You are not logged in.

#1 2007-05-19 20:57:20

azwethinkweiz
Member
Registered: 2007-01-25
Posts: 101

Partioning

I've never installed Arch by myself, and want to do a clean install of Duke. However I want to leave /dev/sd4 (my home folder) untouched. I'm fairly new to this....so my question Im sure will be easily answered. In cf disk I want as follows...
sd1= /boot
sda2 = swap
sda3= / (my new home directory.
and sda4 (my currnet home directory untouched

So my question is do I remove sda4 from cfdisk and in turn the other 3 partitons will be formatted...or do I remove the others and leave sd4?

I know this is a newbie question , but i appreciate the help thanks.


"The hardest thing is rendering a moment moving to fast to endure"

Offline

#2 2007-05-19 21:28:17

sjg
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2007-02-10
Posts: 61

Re: Partioning

If I understand correctly then you already have all 4 partitions on the disk. If this is the case, you do not need to do anything in cfdisk since the partitions already exist; when you set the mount points you have the option of formatting the partition. Just select "yes" to partition sda1, sda2 and sda3, but make sure to select "no" when you choose /home as the mount point for sda4.

Offline

#3 2007-05-19 21:41:13

azwethinkweiz
Member
Registered: 2007-01-25
Posts: 101

Re: Partioning

thats right...thanks


"The hardest thing is rendering a moment moving to fast to endure"

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB