You are not logged in.

#1 2004-05-03 22:02:12

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Recompiling the kernel is painful! - Can't mount root fs

After totally nuking my old copy of arch, now I've gotten past the devfs kernel panic (even though devfs was installed and configured) now I'm having problems mounting the root fs.

I have compiled in reiser support, devfs, etc etc.... but it can't mount the root fs. If you want to see any config files, just ask.

I can't fathom why it is such a pain to install a new kernel on this box, when it went so smoothly on my newer laptop.

Offline

#2 2004-05-04 06:03:51

LB06
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 435

Re: Recompiling the kernel is painful! - Can't mount root fs

kleptophobiac wrote:

After totally nuking my old copy of arch, now I've gotten past the devfs kernel panic (even though devfs was installed and configured) now I'm having problems mounting the root fs.

I have compiled in reiser support, devfs, etc etc.... but it can't mount the root fs. If you want to see any config files, just ask.

I can't fathom why it is such a pain to install a new kernel on this box, when it went so smoothly on my newer laptop.

Please post your .config (in a seperate file) and list your hw

And you had no problems with the stock kernel?

Offline

#3 2004-05-05 01:23:01

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: Recompiling the kernel is painful! - Can't mount root fs

Okay... here are lilo.conf and .config:

.config
lilo.conf

No issues with the stock kernel, other than having too much junk in it.

Anywa, fileserver HW:

400MHz Celeron II (has full speed L2 cache)
Intel i440LX mobo
192MiB PC100
Trident ISA video
2x Netgear FA311 NIC's
1x Promise 100TX2
1x WD1200JB
1x DiamondMax 9 250GB

As for the laptop that works flawlessly:

1.7GHz Pentium-M
Intel i855 mobo
ATi FireGL T2-128
1GiB PC2700
Intel Pro/1000+
Hitachi 60GB

Offline

#4 2004-05-05 06:22:21

LB06
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 435

Re: Recompiling the kernel is painful! - Can't mount root fs

Are you running raid? Then I think you should set config_md and the driver for promise to Y(or maybe M)

Offline

#5 2004-05-05 09:04:06

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: Recompiling the kernel is painful! - Can't mount root fs

Nope, no RAID. Just two hard drives on the Promise controller.

The WD1200JB is my boot drive.

Edit:
Here's the line that references the IDE controller:
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_PDC202XX_NEW=y

Offline

#6 2004-05-05 23:11:12

LB06
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 435

Re: Recompiling the kernel is painful! - Can't mount root fs

maybe you should try setting CONFIG_SCSI_SATA_PROMISE to yes.

Offline

#7 2004-05-05 23:13:24

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: Recompiling the kernel is painful! - Can't mount root fs

Why? It isn't a serial ata controller.

Offline

#8 2004-05-06 06:34:07

jstech
Member
From: Baltimore
Registered: 2004-05-06
Posts: 27

Re: Recompiling the kernel is painful! - Can't mount root fs

I'm getting the same problem.  I feel it's necessary to point out that I'm a newbie to compiling my own kernel.  Important info:

My error message:

VFS: Cannot open root device "discs/disc0/part6" or unknown-block(0,0)
Please append a correect "root=" boot option
Kernel panic: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0.0)

My config file:
http://www.people.cornell.edu/pages/jls245/config.txt

My menu.lst entry for this kernel:

# (1) Arch Linux - new kernel
title Arch Linux (2.6.5)
root (hd0,5)
kernel /boot/bzImage-2.6.5 ro root=/dev/discs/disc0/part6

I've tried a bunch of different things in the root option (with =/ at the end, using grub's syntax (hd0,5)--didn't really expect that to work, and so on).  IDE and ext3 are built into the kernel. 

Thanks,
John

Offline

#9 2004-05-06 08:44:51

LB06
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 435

Re: Recompiling the kernel is painful! - Can't mount root fs

Oh, I didn't know. Did you use a vanilla .config as base or an Arch stock .config? Try the second

Offline

#10 2004-05-06 10:33:11

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: Recompiling the kernel is painful! - Can't mount root fs

I dislike using the arch .config because it is so chock full.

Any ideas specifically what is causing failure? I'm so confused.

Offline

#11 2004-05-06 23:21:44

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: Recompiling the kernel is painful! - Can't mount root fs

Check out the conf file I posted, it is enabled.

jstech needs to do that though. You'll find it under pseudo file systems, and in order to see it you need to enable experimental code under general.

Offline

#12 2004-05-07 02:56:09

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: Recompiling the kernel is painful! - Can't mount root fs

argh! I take the original config file, and even more aggressively prune it than the stock config, and it works great!! arghghghgh!

I even went down every menu to compare to my other config, and the stock config that I modified had almost the same stuff. Nothing was different in ata/scsi/fs settings. I'm so confused.

Diff doesn't return anything noteworthy either.

:shock:

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB