You are not logged in.

#1 2025-03-07 04:22:52

jebez
Member
From: France
Registered: 2025-01-15
Posts: 104

How to run Quake: The Offering for Linux on Arch Linux?

https://archive.org/details/quake_202503

Quake: The Offering for Linux has the only official Linux Quake engine.

sudo /run/media/a/Quake/setup

It asks to use cpio for installation instead of RPM

sudo pacman -S cpio

After installation as the setup says

cd /usr/local/games/quake

There are 5 executables: squake glquake glquake.glx glquake.3dfxg quake.x11 , more infos /run/media/username/Quake/INSTALL-QUAKE .

./quake.x11
Added packfile ./id1/pak0.pak (339 files)
Added packfile ./id1/pak1.pak (85 files)
PackFile: ./id1/pak1.pak : gfx/pop.lmp
Playing registered version.
PackFile: ./id1/pak0.pak : gfx.wad
Console initialized.
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

glquake.glx , glquake & glquake.3dfxgl , e.g.

./glquake.glx
./glquake.glx: error while loading shared libraries: libglide2x.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

So https://www.gamingonlinux.com/2021/03/b … -my-boots/ , there's http://icculus.org/~hamish/dianoga/libglide2x.so : /usr/lib32/libglide2x.so

glquake.glx :

./glquake.glx
Added packfile ./id1/pak0.pak (339 files)
Added packfile ./id1/pak1.pak (85 files)
PackFile: ./id1/pak1.pak : gfx/pop.lmp
Playing registered version.
PackFile: ./id1/pak0.pak : gfx.wad
Console initialized.
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

glquake , glquake.3dfxgl & squake , e.g.

./squake
./squake: error while loading shared libraries: libvga.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

So https://www.svgalib.org/svgalib-1.4.3-bin.tar.gz : /usr/lib32/libvga.so.1 but e.g.

./squake
./squake: error while loading shared libraries: libm.so.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

So

sudo ln -s /usr/lib32/libm.so.6 /usr/lib32/libm.so.5

e.g.

./squake
Added packfile ./id1/pak0.pak (339 files)
Added packfile ./id1/pak1.pak (85 files)
PackFile: ./id1/pak1.pak : gfx/pop.lmp
Playing registered version.
PackFile: ./id1/pak0.pak : gfx.wad
Console initialized.
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

?

btw I can run steamapps/common/Quake/Winquake.exe & glquake.exe https://store.steampowered.com/app/2310/Quake/ via Proton Hotfix on Arch Linux KDE...

I wanna at least run glquake.glx .

https://www.linuxdoc.org/HOWTO/Quake-HOWTO-2.html
https://archive.org/details/ftp_ftp.ids … om_2014.03
https://ia800206.us.archive.org/view_ar … re.com.tar

Last edited by jebez (2025-04-07 15:02:44)

Offline

#2 2025-03-07 08:56:00

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 62,888

Re: How to run Quake: The Offering for Linux on Arch Linux?

sudo ln -s /usr/lib32/libm.so.6 /usr/lib32/libm.so.5

Under no circumstances, EVER, do anything lika that. There's a reason why there's an ABI version behind the .so

The binary was apparently compiled against an older version of glibc and you'll have to provide a compatible version and either LD_PRELOAD that or extend the LD_LIBRARY_PATH

What's the plan here?
Just play quake or run that exact binary because some arena checks for that exact and untampered binary?
There're countless forks and re-implementations of the original quake, providing rt lights, using vulkan, … you name it.

All of them are gonna be easier to use than some outdated binary.

Offline

#3 2025-03-07 09:50:21

jebez
Member
From: France
Registered: 2025-01-15
Posts: 104

Re: How to run Quake: The Offering for Linux on Arch Linux?

I not found libm.so.5 googling it, googling "lib32-glibc old version" I only found https://archive.org/details/archlinux_pkg_lib32-glibc , https://archive.org/download/archlinux_pkg_lib32-glibc is it here?
Anyway I just wanna at least run glquake.glx , no need libm.so.5 .

I edited the title: "How to run Quake: The Offering for Linux on Arch Linux?", yes there's https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/quakespasm but here only the title.
I want the most vanilla glquake.

Last edited by jebez (2025-03-07 19:06:08)

Offline

#4 2025-03-07 17:17:37

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 62,888

Re: How to run Quake: The Offering for Linux on Arch Linux?

You can also not just add some andcient libglide2x.so that was compiled against godknowswhat.

What do you mean by "vanilla quake", th original quake certainly had no opengl support - it'll probably run in dosbox.
If you want to play some quake that looks like 1996, see eg. https://aur.archlinux.org/packages?K=tyrquake

Offline

#5 2025-03-07 19:22:24

jebez
Member
From: France
Registered: 2025-01-15
Posts: 104

Re: How to run Quake: The Offering for Linux on Arch Linux?

I edited, see the ends of my 2 previous posts.

The original 1996 QUAKE.EXE is 16-bit yes but Winquake.exe is the 32-bit version.

Why I can run Winquake.exe & glquake.exe via Proton Hotfix but none of the 5 Linux executables?

Last edited by jebez (2025-03-07 19:34:11)

Offline

#6 2025-03-07 21:11:54

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 62,888

Re: How to run Quake: The Offering for Linux on Arch Linux?

Because the windows binary will either be statically linked or ship the required dlls and proton/window will bring all the windows dlls.

This has nothing to do w/ quake or linux or windows.
Code builds on other code, that other code has to be present in some way shape or form and you're trying to replace the missing parts with frog-dna.
Your quake binary was build and linked against some libraries from the days of yore - you will need to provide it /those/ libraries, not relabled modern ones.

Offline

#7 2025-03-07 21:23:36

jebez
Member
From: France
Registered: 2025-01-15
Posts: 104

Re: How to run Quake: The Offering for Linux on Arch Linux?

Maybe by installing the 1st version of Arch Linux 2002, Quake: The Offering for Linux 1999, 3 years later OK? tongue

I give up, I'll try https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/quakespasm .

Offline

#8 2025-04-07 15:15:09

jebez
Member
From: France
Registered: 2025-01-15
Posts: 104

Re: How to run Quake: The Offering for Linux on Arch Linux?

Finally I play https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/vkquake , started by an id Tech employee https://quake.fandom.com/wiki/VkQuake , better than quakespasm, it has online multiplayer!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB