You are not logged in.

#1 2007-05-26 21:57:39

Phrodo_00
Member
From: Seattle, WA
Registered: 2006-04-09
Posts: 342
Website

X wrapper for games?

I remember there was a script for running games in a dedicated X server, yet I cannot find it, does someone around here remember where it was?
(gnome-panel and awn get on top of fullscreen games and some of my wm shorcuts are the same of starcraft and I don't wanna change them(yup, playing starcraft again while waiting for sc2 big_smile))

Offline

#2 2007-05-26 22:07:16

samlt
Member
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 18

Re: X wrapper for games?

Don't know if this is th escript you're talking about but, if you want I've wrote xlaunch

Offline

#3 2007-05-27 19:21:17

mitsoko
Banned
From: In the Coal Chamber
Registered: 2007-05-08
Posts: 143

Re: X wrapper for games?

you can use startx directly  .. good for shortcuts, etc.
pacman -S xorg-xinit
startx /usr/bin/game args -- :9
the path must be absolute ... and for the display, just set it to a high number, and the next avail will be selected automatically.

Offline

#4 2007-05-27 20:54:38

samlt
Member
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 18

Re: X wrapper for games?

without going into xlaunch in details, among other things it can chosse the first display available, create a magic cooky if your Xauthority file doesn't already have a cooky for this display, you don't need the full path if your_bin is in your path. just run

xlaunch your_bin options

Last edited by samlt (2007-05-27 20:55:27)

Offline

#5 2007-05-28 00:22:06

Phrodo_00
Member
From: Seattle, WA
Registered: 2006-04-09
Posts: 342
Website

Re: X wrapper for games?

samlt wrote:

Don't know if this is th escript you're talking about but, if you want I've wrote xlaunch

yup, the very same smile. thank you, it's a pretty sweet script.
I think I'm going to even make a pkgbuild.

Offline

#6 2007-05-28 07:13:28

samlt
Member
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 18

Re: X wrapper for games?

Phrodo_00 wrote:

yup, the very same smile. thank you, it's a pretty sweet script.

glad to hear big_smile

I think I'm going to even make a pkgbuild.

Well, the reason why I don't package it is, that this script can be modified by the users (you know different xorg.conf for a given game, add some programs to also start on the new display for a given game, change your Xressources, change mouse sensitivity (with xset) and so on..

But may be you think this is not a problem? (because if this script is package it will belong to root and won't be writable).

Anyway, feel free to do what you want! I'm just sharing my thoughts tongue

Offline

#7 2007-05-28 16:04:56

Cimi
Member
From: Padova, Italy
Registered: 2006-01-16
Posts: 301
Website

Re: X wrapper for games?

xlaunch doesn't work here with opengl apps and an xserver launched
it works when I close every X server then launch "xlaunch quake3"

My card is an ati using radeon drivers.

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier  "Default"
    Screen "Screen[1]"
    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Mouse2" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load    "bitmap"
    Load        "dbe"      # Double buffer extension
    Load        "type1"
    Load        "freetype"
    Load        "extmod"
    Load        "int10"
    Load        "vbe"
    Load           "glx"
    Load           "dri"
    Load           "v4l"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/local"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
#    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier    "Keyboard1"
    Driver    "kbd"
#    Option     "Protocol"      "Xqueue"
    Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
    Option "XkbRules"    "xorg"
    Option "XkbModel"    "pc105"
    Option "XkbLayout"    "it"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier    "Mouse1"
    Driver    "mouse"
    Option "Protocol"    "Auto"    # Auto detect
    Option "Device"      "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Buttons"    "7"    
    Option "ZAxisMapping"   "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier      "Mouse2"
    Driver "evdev"
    Option "SendCoreEvents"            "true"
    Option "Device"                    "/dev/input/event7"
    Option "Protocol"                  "auto"
    Option "Buttons"                   "7"
    Option "ZAxisMapping"              "4 5"
    Option "HWHEELRelativeAxisButtons" "7 6"
    Option "ButtonMapping"             "1 2 3 6 7"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons"           "false"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "Monitor[1]"
#    HorizSync   31.5 - 48.5
#    VertRefresh 50-70
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Mobility[1]"
    Driver      "radeon"
    Option     "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps" "1"
#    Option    "RenderAccel" "True"
#    Option     "AIGLX" "True"
#    Option    "BackingStore" "True"
#    Option     "AccelMethod" "EXA"
#    Option     "AGPMode" "4"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen[1]"
    Device      "Mobility[1]"
    Monitor     "Monitor[1]"
    DefaultDepth 24
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes       "1024x768"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
   Mode 0666
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
   Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

Murrine Creator - GNOME Developer

Offline

#8 2007-05-28 18:45:10

samlt
Member
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 18

Re: X wrapper for games?

yeah, some ATI cards are just not able to run two Xserver at the same time (this has been reported many times in the xlaunch thread mentionned above.

Offline

#9 2007-05-28 19:00:28

Cimi
Member
From: Padova, Italy
Registered: 2006-01-16
Posts: 301
Website

Re: X wrapper for games?

samlt wrote:

yeah, some ATI cards are just not able to run two Xserver at the same time (this has been reported many times in the xlaunch thread mentionned above.

My card is able to run two servers, it simply don't work with 3d... Is it a configuration problem?


Murrine Creator - GNOME Developer

Offline

#10 2007-05-28 20:24:05

samlt
Member
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 18

Re: X wrapper for games?

I still think it's a problem with your ati card because by default the same xorg.conf is used on both displays

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB