You are not logged in.

#1 2004-04-13 00:42:29

Flarex
Member
Registered: 2004-04-08
Posts: 13

Why doesn't Totem want to start?

[flarex@myhost flarex]$ sudo pacman -Sy totem
Password:
:: Synchronizing package databases...
current                  [################] 100%|     38K|   30.3K/s| 00:00:01
extra                    [################] 100%|    130K|   17.0K/s| 00:00:07
:: totem-0.99.9-1: is up to date.  Upgrade anyway? [Y/n] y

Targets: totem-0.99.9-1

Proceed with upgrade? [Y/n] y

checking package integrity... done.
loading package data... done.
checking for file conflicts... done.
upgrading totem... done.
[flarex@myhost flarex]$ totem
totem: error while loading shared libraries: libssl.so.0.9.6: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
[flarex@myhost flarex]$

I can't find any libssl packages, so i'm assuming this has something to do with ssl? How can i get totem to start?

Offline

#2 2004-04-13 01:19:08

KalephOne
Member
From: Fortaleza, Brasil
Registered: 2004-04-02
Posts: 99

Re: Why doesn't Totem want to start?

There is a bug report filled about it - let's hope they dont take too long fixing it  smile


Kaleph
jabber: kaleph@jabber.org

Offline

#3 2004-04-13 09:47:41

zeppelin
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2004-03-05
Posts: 807
Website

Re: Why doesn't Totem want to start?

Flarex wrote:

I can't find any libssl packages, so i'm assuming this has something to do with ssl? How can i get totem to start?

yes, this pkg has not been updatedb for the new ssl version.
you can wait to be fixed [after you submit the bug report] or you can go the ABS way tongue

Offline

#4 2004-04-13 10:46:37

Flarex
Member
Registered: 2004-04-08
Posts: 13

Re: Why doesn't Totem want to start?

Whats ABS? The bug report was already submitted by someone else a while ago.

Offline

#5 2004-04-13 10:56:49

zeppelin
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2004-03-05
Posts: 807
Website

Re: Why doesn't Totem want to start?

ABS = ArchLinux Build System

eg. build from source. [after running abs and cd'ing /var/abs/]
makepkg there etc..

but, I think to run it now you only have to do this:

ln -s /usr/lib/libssl.so.0.9.7 /usr/lib/libssl.so.0.9.6

Offline

#6 2004-04-13 20:36:12

Flarex
Member
Registered: 2004-04-08
Posts: 13

Re: Why doesn't Totem want to start?

:cry:

[flarex@myhost flarex]$ sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libssl.so.0.9.7 /usr/lib/libssl.so.0 .9.6
Password:
[flarex@myhost flarex]$ totem
totem: error while loading shared libraries: libcrypto.so.0.9.6: cannot open sha red object file: No such file or directory

Guess i'll have to go search for a ABS package.

Offline

#7 2004-04-13 20:43:24

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: Why doesn't Totem want to start?

Flarex wrote:

:cry:

[flarex@myhost flarex]$ sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libssl.so.0.9.7 /usr/lib/libssl.so.0 .9.6
Password:
[flarex@myhost flarex]$ totem
totem: error while loading shared libraries: libcrypto.so.0.9.6: cannot open sha red object file: No such file or directory

Guess i'll have to go search for a ABS package.

no

see here:
[url]http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/ABS - the Arch Build System (draft version)[/url]
or here:
http://www.archlinux.org/docs/en/guide/ … .html#SEC5


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#8 2004-04-14 09:46:13

zeppelin
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2004-03-05
Posts: 807
Website

Re: Why doesn't Totem want to start?

Flarex wrote:

:cry:

[flarex@myhost flarex]$ sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libssl.so.0.9.7 /usr/lib/libssl.so.0 .9.6
Password:
[flarex@myhost flarex]$ totem
totem: error while loading shared libraries: libcrypto.so.0.9.6: cannot open sha red object file: No such file or directory

Guess i'll have to go search for a ABS package.

no! you can do the same for libcrypto

ln -s /usr/lib/libcrypto.so.0.9.7 /usr/lib/libcrypto.so.0 .9.6
etc..

Offline

#9 2004-04-16 10:59:17

Flarex
Member
Registered: 2004-04-08
Posts: 13

Re: Why doesn't Totem want to start?

softlinking won't help as far as i know, all the people who have done that, get their comps cpu usage at 100% when running totem.

I've run totem before on a different distro and its definitly not that slow.

http://bugs.archlinux.org/?do=details&id=661&edit=yep

I think the guy forgot that he was supposed to work on it...It doesn't even say what version he intends to fix. sad my poor poor totem package.  :cry: [/quote]

Offline

#10 2004-04-16 12:33:26

zeppelin
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2004-03-05
Posts: 807
Website

Re: Why doesn't Totem want to start?

not sure about the 100% cpu usage
anyways: pm blaasvis [he's the guy]

Offline

#11 2004-04-18 20:59:54

mig
Member
From: Richmond, VA
Registered: 2004-04-18
Posts: 33

Re: Why doesn't Totem want to start?

Don't use the sym links, that is a sloppy way of doing things.  You will need to use ABS.

Just do this:

# abs
# mkdir /var/abs/local/totem
# cp /var/abs/extras/gnome/totem/* /var/abs/local/totem
# cd /var/abs/local/totem
# makepkg
# pacman -U totem-0.99.9-1.pkg.tar.gz

If it doesn't configure well, you may need to install some other packages, I was required to install perlxml.

Then you need to get rid of: /usr/lib/xine/plugins/1.0.0/xineplug_inp_vcd.so

Hope this helps!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB