You are not logged in.

#1 2007-03-21 17:04:31

djidji
Member
Registered: 2007-02-26
Posts: 55

installation menu always results in Abort Installation? ThinkPad 600E

i am trying to install arch 0.7.1 to my old ThinkPad 600E. when the installation menu appear no matter what menu option i select i get the same prompt: Abort Installation? if i try to see if there are any error messages using alt+f<1-4> there is nothing. from what i saw on forum people who have this problem had a problem with /tmp. however, with mount i see that /tmp was mounted as tmpfs with rw permission. the only thing i do see is during boot from CD and it's:

Loading /tmp/.mnt/addons/utils-jfs.tar.bz2
tar: Invalid tar magic

the same thing goes for:
utils-kdb.tar.bz2
utils-keymaps.tar.bz2
utils-lvm.tar.bz2
utils-mdamd.tar.bz2
utils-ntfs.tar.bz2
utils-pcmcia.tar.bz2
utils-reiserfs.tar.bz2
utils-wireless.tar.bz2
utils-xfs.tar.bz2

any ideas? thanks

Offline

#2 2007-03-21 17:08:55

djidji
Member
Registered: 2007-02-26
Posts: 55

Re: installation menu always results in Abort Installation? ThinkPad 600E

right before /arch/setup i see that /tmp had 100% usage. is that my problem? and if so how can i have /tmp somewhere else so that all needed .tar.bz2 can be extracted?

Offline

#3 2007-03-21 17:39:23

fk
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-04-29
Posts: 524

Re: installation menu always results in Abort Installation? ThinkPad 600E

try the 0.8 beta2 iso


Have you tried to turn it off and on again?

Offline

#4 2007-03-21 19:04:29

djidji
Member
Registered: 2007-02-26
Posts: 55

Re: installation menu always results in Abort Installation? ThinkPad 600E

the reason i tried 0.7.1 is because i had problem booting with CD 0.7.2 and few people on the forum said they used 0.7.1 with their ThinkPads 600E. how can i get 0.8? i cannot find it under Get Arch...

Offline

#5 2007-03-21 19:06:47

tom5760
Member
From: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Registered: 2006-02-05
Posts: 283
Website

Re: installation menu always results in Abort Installation? ThinkPad 600E

Offline

#6 2007-03-21 20:09:29

djidji
Member
Registered: 2007-02-26
Posts: 55

Re: installation menu always results in Abort Installation? ThinkPad 600E

tom5760 wrote:

thanks for the response. i only have 32MB of RAM on this machine and i am not looking to upgrade. really all i want to use this laptop for is to run tcpdump on it - that's it! so should i even try 0.8 beta? thanks...

Offline

#7 2007-03-23 02:39:56

djidji
Member
Registered: 2007-02-26
Posts: 55

Re: installation menu always results in Abort Installation? ThinkPad 600E

arch 0.8 beta2 does not seem to help. now i run into problem where the last thing i see is:

Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill idle process

i am still curious if it is possible to boot from CD and have /tmp not be in RAM? any suggestions or ideas on that topic? thanks in advance.

Offline

#8 2007-03-24 11:23:23

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,260

Re: installation menu always results in Abort Installation? ThinkPad 600E

0.8 isos need more RAM 96 MB is recommended to be able to boot

Offline

#9 2007-03-24 11:45:46

buddabrod
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-02-25
Posts: 220

Re: installation menu always results in Abort Installation? ThinkPad 600E

Use a gentoo CD and then this: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ins … her_distro

That's the way i install Arch.. wink

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB