You are not logged in.

#1 2007-01-15 19:31:13

justinsmithies
Member
Registered: 2004-09-01
Posts: 62

installer does not recognise Compaq smart 2 arrays

Could somebody add support so the installer would pick up my Compaq proliant smart 2 arrays ....
Debian uses the following modules on my server

ide-scsi
sym53c8xx_2
scsi_mod
tlan
ide-cd
ide-detect
ide-cd
cdrom
ide-core
rtc
ext3
jbd
cpqarray
unix

I try the same using 0.8 Arch and it still does not see /dev/ida/c0d0p1 etc

Please can some kind person help as i really want to ditch debian and use Arch on my server too.

Nearly forgot cciss makes no difference.

Offline

#2 2007-01-16 10:24:19

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: installer does not recognise Compaq smart 2 arrays

modprobe cciss

cpqarray is the old module for Compaq SMART controllers.

[edit]
Dammit, I saw your last line too late. Are you sure your SCSI arrays have been initialized properly? Are they displayed when the server boots?

Try this command aswell to see if the card itself is recognised:

[root@mickey xen]# lspci | grep -i smart
02:01.0 RAID bus controller: Compaq Computer Corporation Smart Array 5i/532 (rev 01)

[/edit]


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#3 2007-01-23 17:39:06

justinsmithies
Member
Registered: 2004-09-01
Posts: 62

Re: installer does not recognise Compaq smart 2 arrays

The devices are initialised ok as the server is currently running Debian.
I want to run Arch on my server instead just like on my desktop pc's.

The raid arrays show up in debian as /dev/ida/C0D0p1 p2 etc etc......
I see no listings in /dev/ida relating to anything usefull when booting off the 08. cd.

All the modules used by Debian are listed above.

Grep shows the array too .....

Some please help me to help get Arch to install correctly in future on Compaq smart 2 arrays...............

Offline

#4 2007-01-23 18:12:14

justinsmithies
Member
Registered: 2004-09-01
Posts: 62

Re: installer does not recognise Compaq smart 2 arrays

On my Debian setup doing lspci | grep -i smart gives this

0000:01:00.0 Unknown mass storage controller: Compaq Computer Corporation Smart-2/P RAID ~Controller (rev 03)

Although its kernel is 2.4.27 and Arch is 2.6

It works though under Debian and its installer picked it up no problem.

Hope that helps ????

Offline

#5 2007-01-23 20:18:35

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,308

Re: installer does not recognise Compaq smart 2 arrays

Look in /dev/ccisss  for the devices, NOT in dev/ida .

See this partial copy from linux-2.6.19.2Documentationcciss.txt
(kernel sources are not available as an arch package, if you want them download them from www.kernel.org.
I find it handy to keep a copy on my main desktop)

If nodes are not already created in the /dev/cciss directory, run as root:

# cd /dev
# ./MAKEDEV cciss

Device Naming:
--------------

You need some entries in /dev for the cciss device.  The MAKEDEV script
can make device nodes for you automatically.  Currently the device setup
is as follows:

Major numbers:
    104    cciss0    
    105    cciss1    
    106    cciss2
    105    cciss3
    108    cciss4
    109    cciss5
    110    cciss6
    111    cciss7

Minor numbers:
        b7 b6 b5 b4 b3 b2 b1 b0
        |----+----| |----+----|
             |           |
             |           +-------- Partition ID (0=wholedev, 1-15 partition)
             |
             +-------------------- Logical Volume number

The device naming scheme is:
/dev/cciss/c0d0            Controller 0, disk 0, whole device
/dev/cciss/c0d0p1        Controller 0, disk 0, partition 1
/dev/cciss/c0d0p2        Controller 0, disk 0, partition 2
/dev/cciss/c0d0p3        Controller 0, disk 0, partition 3

/dev/cciss/c1d1            Controller 1, disk 1, whole device
/dev/cciss/c1d1p1        Controller 1, disk 1, partition 1
/dev/cciss/c1d1p2        Controller 1, disk 1, partition 2
/dev/cciss/c1d1p3        Controller 1, disk 1, partition 3

Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Online

#6 2007-01-24 16:40:25

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: installer does not recognise Compaq smart 2 arrays

Hahaha, dammit! That's right. It should show up in dmesg as soon as the cciss module is loaded, though.


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB