You are not logged in.

#1 2007-02-02 16:54:35

debug
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2007-01-26
Posts: 10

installation problem

hi to all archlinux users!!!
this is my first post, so first of all i would like to congratulate all the developers for archlinux and all the members for this forum.
I am trying to install archlinux (0.7.2 , sata hd,ide cdrom) but when i reach the "install packages" menu i get the error "no cd drives were found"
i searched the forum but i havent solved this problem.

thank you in advance

Offline

#2 2007-02-02 18:01:29

tom5760
Member
From: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Registered: 2006-02-05
Posts: 283
Website

Re: installation problem

Something you might want to try, is to use the beta 0.8 install cd found here -> ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/other/0.8/i686  There have been some changes since the 0.7 install cd was released (initcpio, pata modules, ect) that the new cd sets up by default. 

Also, if that dosn't work, what kind of computer are you installing Arch on?  What kind of CD rom drive do you have?

Offline

#3 2007-02-03 16:46:22

debug
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2007-01-26
Posts: 10

Re: installation problem

i used 0.8 and now i get this error while booting
"cat (cd) /boot/boot.msg
error 23: error while parsing number"

i have an asus m/b, p5b-vm, core2 duo, 1gb ram, sata 160gb hd, vga intel on board, lg dvdrw

any ideas?

Offline

#4 2007-02-04 05:43:14

tom5760
Member
From: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Registered: 2006-02-05
Posts: 283
Website

Re: installation problem

I have no idea.  Can you boot anything else with your computer?  Maybe try booting into Knoppix?  Or some other livecd?

Offline

#5 2007-02-04 08:03:34

debug
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2007-01-26
Posts: 10

Re: installation problem

yes i tried other distros with no problem at all

Offline

#6 2007-02-04 20:34:15

debug
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2007-01-26
Posts: 10

Re: installation problem

i tried also with a cdrom instead of dvdrom, nothing at all:(

Offline

#7 2007-02-16 13:23:40

henrysmith
Member
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2005-09-01
Posts: 17

Re: installation problem

"no cd drives were found"

"cat (cd) /boot/boot.msg
error 23: error while parsing number"

i have an asus m/b, p5b-vm, core2 duo, 1gb ram, sata 160gb hd, vga intel on board, lg dvdrw

I have this exact problem, with the exact same result if I try a 0.8 ISO.
I have an Intel P4 CPU, an Abit AB9 mobo, a SATA HDD and an IDE DVD/CD combo drive.
The only difference between me and the OP is that quite a few other distros have trouble with my SATA controller too.

Offline

#8 2007-02-16 14:49:45

debug
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2007-01-26
Posts: 10

Re: installation problem

i think that the problem is with the motherboard controllers, they cant be detected correctly. I gave up and used my laptop for the installation of arch

Offline

#9 2007-02-25 13:29:38

debug
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2007-01-26
Posts: 10

Re: installation problem

with the new Voodoo beta2 iso , problem is solved, now i can have arch at my desktop too!!

Offline

#10 2007-03-01 12:54:07

john_schaf
Member
From: France
Registered: 2007-02-24
Posts: 103

Re: installation problem

Hello,

I tried to install Archo 0.8 beta 2, and when it comes to select packages, it says that no cdrom drives where found !
(obviously, since I juste booted and ran the setup tool from there, it IS there)

I then rebooted my computer and typed : arch ide-legacy.
Result : no more problem !

Just wanted you to know about this "issue", and that it is very good to propose such options before booting !
By the way my laptop is 3 years old with an ide cd-rom drive.

Too bad my internet connection does not work ... (see http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=30292 )

cheers !

Last edited by john_schaf (2007-03-01 12:57:11)

Offline

#11 2007-03-21 14:21:33

elyron
Member
Registered: 2007-03-21
Posts: 2

Re: installation problem

i have an asus a7j and tried to install arch on it some weeks ago (0.7.2) with ftp-install, but it couldn't run dhcp on it, and didnt get internet either when i configured it manually.

now i'm looking for a 0.8 beta 2 iso, but can't find it anywhere.. is it still around there? or should i try to install arch 0.7.2 at a friend's place or something?

Offline

#12 2007-03-21 15:41:24

debug
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2007-01-26
Posts: 10

Re: installation problem

you can find it here  (0.8) http://www.archlinux.org/news/296/

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB