You are not logged in.

#1 2023-05-30 16:39:16

gulatihardik10
Member
Registered: 2020-01-14
Posts: 67

[SOLVED] WPS office PDF editor not starting

Hello,

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/WPS_Office

Above link has repair option of starting script of Kingsoft (WPS) Office PDF Editor
Tried the sequence but still doesn't working, refer code below:

#!/bin/bash

gOpt="-style=gtk+"
export GTK2_RC_FILES=/usr/share/themes/Breeze/gtk-2.0/gtkrc

gBinPath=$(dirname "$0")
if [ -d "${gBinPath}/office6" ]; then
	gInstallPath=${gBinPath}
else
	gInstallPath=/usr/lib
fi

gApp=wpspdf
gConfigPath="${HOME}/.config/Kingsoft/Office.conf"
gIsFushion=0

function get_model_type()
{
	currentMode=""
	haveConf=0
	if [ -e "${gConfigPath}" ];then
		haveConf=1
	fi
	if [ $haveConf -eq 1 ]; then
		currentMode=$(awk -v line=$(awk '/\[6.0\]/{print NR}' "${gConfigPath}")  -F"=" '$1=="wpsoffice\\Application%20Settings\\AppComponentMode" {if(NR>=line){print $2}}' "${gConfigPath}")
	fi
	if [ $haveConf -eq 1 ] && [ "$currentMode" = "prome_fushion" ]; then
			gApp="wpsoffice"
			gIsFushion=1
	fi
}

function run()
{
	if [ -e "${gInstallPath}/office6/${gApp}" ] ; then
		if [ 1 -eq ${gIsFushion} ] && [ "$1" != "/prometheus" ]; then
			{ unset GIO_LAUNCHED_DESKTOP_FILE && ${gInstallPath}/office6/${gApp} /prometheus ${gOpt} "$@"; } > /dev/null 2>&1
		else
		{ ${gInstallPath}/office6/${gApp} ${gOpt} "$@"; } > /dev/null 2>&1
		fi
	else
		echo "${gApp} does not exist!"
	fi
}

function main()
{
	get_model_type "$@"
	run "$@"
	exit 0
}

main "$@"

Already tried to open from terminal.

Is there any mistake I am doing.

Thank you

Last edited by gulatihardik10 (2024-04-20 16:32:09)

Offline

#2 2023-06-02 16:51:54

gulatihardik10
Member
Registered: 2020-01-14
Posts: 67

Re: [SOLVED] WPS office PDF editor not starting

Strace code:

[gulatihardik10@Hardik ~]$ strace -eopen wpspdf
--- SIGCHLD {si_signo=SIGCHLD, si_code=CLD_EXITED, si_pid=3516, si_uid=1000, si_status=0, si_utime=0, si_stime=0} ---
--- SIGCHLD {si_signo=SIGCHLD, si_code=CLD_EXITED, si_pid=3517, si_uid=1000, si_status=255, si_utime=0, si_stime=0} ---
+++ exited with 0 +++

System Log:

[gulatihardik10@Hardik ~]$ SYSTEMD_LESS=FRXMK journalctl --since "1 min ago"
Jun 02 22:18:44 Hardik plasmashell[487]: kf.kio.gui: Failed to register new cgroup: "app-wps\\x2doffice\\x2dpdf-4d439b35de0c4bc79a8870a8cd918ffb.scope" "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.UnixProcessIdUnknown" "Process with ID 3746 does not exist."

Offline

#3 2023-11-22 06:20:47

lucifei
Member
Registered: 2023-11-22
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED] WPS office PDF editor not starting

sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libtiff.so.6 /usr/lib/libtiff.so.5

Offline

#4 2023-11-22 08:56:31

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 23,289

Re: [SOLVED] WPS office PDF editor not starting

That's not a fix and will potentially break horribly. That last number changes because the so-name versions are incompatible. Install (lib32-)libtiff5 instead

Online

#5 2024-04-10 08:28:11

xtlc
Member
Registered: 2024-03-19
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED] WPS office PDF editor not starting

I had the same problem and I read over this thread one time without realizing that @V1del gave a solution. So I thought I repost it clearly:

Install libtiff5 for instance by using packer: packer -S libtiff5

Offline

#6 2024-04-20 16:31:34

gulatihardik10
Member
Registered: 2020-01-14
Posts: 67

Re: [SOLVED] WPS office PDF editor not starting

Solved by installing libtiff5

lucifei wrote:

sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libtiff.so.6 /usr/lib/libtiff.so.5

V1del wrote:

Install (lib32-)libtiff5 instead5

Thank you

Last edited by gulatihardik10 (2024-04-20 16:33:41)

Offline

#7 2024-11-01 01:42:46

onlinemax
Member
Registered: 2024-11-01
Posts: 1

Re: [SOLVED] WPS office PDF editor not starting

How do you guys do to know those kind of things.

Offline

#8 2024-11-01 01:57:01

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 23,289

Re: [SOLVED] WPS office PDF editor not starting

By reading and learning about the components that make up your system and how they interact with each other. In this case the concept is known as a soname bump: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Soname -- which basically means a library - libtiff(6) in this case - released a new version that is potentially incompatible to earlier ones because existing functions might've changed in incompatible ways. To differentiate the two the logical version gets increased. If a program in question does not get rebuilt or adjusted for potential incompatibilities you need to ensure a version of the old library remains that satisfies a programs expectations, which is why we install libtiff5 so that WPF can continue to work properly until they release a new version that has been made compatible with the newer version of libtiff.

In any case, this question is only really tangential to the original issue, and as such I'll close this old topic.

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB