You are not logged in.

#26 2025-02-11 11:34:03

Allan
Pacman
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 11,510
Website

Re: Why does makepkg config now have debug enabled?

And to add to the screwed up bugs...

> makepkg OPTIONS+='!debug' 
...
==> Starting package()...
strip!debug docs !libtool !staticlibs emptydirs zipman purge debug lto
debug enabled

Online

#27 2025-02-11 15:20:21

abcd567
Member
Registered: 2018-11-11
Posts: 28

Re: Why does makepkg config now have debug enabled?

Allan wrote:

So you have not disabled debug code at all.  Just prevented it being stripped to a separate package.


This is precisely what I wanted to achieve!  smile
I did NOT want to disable debug code, just wanted to prevent makepkg from creating a separate debug package.

Thank you for conducting the test which gave greater insight into this issue.
I created a PKGBUILD file using test code in your above post. Then used following command:

 makepkg OPTIONS=\!strip

It served my purpose, as I got following output

==> Starting package()...
!strip docs !libtool !staticlibs emptydirs zipman purge debug lto

Next I ran following test command (note += instead of = , and a space at start of '  !strip'  )

makepkg OPTIONS+=' !strip'

I got following output:

==> Starting package()...
strip !strip docs !libtool !staticlibs emptydirs zipman purge debug lto
debug enabled

Offline

#28 2025-02-11 21:12:15

Allan
Pacman
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 11,510
Website

Re: Why does makepkg config now have debug enabled?

Try adding

echo ${#OPTIONS[@]}

To the PKGBUILD.   You will note you are not adding a new option, but creating a "strip !strip" option.  This is equivalent to "strip madeupword", and will rejected by the next version of pacman as invalid.

It you want a solution that is more than happenstance, and will last beyond a few weeks, either add "options=(!strip)" to the PKGBUILD or edit makepkg.conf (or a file that overrides it like ~/.makepkg.conf).

Online

#29 2025-02-12 07:06:02

abcd567
Member
Registered: 2018-11-11
Posts: 28

Re: Why does makepkg config now have debug enabled?

I found another solution to get rid of debug packages without modifying "/etc/makepkg.conf" or PKGBUILD files cloned from AUR.
I have created following bash script to install dependencies & get rid of their debug packages, before running PKGBUILD for main App.


#!/bin/bash
set -e

sudo pacman -Sy

cd
git clone https://aur.archlinux.org/[dependency-1]
cd [dependency-1]
makepkg -si  --noconfirm
sudo pacman -R [dependency-1]-debug --noconfirm

cd
git clone https://aur.archlinux.org/[dependency-2]
cd [dependency-2]
makepkg -si  --noconfirm
sudo pacman -R [dependency-2]-debug --noconfirm

cd
git clone https://aur.archlinux.org/[dependency-3]
cd [dependency-3]
makepkg -si  --noconfirm
sudo pacman -R [dependency-3]-debug --noconfirm

cd

Last edited by abcd567 (2025-02-12 07:08:12)

Offline

#30 2025-02-12 08:21:51

Allan
Pacman
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 11,510
Website

Re: Why does makepkg config now have debug enabled?

here is my script:

[[ ! -f ~/.makepkg.conf ]] && echo "OPTIONS+=('!debug')" > ~/.makepkg.conf
makepkg -si

Online

#31 2025-02-12 08:45:36

NuSkool
Member
Registered: 2015-03-23
Posts: 258

Re: Why does makepkg config now have debug enabled?

Edit: And Allan beats me posting with his one two liner!

abcd567 wrote:

I found another solution to get rid of debug packages .......


I recall this thread having more and/or different info a few days ago, or perhaps you're in more than one with similar subject to this.... Something merged or split?
There was a solution by one of the mods using sed to edit makepkg.conf, but I don't see it now. I thought of it thinking through this reply and was going to reference it.

That said, I don't understand why don't want to edit makepkg.conf or the PKGBUILD.
So now the script seems overkill, if your goal is to build AUR packages without a debug package or any other easily configurable action....

That said if you're going to resort to a script like you've posted, why not just wrap makepkg itself with something like the following....
The sed commands could be changed (and would need sudo) to give you the results you're looking for.
When the pkgs are built, makepkg.conf would be restored to the original settings.

Note: I have not tested this, and it's only an example to get my point across.

sed -i 's/e debug/!debug/g' /etc/makepkg.conf
makepkg "${@}"
sed -i 's/!debug/debug/g' /etc/makepkg.conf

This would eliminate the unwanted debug pkgs so wouldn't need to follow up with removing them afterwards.

EDIT: The script, have you tried it? I'm unaware what the brackets around, ie:  [dependency-1] are doing?

Last edited by NuSkool (2025-02-12 09:29:26)


Scripts I use: https://github.com/Cody-Learner
$ glxinfo | grep Device                                Device: AMD Radeon Vega 11 Graphics (radeonsi, raven, LLVM 19.1.7, DRM 3.60, 6.13.3-arch1-1.1) (0x15dd)
$ sudo dmesg | awk '/drm/ && /gfx/'       [    6.427009] [drm] add ip block number 6 <gfx_v9_0>

Offline

#32 2025-02-12 08:51:29

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 61,589

Re: Why does makepkg config now have debug enabled?

grep -q "OPTIONS+=('\!debug')" ~/.makepkg.conf || echo "OPTIONS+=('\!debug')" >> ~/.makepkg.conf

\! escape because zsh

Offline

#33 2025-02-12 08:58:47

NuSkool
Member
Registered: 2015-03-23
Posts: 258

Re: Why does makepkg config now have debug enabled?

Do your former friends know .... ?

Friends don't let friends drink and use the AUR until they're ready.

Last edited by NuSkool (2025-02-12 08:59:11)


Scripts I use: https://github.com/Cody-Learner
$ glxinfo | grep Device                                Device: AMD Radeon Vega 11 Graphics (radeonsi, raven, LLVM 19.1.7, DRM 3.60, 6.13.3-arch1-1.1) (0x15dd)
$ sudo dmesg | awk '/drm/ && /gfx/'       [    6.427009] [drm] add ip block number 6 <gfx_v9_0>

Offline

#34 2025-02-12 15:50:15

abcd567
Member
Registered: 2018-11-11
Posts: 28

Re: Why does makepkg config now have debug enabled?

NuSkool wrote:

The script, have you tried it?

No I have not passed it on to anyone.
Yes, I have tested it.
After I prepared and tested it, I posted it here for review & comments by community.


NuSkool wrote:

I'm unaware what the brackets around, ie:  [dependency-1] are doing?

This is just to show that [dependency-1] is a place holder, not actual name of dependency.
If brackets are confusing then see following modified script from which I have removed brackets:

git clone https://aur.archlinux.org/dependency1
cd dependency1
makepkg -si  --noconfirm
sudo pacman -R dependency1-debug --noconfirm

NOTE:
In the main App's PKGBUILD (which is prepared by me), I have added options=('!strip').
However PKGBUILD of none of dependencies cloned from AUR have this option.

Offline

#35 2025-02-12 18:26:44

NuSkool
Member
Registered: 2015-03-23
Posts: 258

Re: Why does makepkg config now have debug enabled?

abcd567 wrote:
#!/bin/bash
set -e

sudo pacman -Sy

cd
git clone https://aur.archlinux.org/[dependency-1]
cd [dependency-1]
makepkg -si  --noconfirm
sudo pacman -R [dependency-1]-debug --noconfirm

cd
git clone https://aur.archlinux.org/[dependency-2]
cd [dependency-2]
makepkg -si  --noconfirm
sudo pacman -R [dependency-2]-debug --noconfirm

cd
git clone https://aur.archlinux.org/[dependency-3]
cd [dependency-3]
makepkg -si  --noconfirm
sudo pacman -R [dependency-3]-debug --noconfirm

cd

Well with a few edits + lines of code and you're well on your way to having your own AUR helper.


Scripts I use: https://github.com/Cody-Learner
$ glxinfo | grep Device                                Device: AMD Radeon Vega 11 Graphics (radeonsi, raven, LLVM 19.1.7, DRM 3.60, 6.13.3-arch1-1.1) (0x15dd)
$ sudo dmesg | awk '/drm/ && /gfx/'       [    6.427009] [drm] add ip block number 6 <gfx_v9_0>

Offline

#36 2025-02-12 18:44:29

NuSkool
Member
Registered: 2015-03-23
Posts: 258

Re: Why does makepkg config now have debug enabled?

Allan wrote:

And to add to the screwed up bugs...

> makepkg OPTIONS+='!debug' 
...
==> Starting package()...
strip!debug docs !libtool !staticlibs emptydirs zipman purge debug lto
debug enabled

I played around a bit with the 'makepkg' script trying to get 'extra_environment' to append rather than prepend the options array...
Some of the script was way outside my wheelhouse though and had no luck.

Last edited by NuSkool (2025-02-12 18:44:52)


Scripts I use: https://github.com/Cody-Learner
$ glxinfo | grep Device                                Device: AMD Radeon Vega 11 Graphics (radeonsi, raven, LLVM 19.1.7, DRM 3.60, 6.13.3-arch1-1.1) (0x15dd)
$ sudo dmesg | awk '/drm/ && /gfx/'       [    6.427009] [drm] add ip block number 6 <gfx_v9_0>

Offline

#37 2025-02-12 21:41:17

Allan
Pacman
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 11,510
Website

Re: Why does makepkg config now have debug enabled?

Yeah...  it is really not designed for arrays.   It does not matter, because BUILDENV and OPTIONS become readonly in the next pacman release.

Online

#38 2025-02-13 02:27:35

abcd567
Member
Registered: 2018-11-11
Posts: 28

Re: Why does makepkg config now have debug enabled?

Allan wrote:

Yeah...  it is really not designed for arrays.   It does not matter, because BUILDENV and OPTIONS become readonly in the next pacman release.


Oh... that means next release will be made less flexible to solve this bug. sad

Isn't there any other way to solve this bug without reducing flexibility?

Offline

#39 2025-02-13 07:27:26

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 61,589

Re: Why does makepkg config now have debug enabled?

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 0#p2226010
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 8#p2226018
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 3#p2225793

tbc, I don't buy at all that the actual "problem" is you having friends that otoh are too retarded to use a text editor, but otoh can be left alone w/ building packages for their archlinux system.

So what's the *actual* context here?

Offline

#40 2025-02-13 17:37:36

abcd567
Member
Registered: 2018-11-11
Posts: 28

Re: Why does makepkg config now have debug enabled?

NuSkool wrote:

Well with a few edits + lines of code and you're well on your way to having your own AUR helper.

Good idea to use my script posted above as "AUR helper".
If at the end of the dependency installer script (which I have posted above), code to install main App from AUR is also added below the code for all dependencies, and file is saved as, say "app-install-helper.sh", and command "bash app-install-helper.sh" is issued (as non-root user and without sudo), it will automatically first install all the dependencies from AUR, and after that will install the App from AUR. So if this AUR-helper script file is distributed, the user will not have to fiddle with any of the PKGBUILD files cloned from AUR, or make changes to his computer's "/etc/makepkg.conf" files. He will simply issue command "bash app-install-helper.sh" as a non-root user, and the script will do all the job for him. The helper script won't make any changes to settings in file "/etc/makepkg.conf" or to any environment variables.

Offline

#41 2025-02-13 18:18:56

NuSkool
Member
Registered: 2015-03-23
Posts: 258

Re: Why does makepkg config now have debug enabled?

OK, I was being kind.
You definitely need to master manually editing a config file before tackling an AUR helper... And again, I'm being kind with this suggestion.

Lets cut to the chase....

1) Are you still trying to compile this:  https://github.com/flightaware/dump1090 for several different architectures 'arch=('x86_64' 'armh6' 'armh7' 'armv6h' 'armv7h')' ?
2) Do your friends speak English? Does this have any bearing on your decisions? Do you know your "friends", or do you intend to make this available to anyone?
3) Why do you seemingly ignore the advice being given. Just edit the config or use any of the several commands offered on the cli or in a script!

Dump1090 is a simple Mode S decoder for RTLSDR devices

An aircraft transponder sends out a signal when it receives a request for information (called an interrogation). This signal contains valuable information and helps Air Traffic Control (ATC) track and identify aircraft.

Mostly I'm curious as to what you'd use the ability to track aircraft in flight location for?

And please stop spamming the forums with your "solution". This forum is indexed by search engines. Your incorrect "solutions" will live on as bad advise into the future unless you or a mod deletes them.

EDIT: And one more request, please post the output of this command. Are you editing line 84? (as packaged config)

grep -n 'OPTIONS' /etc/makepkg.conf

Last edited by NuSkool (2025-02-13 18:51:35)


Scripts I use: https://github.com/Cody-Learner
$ glxinfo | grep Device                                Device: AMD Radeon Vega 11 Graphics (radeonsi, raven, LLVM 19.1.7, DRM 3.60, 6.13.3-arch1-1.1) (0x15dd)
$ sudo dmesg | awk '/drm/ && /gfx/'       [    6.427009] [drm] add ip block number 6 <gfx_v9_0>

Offline

#42 2025-02-13 19:43:31

abcd567
Member
Registered: 2018-11-11
Posts: 28

Re: Why does makepkg config now have debug enabled?

NuSkool wrote:

And please stop spamming the forums with your "solution". This forum is indexed by search engines. Your incorrect "solutions" will live on as bad advise into the future unless you or a mod deletes them.

As members here think that I am "spamming the forums", I request moderator or administrator to delete all my posts to satisfy them. Thank you.

Offline

#43 2025-02-13 22:51:35

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 61,589

Re: Why does makepkg config now have debug enabled?

I think NuSkool refers to the fact that you posted the bogus makepkg command that actually caused undesired results based on a bug in makepkg to multiple threads besides this one.
That being said, two have been dustbinned and you've corrected yourself in https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 6#p2225606 so r/n I don't see an open issue here.


It's also not helping you that you've vehemently ignored alternative approaches (edit the makepkg.conf, use the users .makepkg.conf or edit /etc/makpkg.conf into a transient location and pass that to makepkg) and not clarified the *actual* context - which however increasingly seems that your "friends" a more like "customers" of some future aur helper script in which case you'd maybe even more want to start paying attention.

It's your turn to change anyones opinions around the subject.
I for one am still curious who's competent to use archlinux but to dumb to use a texteditor and press "!" at the right spot.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB