You are not logged in.

#1 2007-02-14 18:41:40

Prinmode
Member
Registered: 2007-02-14
Posts: 6

[Archlinux 0.8]keyboard PS/2 doesn't work in installation, HELP!!

Hi, i'm new in this, i downloaded the Voodoo Beta1 version of archlinux, i run the cd and the boot loaded successfully, then of a moment of load appears the info installation ("Hit ENTER to enter the bash shell") , in that moment my keyboard doesn't work, i'm using a simple keyboard ps/2 sad .
Now what are i doing? sombody can help me?

pd: english isn't my native language smile

Offline

#2 2007-02-14 19:05:25

aRcHaTe
Member
Registered: 2006-10-24
Posts: 644

Re: [Archlinux 0.8]keyboard PS/2 doesn't work in installation, HELP!!

that seems trange im using a usb keyboard..i got it a few days ago and dindt change anything on xorg.conf..hwdetect does all the work smile..before that it was a ps/2...never got anyproblms with that one...maybe bios stuff....


Its a sick world we live in....

Offline

#3 2007-02-14 19:39:49

Prinmode
Member
Registered: 2007-02-14
Posts: 6

Re: [Archlinux 0.8]keyboard PS/2 doesn't work in installation, HELP!!

yes, i think the same, others distros too fail with my bios sad , the most common "IDE lost interrupt"
but this never happened me, I don't know what to do. I can't enter to the bash shell, because i nedd hit enter and my keyboard doesn't work.

edit: i have a Intel gc11020m.86.a motherboard with ati integrated chip with a pentium D 3,2 ghz, almost all the installs distros fail with this configuration, this is the part that my keyboard don't work s5000599db7.th.jpg
please helpme sad

Last edited by Prinmode (2007-02-14 20:38:41)

Offline

#4 2007-02-15 06:52:02

mutlu_inek
Member
From: all over the place
Registered: 2006-11-18
Posts: 676
Website

Re: [Archlinux 0.8]keyboard PS/2 doesn't work in installation, HELP!!

I think this is a kernel misconfiguration. I had problems with a USB keyboard using a PS/2 adaptor a few years ago. Some distros' installation media did not take this into account. A few worked, though.

You could try to use a PS/2 to USB adaptor or get a USB keyboard. (Or ask the devs to change the kernel config.)

Offline

#5 2007-02-15 19:11:22

Prinmode
Member
Registered: 2007-02-14
Posts: 6

Re: [Archlinux 0.8]keyboard PS/2 doesn't work in installation, HELP!!

thanks very much for answer me guys. I will try with a PS/2->USB adapter to see if it this works.

Offline

#6 2007-02-16 02:15:09

Prinmode
Member
Registered: 2007-02-14
Posts: 6

Re: [Archlinux 0.8]keyboard PS/2 doesn't work in installation, HELP!!

hi guys, i'm ran the arch installer with the adapter but same happened. So, i'm installed the arch from a livecd, and all ok, but at the time of initiating arch thows me the following error:

hda: dma interrupt recovery
hda: lost interrupt
hda: dma_timer_expiry == 0x24
ide-cd-cmd 0x3 timed out

still with the options noapic and acpi=off in lilo boot it keeps on throwing the same error

Offline

#7 2007-02-16 13:19:50

mutlu_inek
Member
From: all over the place
Registered: 2006-11-18
Posts: 676
Website

Re: [Archlinux 0.8]keyboard PS/2 doesn't work in installation, HELP!!

Since this is a bug regarding the install cd, you should (if you have not yet) post to this thread:

http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=27994&

Offline

#8 2007-02-17 21:33:09

Prinmode
Member
Registered: 2007-02-14
Posts: 6

Re: [Archlinux 0.8]keyboard PS/2 doesn't work in installation, HELP!!

thanks, but i installed the arch 64bit now and all work fine roll . that was the problem (:shamed:). now i have problems with the 32bit progmans lol
thnks very much friends.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB