You are not logged in.

#1 2007-03-02 05:38:21

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 647
Website

Thinkpad 600E and udev

I've been booting Arch on every single +686 device I own.  So far, there has been much success.

Most recently, I installed 0.8 beta 2 Voodoo on a Thinkpad 600E (366Mhz P2, 256Mb ram, 5Gb hd).  Previously booted Puppy Linux.

This has been largely a failure.  Udev takes ages to scan.  Sound modules refuse to load ( "CS4236+ soundcard not found or device busy" ) and more critically, PCMCIA drivers are not working.  The correct modules are there (yenta socket, pcmcia core, etc), but pccard utils do not recognize anything.  Cards do not even power up.  As the laptop has no onboard ethernet, getting a wifi card running is a top priority. 

I've followed the recommendations on
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/IBM … 645-CBH%29
except for the DVD overlay option, as no X server has been installed yet.

A quick comparison of lsmod between Puppy (where wifi and sound work) and Arch show that Arch is not missing any modules Puppy loaded and loaded about three times as many modules.

I think udev is at fault.  But udev has never let me down before.  I'm not quite sure where to begin fixing things.   Anyone have similar trouble?  Any system reports that would be useful to diagnose?  Dmesg is nothing but several hundred "CS4236+ soundcard not found or device busy", which really doesn't help with the PCMCIA problems.

Thanks.

Offline

#2 2007-03-02 11:20:15

byte
Member
From: Düsseldorf (DE)
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 2,046

Re: Thinkpad 600E and udev

Your PCMCIA problem sounds almost like the issue I have with my Acer TravelMate 512T (Celeron 366 from '99).
Cards are only recognized after the 2nd insertion, on the first time nothing happens. They work fine apart from that.


1000

Offline

#3 2007-03-02 11:54:13

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 647
Website

Re: Thinkpad 600E and udev

Physically inserting and removing the card did not help.  Calling pccardctl insert/eject didn't work.  Doing both at the same time, also no response.

Offline

#4 2007-03-02 18:01:08

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 647
Website

Re: Thinkpad 600E and udev

I was able to snag some dmesg output before it flipped out about the sound:

Yenta: CardBus bridge found at 0000:00:02.0 [1014:00eb]
Yenta: Enabling burst memory read transactions
Yenta: Using CSCINT to route CSC interrupts to PCI
Yenta: Routing CardBus interrupts to PCI
Yenta T1: socket 0000:00:02.0, mfunc 0xfba97543, devctl 0x62
Yenta T1: socket 0000:00:02.0 probing PCI interrupt failed, trying to fix
Yenta T1: socket 0000:00:02.0 no PCI interrupts.  Fish.  Please report.
Yenta: no PCI IRQ, CardBus support disabled for this socket.
Yenta: check your BIOS CardBus, BIOS IRQ or ACPI settings.
Yenta: ISA IRQ mask 0x048b8 PCI irq 0
Socket status: 30000020
Yenta: CardBus bridge found at 0000:00:02.1 [1014:00eb]
Yenta: Using CSCINT to route CSC interrupts to PCI
Yenta: Routing CardBus interrupts to PCI
Yenta T1: socket 0000:00:02.1, mfunc 0xfba97543, devctl 0x62
Yenta T1: socket 0000:00:02.1 probing PCI interrupt failed, trying to fix
cs: pcmcia_socket0: cardbus cards are not supported.
sd 0:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg0 type 0
sr 1:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg1 type 5
Yenta T1: socket 0000:00:02.1 no PCI interrupts.  Fish.  Please report.
Yenta: no PCI IRQ, CardBus support disabled for this socket.
Yenta: check your BIOS CardBus, BIOS IRQ or ACPI settings.
Yenta: ISA IRQ mask 0x048b8 PCI irq 0
Socket status: 30000006

Any idea? (Fish?)

Offline

#5 2007-03-02 19:49:16

byte
Member
From: Düsseldorf (DE)
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 2,046

Re: Thinkpad 600E and udev

You could try to append "pci=noacpi" to your kernel command line. Hit 'e' when you see the grub menu upon booting.


1000

Offline

#6 2007-03-03 13:34:59

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 647
Website

Re: Thinkpad 600E and udev

I already had the pci=noacpi line in.  But I was able to make progress.  Decided to get sound working (or at least not spitting out ten errors/sec).  From
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=2128847
I tried pnpbios=off, with pci=noacpi.  Didn't fix the sound, but did fix PCMCIA.

So still trying to get sound working, but sound continues to be a backburner project.  I found that the CPU is running full blast all the time, very hot.   /proc/acpi/processor/CPU0/throttling reports eight modes, but powersaved complains about no governers.  I can set in manually, and might just write my own powersave script.

Offline

#7 2007-03-04 02:25:48

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 647
Website

Re: Thinkpad 600E and udev

Power problems fixed.  Udev was constantly modprobbing the wrong drivers.  Blacklisting every cs46xx driver fixed it. 

Neither Alsa nor OSS work.  OSS (from the AUR) should work and has on every other distro, but this build doesn't have the proper driver (cs4232).

Offline

#8 2007-03-27 19:39:17

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 647
Website

Re: Thinkpad 600E and udev

Alsa drivers are working.  My intermediate problems were caused by a dead BIOS battery.

To fix:
initialize the bios
disable quick boot

Blacklist modules
pcihp cs461x cs46xx snd-cs46xx snd-cs4232

Force modules
snd-cs4236

/etc/modprobe.conf
options snd-cs4236 isapnp=0 cport=0x538 port=0x530 sb_port=0x220 fm_port=0x388 irq=5 dma1=1 dma2=0
alias snd-card-0 snd-cs4236

Information from
http://linux-laptop.net/hosted/thinkpad600e-fc4.html

Offline

#9 2008-03-14 00:39:00

alleyoopster
Member
From: Cape Town
Registered: 2006-11-19
Posts: 92

Re: Thinkpad 600E and udev

Had a long struggle with this one tonight, just wanted to say thanks for posting this. Got this 600E singing now.

cheers

Offline

#10 2009-12-23 23:37:03

doml
Member
Registered: 2009-12-23
Posts: 1

Re: Thinkpad 600E and udev

I'm a newb to Arch, having decided to switch from Ubuntu, and have also had the traditional struggle with sound on the 600E.  I started with the 2009.8 install and followed the beginner's guide.

After some false starts, I've ended up with this in /etc/rc.conf:

MOD_AUTOLOAD="yes"
#MOD_BLACKLIST=() #deprecated
MODULES=(!snd_cs46xx !snd_cs461x !snd_cs4232 !pcihp !snd_cs4236)

and it works.  I do not have any other config information in place.  In particular, using the "options snd-cs4236..." line in /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf seemed to make it fail to boot properly, so that file is now empty (or at any rate, all commented out).  I have no idea why (apparently) blacklisting the module that's actually needed works, but it seems to,

I've also got this:

# added DL 23.dec.09
options snd-pcsp index=2

in /etc/modprobe.d/modprobe.conf but I don't think that's directly relevant.

The output of "lsmod | grep snd" may be helpful:

snd_seq_dummy           2720  0 
snd_seq_oss            31232  0 
snd_seq_midi_event      7036  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                53808  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_cs4236             30996  1 
snd_wss_lib            25884  1 snd_cs4236
snd_opl3_lib           10364  1 snd_cs4236
snd_hwdep               7712  1 snd_opl3_lib
snd_pcm_oss            40320  0 
snd_mixer_oss          17564  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_mpu401_uart         7548  1 snd_cs4236
snd_rawmidi            21888  1 snd_mpu401_uart
snd_seq_device          6792  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_opl3_lib,snd_rawmidi
snd_pcm                74496  3 snd_cs4236,snd_wss_lib,snd_pcm_oss
snd_timer              21188  4 snd_seq,snd_wss_lib,snd_opl3_lib,snd_pcm
snd                    58820  15 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_cs4236,snd_wss_lib,snd_opl3_lib,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore               6944  1 snd
snd_page_alloc          8900  2 snd_wss_lib,snd_pcm

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB