hcd 0000:00:10.3: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
ehci_hcd 0000:00:10.3: USB 2.0 enabled, EHCI 1.00, driver 2003-Dec-29
hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found
USB Universal Host Controller Interface driver v2.2
uhci_hcd 0000:00:10.0: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 2
hub 2-0:1.0: USB hub found
uhci_hcd 0000:00:10.1: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 3
hub 3-0:1.0: USB hub found
uhci_hcd 0000:00:10.2: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 4
hub 4-0:1.0: USB hub found
drivers/usb/input/hid-core.c: v2.0:USB HID core driver
usb 3-2: new full speed USB device using address 2

=====================================

[root@ant23 b]# ls /proc/bus/usb/003/
001  002

=====================================

[root@ant23 b]# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
vmnet                  28304  4
parport_pc             22592  0
parport                37704  1 parport_pc
vmmon                  47712  0
nvidia               2072392  12
snd_pcm_oss            50468  0
snd_mixer_oss          18176  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_ens1371            22368  0
snd_rawmidi            21280  1 snd_ens1371
snd_seq_device          6920  1 snd_rawmidi
snd_pcm                92192  2 snd_pcm_oss,snd_ens1371
snd_page_alloc          9860  1 snd_pcm
snd_timer              23428  1 snd_pcm
snd_ac97_codec         61444  1 snd_ens1371
snd                    49124  8 snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_ens1371,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_ac97_codec
soundcore               8160  1 snd
gameport                4224  1 snd_ens1371
via_rhine              19464  0
mii                     4480  1 via_rhine
crc32                   4352  1 via_rhine
[root@ant23 b]#

=====================================

Anyone know how I can get my /dev/v4l/video0 device back?

I want to take snapshots with my webcam.

thx

Offline

#7 2004-04-09 16:14:36

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: Trying to use my Logitech QuickCam Pro 4000

Have you tried Hotplug?


Mr Green

Offline

#8 2004-04-09 18:10:01

whol
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 155

Re: Trying to use my Logitech QuickCam Pro 4000

Yep, I ran "hotplug usb" as root, and it didnt appear to do anything.  I tried v4l-conf and "xawtv -hwscan", nothing changed.  Maybe I'm running it wrong?

Offline

#9 2004-04-09 22:24:59

whol
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 155

Re: Trying to use my Logitech QuickCam Pro 4000

I got the webcam working.  I had to do this command:

modprobe pcw

and also chown /dev/v4l/video0 to my user account.

I'm using the 'webcam' application. 

thx!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB