You are not logged in.

#1 2004-04-20 05:12:23

Registered: 2004-04-20
Posts: 106

ide-scsi modules will not load

Brand new install of  arch-0.6. I have most things up and running
except cd-rw and dvd.  I'll list the things I've tried along with any
file info. From what I can/can't tell the scsi modules are not loading.
So basically I can't mount cd or dvd.


# /etc/modules.conf (for v2.4 kernels)
alias eth0 8139too
alias usb-coontroller usb-uhci
alias ieee1394-controller ohci1394
options ide-cd ignore='hdc hdd'
alias scd0 sr_mod
alias scd1 sr_mod
pre-install sg modprobe ide-scsi
pre-install sr_mod modprobe ide-scsi
pre-install ide-scsi modprobe ide-cd
alias sound-slot-0 i810_audio


# (0) Arch Linux
title  Arch Linux  [/boot/vmlinuz]
root   (hd0,2)
kernel (hd0,1)/vmlinuz root=/dev/discs/disc0/part3 ro hdc=ide-scsi hdd-ide-scsi
#modprobe ide-scsi

modprobe: Can't locate module ide-cd
/lib/modules/2.4.26/kernel/drivers/scsi/scsi_mod.o: pre-install ide-scsi failed
/lib/modules/2.4.26/kernel/drivers/scsi/scsi_mod.o: insmod ide-scsi failed

# Module to load at boot-up (in this order)
#   (prefix a module with a ! to disable it)
MODULES=(usbserial ide-scsi)

/dev/cdroms/cdrom0     /mnt/cdrom0   iso9660   ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom1     /mnt/cdrom1  udf       ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
/dev/floppy/0          /mnt/fl   vfat      user,noauto,unhide      0      0
# dmesg | grep '^hd.:'

hda: ST360020A, ATA DISK drive
hdc: Pioneer DVD-ROM ATAPIModel DVD-117 0104, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
hda: attached ide-disk driver.
hda: host protected area => 1
hda: 117231408 sectors (60022 MB) w/2048KiB Cache, CHS=7297/255/63, UDMA(100)


# lsmod

Module                  Size  Used by    Not tainted
i810_audio             26044   0  (autoclean) (unused)
ac97_codec             13816   0  (autoclean) [i810_audio]
8139too                14952   1  (autoclean)
mii                     2560   0  (autoclean) [8139too]
crc32                   2912   0  (autoclean) [8139too]
usbserial              19868   0  (unused)
printer                 8576   0  (unused)
rtc                     7848   0  (autoclean)


#2 2004-04-20 14:49:07

Registered: 2004-03-04
Posts: 155

Re: ide-scsi modules will not load

Hi dk.

The following line in your GRUB menu.lst file has an error:

kernel (hd0,1)/vmlinuz root=/dev/discs/disc0/part3 ro hdc=ide-scsi hdd-ide-scsi

You probably meant "hdd=ide-scsi" instead of "hdd-ide-scsi".




#3 2004-04-20 22:25:36

Registered: 2004-04-20
Posts: 106

Re: ide-scsi modules will not load

Well, my other though is moving up to kernel-2.6.5 Reading other
post this ide-scsi issue goes away. I have some reservations
because I have nVidia, ac97 i810_audio, and eth0 8139too...seems
there are a few issues. Maybe those are not a problem with 2.6.5

Anyway, how would you go about doing a kernel upgrade to be
able to boot to both the old kernel-2.4.26 and 2.6.5
Can I copy /etc/modules.conf over to /etc/modprobe.conf
and what to leave out or add? Then what to add/remove in
/etc/rc.conf MODULES

Then pacman -S kernel26

Then remove the hdc=ide-scsi from /boot/grub/menu.lst
Then how to add two kernels?

[newbie@localhost]# shutdown -r now   

and kiss my newbie a** good-bye in one huge kernel panic

On my first install attempt I had a kernel panic on a reboot.
I was left at a blinking cursor and no key response.
How do you get out of this?


#4 2004-04-21 21:43:19

Registered: 2004-04-20
Posts: 106

Re: ide-scsi modules will not load

No more ide-scsi

pacman -S kernel26

added the new vmlinuz26 to /boot/menu.lst

# (0) Arch Linux
title  Arch Linux  [/boot/vmlinuz]
root   (hd0,2)
kernel (hd0,1)/vmlinuz root=/dev/discs/disc0/part3 ro
# (1) Arch Linux kernel26
title  Arch Linux kernel26  [/boot/vmlinuz26]
root   (hd0,2)
kernel (hd0,1)/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/discs/disc0/part3 ro

Then followed the excellent Alsa Setup instructions

Arch linux is fantastic..I'm hooked.


#5 2004-04-23 14:10:02

From: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Registered: 2004-02-12
Posts: 17

Re: ide-scsi modules will not load

     Welcome to Arch Linux!  Woo-Hoo!  Another archer to add to the ever growing ranks!  If you ever need help, don't hesitate to first RTFM, THEN, if you can't figure it out, THEN, google the heck out of it, THEN, ask somebody else, THEN and ONLY THEN, post a message.  Not really, I'm just giving you a hard time, but that is the way that I have learned.  Being a complete Linux NooB, I had a bit of a learning curve, but Arch has made it MUCH easier to leave that "other" OS behind.  I've been running Arch exclusively on my AMP XP200+ machine since March with only a few problems (all related to learning WTF I'm doing in Linux).   Anyhow, Good luck!  8)


Board footer

Powered by FluxBB