You are not logged in.

#1 2007-05-30 13:10:27

dungon
Member
Registered: 2007-05-30
Posts: 2

New archlinux user with troubles. CPU-speed, networkmanager

I've installed Archlinux, and got it up and running big_smile.

When setting up CPU-frequency scaling (cpufreq) I ran into to troubles.

[me@my-laptop ~]$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 13
model name      : Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor [b]1.73GHz[/b]
stepping        : 8
[b]cpu MHz         : 1300.000
[/b]cache size      : 2048 KB
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug         : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 2
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss tm pbe nx up est tm2
bogomips        : 3461.91
clflush size    : 64
[me@my-laptop ~]$ cpufreq-info 
cpufrequtils 002: cpufreq-info (C) Dominik Brodowski 2004-2006
Report errors and bugs to linux@brodo.de, please.
analyzing CPU 0:
  driver: p4-clockmod
  CPUs which need to switch frequency at the same time: 0
  hardware limits: 163 MHz - 1.30 GHz
  available frequency steps: 163 MHz, 325 MHz, 488 MHz, 650 MHz, 813 MHz, 975 MHz, 1.14 GHz, 1.30 GHz
  available cpufreq governors: ondemand, userspace, powersave, performance
  current policy: frequency should be within 163 MHz and 1.30 GHz.
                  The governor "userspace" may decide which speed to use
                  within this range.
  current CPU frequency is 1.30 GHz.

How can I make the CPU run at full speed?

I do also have problems with gnome-network-manager:
Right after login (using gdm), it says connecting to wired network even though the PC is not connected (wired) to the network.
Selecting a wireless network works. It's just a little annoying.

The next problem is that the computer logs me out when I close glchess (gnome-chess)

And my last issue (hopefully) is that the icons in Openoffice's toolbars is too small.


Hope you understand (I'm not especially good at writing English hmm)

Thanks for every solution smile

dungon

Offline

#2 2007-05-30 16:40:03

dungon
Member
Registered: 2007-05-30
Posts: 2

Re: New archlinux user with troubles. CPU-speed, networkmanager

Actually I solved the CPU issue myself! The powersave daemon loaded wrong scaling module.
I edited /etc/powersave/cpufreq and set CPUFREQD_MODULE="acpi_cpufreq".
Now it works as it should.

This probably means that this post is posted in wrong category.

3 issues left...

Offline

#3 2007-05-31 02:40:05

QuimaxW
Member
From: Waukesha, WI
Registered: 2006-12-03
Posts: 218

Re: New archlinux user with troubles. CPU-speed, networkmanager

dungon wrote:

I
I do also have problems with gnome-network-manager:
Right after login (using gdm), it says connecting to wired network even though the PC is not connected (wired) to the network.
Selecting a wireless network works. It's just a little annoying.

Mine does this with knetworkmanager sometimes.  Annoying, but at least it works.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB