You are not logged in.

#1 2007-01-18 07:12:51

dr_te_z
Member
From: Zoetermeer, the Netherlands
Registered: 2006-12-06
Posts: 154

stand-alone (slow) boot

Hi, I've got Arch installed on a R50p thinkpad.
Yesterday I booted stand-alone (no network cable attached) and I notices the boot pausing long on the "starting network".
Can this be tweaked? Can the "boot process" sence that there is no cable attached so you don't have to send the dhcp-client on a ghost-hunt.

Or is there a boot-parameter I can use. An extra lilo-entry dedicated for a quick stand-alone boot.


Somewhere between "too small" and "too large" lies the size that is just right.
- Scott Hayes

Offline

#2 2007-01-18 08:35:03

byte
Member
From: Düsseldorf (DE)
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 2,045

Re: stand-alone (slow) boot

I'm sure there are more ways but one quick solution would be to lower the timeout (-t) in /etc/conf.d/dhcpcd.


1000

Offline

#3 2007-01-18 19:09:13

Stalwart
Member
From: Latvia, Riga
Registered: 2005-10-18
Posts: 445
Website

Re: stand-alone (slow) boot

add "@" before "network" in /etc/rc.conf, it will run dhcp in background


IRC: Stalwart @ FreeNode
Skype ID: thestalwart
WeeChat-devel nightly packages for i686

Offline

#4 2007-01-26 16:18:46

dr_te_z
Member
From: Zoetermeer, the Netherlands
Registered: 2006-12-06
Posts: 154

Re: stand-alone (slow) boot

Solved. It was another "it's all covered in Arch, just find out how" lesson for me.  Just activate the network-profiles as described here: "http://quiet.unixcorps.org/?p=5"

So I can boot "standalone" now. This triggers a next problem: In my rc.local I've added this

/usr/bin/ntpdate ntp.xs4all.nl

Right! I don't want that when I boot standalone, so I've got to  code this within a conditional block....
My solutution would be to grep the output of ifconfig and look for 'eth0'. If not found not execute the ntpdate.

But.... I'm sure there is a more elegant solution. Any ideas?


Somewhere between "too small" and "too large" lies the size that is just right.
- Scott Hayes

Offline

#5 2007-01-26 16:37:58

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,017

Re: stand-alone (slow) boot

I'd just add "&" to the end of the line - if it can't connect, it'll timeout.

Offline

#6 2007-01-27 05:12:23

byte
Member
From: Düsseldorf (DE)
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 2,045

Re: stand-alone (slow) boot

Remove the call from rc.local, modify /etc/conf.d/ntp-client-conf, and add "@ntpdate" to your DAEMONS in rc.conf.


1000

Offline

#7 2007-01-27 22:26:12

dr_te_z
Member
From: Zoetermeer, the Netherlands
Registered: 2006-12-06
Posts: 154

Re: stand-alone (slow) boot

Thanks guys. I followed the advice from Dusseldorf. Danke shon.


gotto wait untill sommertime to test this, don't I?


Somewhere between "too small" and "too large" lies the size that is just right.
- Scott Hayes

Offline

#8 2007-02-07 13:28:58

dr_te_z
Member
From: Zoetermeer, the Netherlands
Registered: 2006-12-06
Posts: 154

Re: stand-alone (slow) boot

Still not perfect sad
In the old situation (rc.conf) I had eth0 as DHCP client and lo=localhost bound to 127.0.0.1 (how basic can you go?)
In the new situation (network menu at boot) I cannot get localhost running. Does somebody have a very basic working network-profile for me?
just :
- set hostname
- use localhost
- use eth0 as dhcp client

Last edited by dr_te_z (2007-02-07 13:32:06)


Somewhere between "too small" and "too large" lies the size that is just right.
- Scott Hayes

Offline

#9 2007-05-04 08:39:59

lloeki
Member
From: France
Registered: 2007-02-20
Posts: 456
Website

Re: stand-alone (slow) boot

use ifplugd, and don't start eth0 on boot.

lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
eth0="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(lo)
DAEMONS=( ... network ... ifplugd ... )

Last edited by lloeki (2007-05-04 08:41:42)


To know recursion, you must first know recursion.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB