You are not logged in.

#1 2007-01-04 11:03:36

shuthdar
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2006-08-09
Posts: 31

problem after upgrade

Hi all,

this night I've upgraded whole system to current, and now I get kernel panic (smth wrong with mounting root filesystem, I forgot to write it). It seems to me that it's kernel's problem, because I've tried to boot with kernel from old installation CD (0.7.2, with 'arch root=/dev/hda1') and it was ok.

Maybe there are any issues with new kernel, on smth wrong? Thx in advance.

Offline

#2 2007-01-04 11:24:25

timtux
Member
From: Gävle, Sweden
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 178
Website

Re: problem after upgrade

12:23 <timtux> !2.6.19
12:23 <phrik> If you have an intel chipset, your device names may change, see: http://www.archlinux.org/news/273/


http://timtux.net/ - my personal blog about almost everything

Offline

#3 2007-01-04 11:35:18

shuthdar
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2006-08-09
Posts: 31

Re: problem after upgrade

timtux wrote:

12:23 <timtux> !2.6.19
12:23 <phrik> If you have an intel chipset, your device names may change, see: http://www.archlinux.org/news/273/

I have VIA chipset, but I'll check names.

Some info about the error. There is:

'Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: unable to mount root fs on block (0,0)'

And then the following string repeating all the time:

'atkbd.c: Spurious ACK on isa0060/serio0. Some program might be trying access hardware directly.'

Offline

#4 2007-01-04 11:42:04

shuthdar
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2006-08-09
Posts: 31

Re: problem after upgrade

No, changing hda1 to sda1 in bios didn't help sad

Offline

#5 2007-01-04 11:55:46

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,637

Re: problem after upgrade

we had many changes - have you moved to mkinitcpio images in your bootloader?

Offline

#6 2007-01-04 11:59:54

shuthdar
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2006-08-09
Posts: 31

Re: problem after upgrade

AndyRTR wrote:

we had many changes - have you moved to mkinitcpio images in your bootloader?

I'm not sure smile As a fact, I changed nothing there... There is 'initrd: /boot/initrd' or smth like this, as it was after 0.7.2 install.

Offline

#7 2007-01-04 12:43:20

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,637

Re: problem after upgrade

Hey, we are a fast changing linux distribution. You should follow the frontside news and also read, what is shown on the screen while updating (check pacman.log).

Offline

#8 2007-01-04 12:45:45

shuthdar
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2006-08-09
Posts: 31

Re: problem after upgrade

AndyRTR wrote:

Hey, we are a fast changing linux distribution. You should follow the frontside news and also read, what is shown on the screen while updating (check pacman.log).

Yeah, I understand now, and now it works smile

I try to follow, but often I'm too lazy...

Offline

#9 2007-01-04 13:49:59

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: problem after upgrade

shuthdar wrote:
AndyRTR wrote:

Hey, we are a fast changing linux distribution. You should follow the frontside news and also read, what is shown on the screen while updating (check pacman.log).

Yeah, I understand now, and now it works smile

I try to follow, but often I'm too lazy...

This distro is for clinically impatient coke heads who have problems sitting still! Be lazy and your box will break. tongue

I got a bunch of errors too when I rebooted my box after upgrading yesterday. Haven't looked into it yet, although I think I can fix things with a depmod.

Are those errors you posted the only ones you get?


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#10 2007-01-04 14:22:59

shuthdar
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2006-08-09
Posts: 31

Re: problem after upgrade

FUBAR wrote:

Are those errors you posted the only ones you get?

Yes, there are no other errors.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB