You are not logged in.

#1 2024-09-11 14:26:14

nschloe
Member
Registered: 2023-06-28
Posts: 11

[sway] How to tell which WLR_RENDERER I'm running?

I'm running sway and I'd like to tell which WLR_RENDERER I'm currently running. Is there a command I can execute or a log to check out to get the info?

Offline

#2 2024-09-11 14:29:57

frostschutz
Member
Registered: 2013-11-15
Posts: 1,486

Re: [sway] How to tell which WLR_RENDERER I'm running?

Not sure about a command, sway -d debug log has it like this

00:00:00.248 [INFO] [wlr] [render/gles2/renderer.c:842] Creating GLES2 renderer
00:00:00.248 [INFO] [wlr] [render/gles2/renderer.c:843] Using OpenGL ES 3.2 Mesa 24.1.6-arch1.1
00:00:00.248 [INFO] [wlr] [render/gles2/renderer.c:844] GL vendor: AMD
00:00:00.248 [INFO] [wlr] [render/gles2/renderer.c:845] GL renderer: AMD Radeon Graphics (radeonsi, renoir, LLVM 18.1.8, DRM 3.57, 6.9.10-arch1-1)

(well, glxinfo shows the same so just try that, perhaps)

Last edited by frostschutz (2024-09-11 14:34:22)

Offline

#3 2024-09-11 15:16:42

nschloe
Member
Registered: 2023-06-28
Posts: 11

Re: [sway] How to tell which WLR_RENDERER I'm running?

Thanks for the reply! Not sure what you mean by `sway -d debug log`. Should I execute this on the command line? I get some output there, but no info on the renderer.

Offline

#4 2024-09-11 16:05:48

jl2
Member
From: 47° 18' N 8° 34' E
Registered: 2022-06-01
Posts: 566
Website

Re: [sway] How to tell which WLR_RENDERER I'm running?

No, that is a command that runs sway with debug info.

Run that on a separate TTY (ctrl+alt+F3), run this command, exit sway and check the output.
If it's too much output you might have to pipe to a file and check it there.


Why I run Arch? To "BTW I run Arch" the guy one grade younger.
And to let my siblings and cousins laugh at Arsch Linux...

Offline

#5 2024-09-11 16:32:29

nschloe
Member
Registered: 2023-06-28
Posts: 11

Re: [sway] How to tell which WLR_RENDERER I'm running?

Thanks for the clarification! I had to adapt the command a little; `sway -d` is enough. (I can even start that from a terminal within a running sway session.) When going through the logs, I indeed get something like

```
[...]
00:00:00.021 [INFO] [wlr] [render/gles2/renderer.c:540] Creating GLES2 renderer
00:00:00.021 [INFO] [wlr] [render/gles2/renderer.c:541] Using OpenGL ES 3.2 Mesa 24.2.2-arch1.1
[...]
```

That tells me something about the sway session I just started.

However, I'm interested in the session that I'm currently in. I haven't found the logs to it yet...

Offline

#6 2024-09-11 16:56:34

jl2
Member
From: 47° 18' N 8° 34' E
Registered: 2022-06-01
Posts: 566
Website

Re: [sway] How to tell which WLR_RENDERER I'm running?

In /usr/share/wayland-sessions/sway.desktop you can replace "sway" with "sway -d". I sadly do not know were they will go to, but you can try "systemctl status sddm" and "sudo journalctl -u sddm -b 0"


Why I run Arch? To "BTW I run Arch" the guy one grade younger.
And to let my siblings and cousins laugh at Arsch Linux...

Offline

#7 2024-09-11 20:32:09

nschloe
Member
Registered: 2023-06-28
Posts: 11

Re: [sway] How to tell which WLR_RENDERER I'm running?

I've tried explicitly adding a log file like

```
Exec="sway --debug > /tmp/sway-debug.log 2>&1"
```

but this doesn't even start sway. No idea what might be wrong.

Offline

#8 2024-09-11 20:36:06

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 30,330
Website

Re: [sway] How to tell which WLR_RENDERER I'm running?

The exec line is not passed to a shell by default, it is executed as is.  If you really wanted something like that you could use the following:

Exec=/bin/sh -c "sway --debug > /tmp/sway-debug.log 2>&1"

But really, if you are using a display manager, you should know how to check its logs rather than working against it to send them somewhere else.  Or just don't even use a DM as all they seem to do is provide opportunities for things to break and make them harder to debug / fix.


"UNIX is simple and coherent" - Dennis Ritchie; "GNU's Not Unix" - Richard Stallman

Online

#9 2024-09-11 20:46:43

nschloe
Member
Registered: 2023-06-28
Posts: 11

Re: [sway] How to tell which WLR_RENDERER I'm running?

I solved it by creating the executable file `/usr/local/bin/start_sway.sh` with the contents

#!/bin/sh
sway --debug 2> /tmp/sway.log

In `/usr/share/wayland-sessions/sway.desktop`, I then put

Exec=/usr/local/bin/start_sway.sh

It now logs into `/tmp/sway.log`.

Offline

#10 2024-09-12 08:27:52

jl2
Member
From: 47° 18' N 8° 34' E
Registered: 2022-06-01
Posts: 566
Website

Re: [sway] How to tell which WLR_RENDERER I'm running?

please remember to mark your solved posts as a such by adding a [SOLVED] to the title ( might have to shorten it, and please do so for your other thread too)


Why I run Arch? To "BTW I run Arch" the guy one grade younger.
And to let my siblings and cousins laugh at Arsch Linux...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB