You are not logged in.

#1 2007-01-22 03:25:37

omgwtfbyobbq
Member
Registered: 2006-07-04
Posts: 226

Help needed with capture card.[found]

I picked up a cheap TV capture card off of ebay, and was wondering if anyone could give me some advice getting it working. It's the saa7130 chipset/saa7134 driver, but according to dmesg wink, the cheapy manufacturer didn't include an eeprom to id the card's board. On top of that, tvtime doesn't work for my older R200 video card... So I'm not sure if xawtv will show anything even if the card has the right driver/bus combo. I thought about cat'ing to to an mpg file, but since it's not hardware decoding, I doubt that'd work.

In short, does anyone have any idea how figure out what kind of pci board this card uses?  :?

Offline

#2 2007-01-22 05:03:17

murffatksig
Member
From: Atl
Registered: 2004-05-17
Posts: 332
Website

Re: Help needed with capture card.[found]

mmmm TV Tuner.... i've built my over PVR several times.. lots of fun..

ok for your question. As root you could try running

hwd -e

or try

lspci

You might be able to find more info about the card there.


In my 10th year of Arch

Offline

#3 2007-01-22 05:34:26

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Help needed with capture card.[found]

well, pull the PCI card out, and take a look at what it is.

then look it up on the V4l/DVB wiki. That wiki is so well written and documented, it has everything you need to know to setup your card.

James

Offline

#4 2007-01-22 05:56:11

omgwtfbyobbq
Member
Registered: 2006-07-04
Posts: 226

Re: Help needed with capture card.[found]

Via lspci it is a

02:01.0 Multimedia controller: Philips Semiconductors SAA7130 Video Broadcast Decoder (rev 01)

hwd -e says

Multimedia controller
  saa7134         : Philips Semiconductors|SAA7130 Video Broadcast Decoder

And dmesg complains like a stuck pig.

saa7134: <rant>
saa7134:  Congratulations!  Your TV card vendor saved a few
saa7134:  cents for a eeprom, thus your pci board has no
saa7134:  subsystem ID and I can't identify it automatically
saa7134: </rant>
saa7134: I feel better now.  Ok, here are the good news:
saa7134: You can use the card=<nr> insmod option to specify
saa7134: which board do you have.  The list:
saa7134:   card=0 -> UNKNOWN/GENERIC     
[...]
list of different pci boards
[...]
saa7130[0]: subsystem: 1131:0000, board: UNKNOWN/GENERIC [card=0,autodetected]
saa7130[0]: board init: gpio is c100
tuner 1-0060: All bytes are equal. It is not a TEA5767
tuner 1-0060: chip found @ 0xc0 (saa7130[0])
saa7130[0]: Huh, no eeprom present (err=-5)?
tuner 1-0060: tuner type not set
tuner 1-0060: tuner type not set
saa7130[0]: registered device video0 [v4l2]
saa7130[0]: registered device vbi0
ohci_hcd: 2006 August 04 USB 1.1 'Open' Host Controller (OHCI) Driver (PCI)

The open source radeon drivers work great, and tvtime now starts up np. I went through the entire list, specifying each different board "modprobe saa7134 card=n". Some allowed me to change the channel, some didn't, but none actually output any video. I suppose I could try all 100 with all the possible "tuner=m", but if dmesg's output is correct, I'd rather no go through all 6000 combinations, especially to find out the card just isn't supported.. And I am checking the v4l wiki right now.  big_smile I should also add that the board has no distinguishing features on it, just the chipset, and the FCC compliance logo.

Offline

#5 2007-01-22 08:05:35

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Help needed with capture card.[found]

Pull the card out, and note down the makes on any chips on it, besides the saa713x chip. If there's a metal box with a stick on label on it, try looking under that label (not the box).

Some include the tuner in the box, others outside it, so if you can find the tuner chip on it, you can pick the correct tuner from the list linked to on the V4L wiki on the "Tuners" page.

James

Offline

#6 2007-01-22 08:52:22

omgwtfbyobbq
Member
Registered: 2006-07-04
Posts: 226

Re: Help needed with capture card.[found]

The only other chip on the board is unmarked, surprise! Fortunately, you were spot on about the sticker on the box, which appears to be made by Samsung. The only problem I see is, if this is a Samsung converter, then according to this list, it must be PAL. But I'm on the west coast of the US, so yeah... That doesn't seem to jive. I'm going to check the card in my friend's winxp computer, just to make sure it works. Would it be possible for me to determine the card/tuner from the manufacturer's drivers, or any OS drivers that happen to work under win?

Offline

#7 2007-01-22 20:20:34

omgwtfbyobbq
Member
Registered: 2006-07-04
Posts: 226

Re: Help needed with capture card.[found]

It is NTSC, and uses the saa713x driver under windows. Seems to work fine. So.... Now it's about finding which of the 6000 possible choices works. and if they don't, how I can find something that does...   :cry:  lol I should also add, it looks like the Sabrent (#42) card with fewer options. The sticker looks the same, as do the two chips, the only difference seems to be the board layout.

Offline

#8 2007-01-22 20:59:30

omgwtfbyobbq
Member
Registered: 2006-07-04
Posts: 226

Re: Help needed with capture card.[found]

Sweet Jesus (Spanish) I found it. It is a knockoff of the Sabrent card... Talk about luck, I probably would have spent another day messing with it if I didn't see that pic.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB