You are not logged in.

#1 2007-04-09 21:45:45

dust
Member
Registered: 2005-06-04
Posts: 152
Website

install smooth, reboot = grub issue

grub menu looks like this

title Arch
root (hd0,2)
kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/hda3 ro
initrd /kernel26.img

fstab:

none                     /dev/pts    devpts      defaults      0 0
none                     /dev/shm   tmpfs       defaults      0 0

/dev/cdrom          /mnt/cd    iso9660    ro,user,noauto,unhide       0 0
/dev/hda3 / ext3 defaults 0 1
/dev/hda1 /boot ext2 defaults 0 1
/dev/hda2 swap swap defaults 0 0

cfdisk -P s /dev/hda shows"

1 primary * * * * linux(83) boot
2 primary * * * * linux swap / so (82) none
3 primary * *  * * linux (83) none

Only have 1 hd on this box, and only one os (arch). Those *'s are there cuz you hardly care what the sectors listed are.

When I installed I let the installer do auto partitioning. I installed grub to the mba, and i'm getting error 15 after selecting the only menu item on boot. Everything seems right, I don't get it.

Last edited by dust (2007-04-09 21:46:26)


Writing stories for a machine.

Offline

#2 2007-04-09 22:04:56

rayjgu3
Member
From: Chicago IL usa
Registered: 2004-07-04
Posts: 692

Re: install smooth, reboot = grub issue

check

/boot/grub/device.map
(fd0)   /dev/fd0
(hd0)   /dev/hda

also you may need to put in menu.lst

/boot/initrd***
/boot/kernel26***

Offline

#3 2007-04-09 22:08:03

patroclo7
Member
From: Bassano del Grappa, ITALY
Registered: 2006-01-11
Posts: 913

Re: install smooth, reboot = grub issue

A problem is in the grub config. Root should be in (hd0,0), since that is boot partition where kernel and initrd reside.


Mortuus in anima, curam gero cutis

Offline

#4 2007-04-09 22:11:51

dust
Member
Registered: 2005-06-04
Posts: 152
Website

Re: install smooth, reboot = grub issue

Where do i put that last bit of code ray?


Writing stories for a machine.

Offline

#5 2007-04-09 22:14:07

dust
Member
Registered: 2005-06-04
Posts: 152
Website

Re: install smooth, reboot = grub issue

I added (hd0) /dev/hda to device.map and that got me further.

Changed that line pat to read (hd0,0).

Now I'm getting kinit; cannot open root device hda3(3,3)
kinit: init not found!
kernel panic - not syncing: attempted to kill init!

;edit

Now on reboot I only get a blinking cursor on top left corner of screen hmm . Im going to reinstall and try lilo this time. I never have this crap with lilo.

Last edited by dust (2007-04-09 22:15:57)


Writing stories for a machine.

Offline

#6 2007-04-09 22:44:09

rayjgu3
Member
From: Chicago IL usa
Registered: 2004-07-04
Posts: 692

Re: install smooth, reboot = grub issue

/boot/grub/menu.lst

title Arch
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/hda3 ro
initrd /boot/kernel26title Arch
root (hd0,2)
kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/hda3 ro
initrd /kernel26.img.img

Now on reboot I only get a blinking cursor on top left corner of screen  . Im going to reinstall and try lilo this time. I never have this crap with lilo.

no need to reinstall boot from cd at 1st prompt tpye

vmlinuz root=/dev/hdXY  
where XY represent root

Last edited by rayjgu3 (2007-04-09 22:52:03)

Offline

#7 2007-04-12 06:19:29

dust
Member
Registered: 2005-06-04
Posts: 152
Website

Re: install smooth, reboot = grub issue

So anyone got ANY ideas about the kinit issue?


Writing stories for a machine.

Offline

#8 2007-04-12 07:06:56

klixon
Member
From: Nederland
Registered: 2007-01-17
Posts: 525

Re: install smooth, reboot = grub issue

try

kernel /boot/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/hda3 ro earlymodules="piix"

mkinitcpio assumes you want to use libata, so all you hda's would be sda's

tip:
Persistent block device names

libata should give better performance and will eventualy replace the old ide system. Using the above tip, the eventual switch to libata will be a breeze...

Last edited by klixon (2007-04-12 08:04:32)


Stand back, intruder, or i'll blast you out of space! I am Klixon and I don't want any dealings with you human lifeforms. I'm a cyborg!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB