You are not logged in.

#1 2004-04-09 07:01:44

TheRaginAsian
Member
From: Brooklyn MI
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 70
Website

Using Nautilus in XFce4

Ok, I seem to have Gnome 2.6 running without problems, although I still don't know why I cant see my removable drives in "Computer". I can when I'm in root! Anyways, thats a problem that doesn't really bother me... my real problem is that I want to use Nautilus in XFce4 but the icons are all messed up. If I launch Nautilus while in XFce4, everything will have an icon of a little piece of papar, doesnt matter if its a directory or file... it will however show me thumbnails of picturs, but thats the only time it will change from the paper icon. I can post a screenshot if that'd help. This really isnt all that big of a deal so don't try to overwork on it, I just thought i'd call it to attention in case someone else out there is trying to use Nautilus in XFce4. Thanks for any and all help!


John Gallias
Technician/Friend/Bassist
http://www.concretearmy.com
john@concretearmy.com
john.gallias@gmail.com
Arch Linux v0.7 (Wombat), XFce 4.2, XOrg, Firefox

Offline

#2 2004-04-09 07:42:22

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

Same here...if I use Konqueror icons are fine so something must be missing...

HTH


Mr Green

Offline

#3 2004-04-09 16:44:23

kakabaratruskia
Member
From: Santiago, Chile
Registered: 2003-08-24
Posts: 596

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

yep, I'm having the same problem. In gnome it works fine, but not in xfce.


And where were all the sportsmen who always pulled you though?
They're all resting down in Cornwall
writing up their memoirs for a paper-back edition
of the Boy Scout Manual.

Offline

#4 2004-04-09 19:17:13

TheRaginAsian
Member
From: Brooklyn MI
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 70
Website

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

Are we even supposed to be able to use Nautilus correctly? See, I didn't get Arch until after 2.6 came out so I am unsure as to weather or not Nautilus from 2.4 worked correctly in XFce4 4.0.4 in the first place. I wouldnt know about Konqueror effecting anything. Should this be filed as a bug?


John Gallias
Technician/Friend/Bassist
http://www.concretearmy.com
john@concretearmy.com
john.gallias@gmail.com
Arch Linux v0.7 (Wombat), XFce 4.2, XOrg, Firefox

Offline

#5 2004-04-09 22:21:54

kakabaratruskia
Member
From: Santiago, Chile
Registered: 2003-08-24
Posts: 596

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

already submited a bug report.


And where were all the sportsmen who always pulled you though?
They're all resting down in Cornwall
writing up their memoirs for a paper-back edition
of the Boy Scout Manual.

Offline

#6 2004-04-09 23:30:26

aCoder
Member
From: Medina, OH
Registered: 2004-03-07
Posts: 359
Website

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

Icons were fine in 2.4.


If you develop an ear for sounds that are musical it is like developing an ego. You begin to refuse sounds that are not musical and that way cut yourself off from a good deal of experience.
  - John Cage

Offline

#7 2004-04-10 08:45:04

Blaasvis
Member
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 467

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

please make a strace of starting nautilus.
i never make use of xfce4 so i won't test it...


Freedom is what i love

Offline

#8 2004-04-10 08:53:00

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

If you can tell me what you need then I may be able to help?

ie what outputs.....

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

#9 2004-04-10 10:08:15

Blaasvis
Member
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 467

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

pacman -S strace
strace nautilus


Freedom is what i love

Offline

#10 2004-04-10 10:20:33

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

That might help you but it does not help me smile

What is it you need from output or even what to look for?

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

#11 2004-04-10 10:41:13

Blaasvis
Member
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 467

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

i need an strace log ...
so i can see what went wrong...


Freedom is what i love

Offline

#12 2004-04-10 15:26:58

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

HTH

strace -c nautilus
execve("/opt/gnome/bin/nautilus", ["nautilus"], [/* 38 vars */]) = 0
% time     seconds  usecs/call     calls    errors syscall
------ ----------- ----------- --------- --------- ----------------
 50.41    0.129306         486       266           write
 11.63    0.029832         335        89           writev
  6.62    0.016979          13      1319        61 read
  6.56    0.016832         276        61           select
  6.13    0.015718         101       155           kill
  3.08    0.007906          27       295           poll
  2.49    0.006394           7       953       683 stat64
  2.25    0.005772           5      1119           gettimeofday
  2.23    0.005712          12       477       123 open
  1.13    0.002901           4       806           brk
  0.94    0.002404           9       254         1 ioctl
  0.91    0.002338           7       325           getdents64
  0.73    0.001861           6       291           mmap2
  0.71    0.001816         130        14           statfs
  0.65    0.001680          65        26        19 connect
  0.60    0.001549           4       374           close
  0.46    0.001176          10       116           munmap
  0.46    0.001171           3       351           fstat64
  0.36    0.000913           3       338           time
  0.33    0.000848          14        60         6 access
  0.24    0.000603           3       221           fcntl64
  0.21    0.000536          20        27           socket
  0.16    0.000400          15        26           uname
  0.12    0.000320           4        78           mprotect
  0.08    0.000215          13        16         4 lstat64
  0.05    0.000132           7        19        18 bind
  0.05    0.000130          10        13        13 mkdir
  0.05    0.000120          60         2           shmget
  0.05    0.000118          17         7           pipe
  0.03    0.000087          29         3           readv
  0.03    0.000077          19         4         4 rt_sigsuspend
  0.03    0.000065          65         1           rename
  0.03    0.000065          33         2           shmat
  0.02    0.000063           3        24           getpid
  0.02    0.000061           3        20           rt_sigaction
  0.02    0.000058          58         1           shutdown
  0.02    0.000056           3        17           _llseek
  0.02    0.000053           7         8           rt_sigprocmask
  0.01    0.000027          14         2           accept
  0.01    0.000025          25         1           chmod
  0.01    0.000019          19         1           clone
  0.01    0.000016           2         7           getuid32
  0.01    0.000014           4         4         4 sigreturn
  0.00    0.000012           3         4           sched_get_priority_max
  0.00    0.000012           6         2           setsockopt
  0.00    0.000011          11         1           fchmod
  0.00    0.000009           9         1           utime
  0.00    0.000009           3         3           geteuid32
  0.00    0.000008           3         3           sched_get_priority_min
  0.00    0.000007           7         1           _sysctl
  0.00    0.000007           4         2           setresuid32
  0.00    0.000007           4         2           shmctl
  0.00    0.000006           6         1           getcwd
  0.00    0.000006           6         1           getresuid32
  0.00    0.000005           5         1           sched_getscheduler
  0.00    0.000005           3         2           getegid32
  0.00    0.000005           5         1           getsockname
  0.00    0.000004           2         2           getgid32
  0.00    0.000004           2         2           setregid32
  0.00    0.000004           4         1           listen
  0.00    0.000003           3         1           modify_ldt
  0.00    0.000003           3         1           getrlimit
  0.00    0.000003           3         1           getgroups32
  0.00    0.000002           2         1           sched_getparam
  0.00    0.000002           2         1           getresgid32
------ ----------- ----------- --------- --------- ----------------
100.00    0.256502                  8228       936 total

Mr Green

Offline

#13 2004-04-11 06:03:35

TheRaginAsian
Member
From: Brooklyn MI
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 70
Website

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

What Mr Green said smile

[root@johnsbox root]# strace -c nautilus
execve("/opt/gnome/bin/nautilus", ["nautilus"], [/* 26 vars */]) = 0
% time     seconds  usecs/call     calls    errors syscall
------ ----------- ----------- --------- --------- ----------------
 26.29    0.058775         494       119           writev
 21.33    0.047694         284       168           write
 12.24    0.027360         172       159           kill
  9.75    0.021807          21      1031           read
  4.34    0.009712          94       103         2 ioctl
  3.44    0.007692          16       486       168 open
  3.21    0.007177          10       755       533 stat64
  3.01    0.006740          31       218           poll
  2.60    0.005807           6       940           brk
  1.87    0.004185          10       420           mmap2
  1.60    0.003573           5       677           gettimeofday
  1.49    0.003336          10       347           close
  1.38    0.003093          14       225           munmap
  1.28    0.002868          14       200           getdents64
  1.07    0.002399          75        32        23 connect
  0.89    0.001987        1987         1           fork
  0.87    0.001943           6       316           fstat64
  0.67    0.001506          17        91        30 access
  0.59    0.001326           4       295           time
  0.39    0.000873           5       177           fcntl64
  0.33    0.000748           9        86           mprotect
  0.32    0.000724          23        32           socket
  0.11    0.000238          11        22           bind
  0.10    0.000214           5        39           uname
  0.09    0.000200          15        13         4 lstat64
  0.09    0.000193          19        10           pipe
  0.08    0.000177          30         6         6 rt_sigsuspend
  0.07    0.000156           7        24           _llseek
  0.07    0.000147          11        13        13 mkdir
  0.05    0.000122         122         1           shutdown
  0.04    0.000091           4        22           getpid
  0.03    0.000075           5        16           rt_sigaction
  0.03    0.000064           6        10           rt_sigprocmask
  0.03    0.000060          30         2           shmget
  0.02    0.000050          17         3           statfs
  0.02    0.000050          25         2           readv
  0.02    0.000045          23         2           accept
  0.02    0.000039           6         7         6 sigreturn
  0.02    0.000035          35         1           chmod
  0.01    0.000032           4         8           getuid32
  0.01    0.000029          15         2           shmat
  0.01    0.000022          22         1           clone
  0.01    0.000020           5         4           sched_get_priority_max
  0.01    0.000018           5         4           setresuid32
  0.01    0.000017          17         1           wait4
  0.01    0.000016           4         4           geteuid32
  0.01    0.000016           4         4           setregid32
  0.01    0.000013           4         3           getrlimit
  0.01    0.000012           4         3           sched_get_priority_min
  0.01    0.000012           4         3           getgid32
  0.00    0.000011          11         1           utime
  0.00    0.000011           6         2           shmctl
  0.00    0.000010           3         3           getegid32
  0.00    0.000009           9         1           getcwd
  0.00    0.000007           7         1           _sysctl
  0.00    0.000006           6         1           sched_getscheduler
  0.00    0.000006           6         1           getresuid32
  0.00    0.000006           6         1           listen
  0.00    0.000006           6         1           getsockname
  0.00    0.000006           6         1           setsockopt
  0.00    0.000005           5         1           modify_ldt
  0.00    0.000005           5         1           getgroups32
  0.00    0.000004           4         1           sched_getparam
  0.00    0.000004           4         1           getresgid32
------ ----------- ----------- --------- --------- ----------------
100.00    0.223584                  7125       785 total

John Gallias
Technician/Friend/Bassist
http://www.concretearmy.com
john@concretearmy.com
john.gallias@gmail.com
Arch Linux v0.7 (Wombat), XFce 4.2, XOrg, Firefox

Offline

#14 2004-04-11 07:02:06

Blaasvis
Member
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 467

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

i am not looking for stats.
The thing i want is a strace without -c like this :
strace nautilus > nautilus-errors.log

and put it online somewhere.


Freedom is what i love

Offline

#15 2004-04-11 07:35:28

kakabaratruskia
Member
From: Santiago, Chile
Registered: 2003-08-24
Posts: 596

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

I uploaded it here:
http://bugs.archlinux.org/index.php?do= … ments#tabs

In fact it was: strace -o nautilus.log nautilus


And where were all the sportsmen who always pulled you though?
They're all resting down in Cornwall
writing up their memoirs for a paper-back edition
of the Boy Scout Manual.

Offline

#16 2004-04-11 07:42:41

Blaasvis
Member
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 467

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

do you guys have hicolor-icon-theme installed ?


Freedom is what i love

Offline

#17 2004-04-11 09:37:57

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

why you not say so... lol

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

#18 2004-04-11 22:04:42

TheRaginAsian
Member
From: Brooklyn MI
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 70
Website

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

Ok, I went all out this time, hopefully this is more then enough:

nautilus.log file, output from strace:
http://www.punkskateboarders.com/offsite/nautilus.log

screentshot of whats going on, look at the Nautilus Window:
http://www.punkskateboarders.com/offsit … oicons.png

*NOTE: Yes I know that Nautilus is not in Spitial mode, I turned on "always_use_browser" in gconf so that is not effecting the icons, because this same icon error occured while in Spitial mode as well.


John Gallias
Technician/Friend/Bassist
http://www.concretearmy.com
john@concretearmy.com
john.gallias@gmail.com
Arch Linux v0.7 (Wombat), XFce 4.2, XOrg, Firefox

Offline

#19 2004-04-11 22:15:20

BigBadPenguin
Member
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2004-03-03
Posts: 51

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

I'm having a similar problem but even inside gnome. If i change the theme inside gnome everything's fine, but outside gnome (i.e. kahakai) I can't change the gnome theme. It seems the default theme GNOME has no icons, and outside of gnome I can't change the theme it uses, so it always uses the all blank pages theme. For the moment I'm just running kahakai within gnome, which is sort of a solution, but I'm wondering why my GNOME theme  is blank. Not a biggie, and i'm looking into it, but let me know if you have any ideas. Cheers!
Oh, and i have all of gnome and gnome-extra installed, and hicolor-icon-theme after removing gnome, gnome-extra, gtk, gtk2, glib, pango, deleting my home .folders and reinstalling *several* times. Any ideas would be awesome.

Offline

#20 2004-04-11 22:22:56

matias
Member
Registered: 2004-04-11
Posts: 42

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

BigBadPenguin wrote:

I'm having a similar problem but even inside gnome.

See http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?t=3861

I was with the same problem.

Offline

#21 2004-04-11 23:01:10

kakabaratruskia
Member
From: Santiago, Chile
Registered: 2003-08-24
Posts: 596

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

Blaasvis wrote:

do you guys have hicolor-icon-theme installed ?

I have it.


And where were all the sportsmen who always pulled you though?
They're all resting down in Cornwall
writing up their memoirs for a paper-back edition
of the Boy Scout Manual.

Offline

#22 2004-04-11 23:14:55

BigBadPenguin
Member
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2004-03-03
Posts: 51

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

matias wrote:

See http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?t=3861
I was with the same problem.

Thanks matias, unfortunately I cleared out my cache recently and I now only have the newer version of the package.. sigh.. i'll just wait i guess.

Edit: forgot to say: my /usr/share/icons/hicolor is a bunch of empty directories. Is this normal?

Offline

#23 2004-04-11 23:42:24

matias
Member
Registered: 2004-04-11
Posts: 42

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

Edit: forgot to say: my /usr/share/icons/hicolor is a bunch of empty directories. Is this normal?

Not for me ...

[root@fantasy hicolor]# pwd
/usr/share/icons/hicolor
[root@fantasy hicolor]# ls
128x128  192x192  32x32  48x48  72x72  index.theme
16x16    22x22    36x36  64x64  96x96  scalable
[root@fantasy hicolor]#

And if you want, I can send you the revision 1 of gtk2 ...

[root@fantasy pkg]# pwd
/var/cache/pacman/pkg
[root@fantasy pkg]# ls -l | grep gtk2
-r--r--r--  1 root root  5553362 2004-04-10 22:07 gtk2-2.4.0-1.pkg.tar.gz
-r--r--r--  1 root root  5550324 2004-04-10 22:07 gtk2-2.4.0-2.pkg.tar.gz
[root@fantasy pkg]#

Just seen me a personal message with your mail or somewhere to upload it.

Bye.

PS: my english sucks ... sorry

Offline

#24 2004-04-12 07:57:25

TheRaginAsian
Member
From: Brooklyn MI
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 70
Website

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

AHEM, not to be cranky or anything, but did this post get a little offtopic? I dont care about using GNOME the DE, I care about using Nautilus, the File Manager that is a part of GNOME while in the DE XFce4. My only hope is Blaasvis hasent become confused because he gave me the impression that we were so close to a breakthrough lol. Of course, this error with the whole DE may directly effect the usage of Nautilus and take precendence over it, and if that is the case I apologize.


John Gallias
Technician/Friend/Bassist
http://www.concretearmy.com
john@concretearmy.com
john.gallias@gmail.com
Arch Linux v0.7 (Wombat), XFce 4.2, XOrg, Firefox

Offline

#25 2004-04-12 08:09:31

Blaasvis
Member
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 467

Re: Using Nautilus in XFce4

JGC found the reason for nautilus not working, it needs gnome-settings-deamon to be running and it can't due to the xfce4-settings-deamon.

So this isn't a nautilus related bug. you can't run nautilus under kde also.


Freedom is what i love

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB