You are not logged in.

#1 2004-04-18 23:42:28

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

fluxbox-devel and rootmenu navigation

Not sure if this is an Arch problem or fluxbox development problem.

At any rate, installed fluxbox-devel for kicks on Arch.  In earlier development releases, once one opens the rootmenu with a keystroke, you can navigate it with the arrow keys.  In this version, I can't--I can highlight the first entry, run it by hitting enter, however, I can't further navigate the menu.
Before posting this as a bug, I'll have to play on another distribution to see what happens, however, just wondering if anyone has run into this.

Also, there is no bsetbg which is included the in the non-devel fluxbox version 0-1.14.



Thanks
Scott

Offline

#2 2004-04-19 00:09:31

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: fluxbox-devel and rootmenu navigation

... another remark (maybe very far related to yoour subject) on fluxbox-devel:
it's horribly slow for me somehow ... about 10x slower than fluxbox with menuconstruction and window-rebuild


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#3 2004-04-19 00:35:30

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: fluxbox-devel and rootmenu navigation

Just tried installing it on Fedora.  Same issues.  No bsetbg is included (although fedora includes xsetbg) and no root menu navigation with arrow
keys

Offline

#4 2004-04-19 00:38:39

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: fluxbox-devel and rootmenu navigation

Argh, covered in their development version faq, rather than bsetbg use fbsetbg.  Oops. 

On irc now asking about the rootmenu thing--if I get an answer I'll edit this post.

Offline

#5 2004-04-19 02:04:56

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: fluxbox-devel and rootmenu navigation

scottro wrote:

Argh, covered in their development version faq, rather than bsetbg use fbsetbg.  Oops.

Hey, thanks. I was having the same prob, but never read the docs.

Dusty

Offline

#6 2004-04-19 03:23:32

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: fluxbox-devel and rootmenu navigation

I didn't get an answer to the other problem on irc.  I may try again with the next development version.

However, I much prefer the 0-1.14 with Mr. Kita's menukey patch, as it enables me to bind my own keystrokes to menu navigation.

I hope, however, especially when the devel version becomes their release, that they do make sure there is menu navigation.

Offline

#7 2004-04-19 03:46:05

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: fluxbox-devel and rootmenu navigation

I was under the impression that the menu key patch offered this menu navigation.  There is no menukey patch for the devel version of fluxbox, thus no menukey functionality.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#8 2004-04-19 05:19:54

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: fluxbox-devel and rootmenu navigation

This is correct for the current release version of fluxbox, 0.1.14

However, as of 0.9.4 (IIRC) the menu navigation was included.  The difference was that rather than being able to bind custom keystrokes to the navigation, you were confined to the arrow keys.

However, with 0.9.8 I find that although I can open the rootmenu the arrow keys no longer navigate it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB