You are not logged in.

#1 2004-04-22 18:19:35

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,441

/etc/inittab lost

I don't know how, but my /etc/inittab is lost.

Could someone give post his example and tell which permissions have to be to set?


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#2 2004-04-22 18:31:09

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: /etc/inittab lost

Permisson: -rw-r--r--

#  Runlevels:
#    0    Halt
#    1(S)    Single-user
#    2    Not used
#    3    Multi-user
#    4    Not used
#    5    X11
#    6    Reboot

# id:3:initdefault:
id:5:initdefault:

rc::sysinit:/etc/rc.sysinit
rs:S1:wait:/etc/rc.single
rm:2345:wait:/etc/rc.multi
rh:06:wait:/etc/rc.shutdown
su:S:wait:/sbin/sulogin -p

c1:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 vc/1 linux
c2:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 vc/2 linux
c3:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 vc/3 linux
c4:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 vc/4 linux
c5:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 vc/5 linux
c6:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 vc/6 linux

ca::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/shutdown -t3 -r now

#x:5:respawn:/usr/X11R6/bin/xdm -nodaemon
x:5:respawn:/opt/kde/bin/kdm -nodaemon

# End of file

Offline

#3 2004-04-22 19:05:23

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: /etc/inittab lost

Pink Chick wrote:

I don't know how, but my /etc/inittab is lost.

Wow! :-D

Offline

#4 2004-04-22 20:43:39

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: /etc/inittab lost

I also lost my inittab some time ago in my arch desktop. This was when I was playing with daemontools package. I tried to uninstall it and then it happend :-) Fortunatelly I had a backup of all /etc files made a day before it happend. I even filled a bug report but it seems that it was my fault somehow because this error could not be reproduced by package maintainer (I suspect I had inittab opened for viewing while removing daemontools package which BTW adds it's own things to inittab and then tries to remove them during uninstall process - but this is just a possibility - I'm not going to try to make this happen again :-)).
This experience teaches how much backup is important lol

Offline

#5 2004-04-22 22:00:18

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: /etc/inittab lost

rasat wrote:
#x:5:respawn:/usr/X11R6/bin/xdm -nodaemon
x:5:respawn:/opt/kde/bin/kdm -nodaemon

BTW, I don't like doing this because if X crashes init seems to continually respawn kdm processes and you have no way to get to a console.  My inittab looks like this:

x:5:once:/opt/kde/bin/kdm

Offline

#6 2004-04-23 03:19:05

o00o
Member
Registered: 2003-11-23
Posts: 18

Re: /etc/inittab lost

Pink Chick wrote:

I don't know how, but my /etc/inittab is lost.

Could someone give post his example and tell which permissions have to be to set?

lol i am too (sometime before don't remember but it relate to X crash or hmm -U something)
--but i have a backup ( :twisted: )

Offline

#7 2004-04-23 03:26:45

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: /etc/inittab lost

Dusty wrote:

BTW, I don't like doing this because if X crashes init seems to continually respawn kdm processes and you have no way to get to a console.  My inittab looks like this:

x:5:once:/opt/kde/bin/kdm

You get to the console after two or three minutes of screen flickering and wondering if the vga card is blowing up.  wink  I am glad to change the kdm code. Thanks for the hint.

Offline

#8 2004-04-23 03:33:59

o00o
Member
Registered: 2003-11-23
Posts: 18

Re: /etc/inittab lost

You get to the console after two or three minutes of screen flickering and wondering if the vga card is blowing up.  wink

yeah yeah that is .. but i din't use gdm , kdm or other, startx from vc1 . (now i hate X - return blackwhite man)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB