You are not logged in.

#1 2007-06-06 00:02:05

saciel
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-07-30
Posts: 153

[solved] Cannot install grub on Arch installation!

I'm trying to install Arch on my new Laptop. Almost everything works fine until I come to the point where GRUB will be installed (to the MBR). Installaton fails and I'm told to have a look on tty5 for error messages. Doing so I read:

grub> root (hd0,3)
 Filesystem type unknown, partition type 0x7
grub> setup (hd0)

Error 17: Cannot mount selected partition
grub> quit

AnyIdeas what I could do?

By the way, I'm installing the 64Bit Version 0.8 on a computer that currently runs "bad, bad Vista". I'm going to kill Vista anyway, sooner or later, but I wanted to have a try on getting them both on one computer. Might that be a problem?

Last edited by saciel (2007-06-06 00:31:15)


They say if you reverse play a Windows CD you can hear satanic verses... But wanna know what's even worse? If you forward play it, it's gonna install Windows on your system!

Offline

#2 2007-06-06 00:07:26

ataraxia
Member
From: Pittsburgh
Registered: 2007-05-06
Posts: 1,537

Re: [solved] Cannot install grub on Arch installation!

What does your partition layout look like?

Offline

#3 2007-06-06 00:10:57

saciel
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-07-30
Posts: 153

Re: [solved] Cannot install grub on Arch installation!

The layout preset by the factory is the following:

sda1: some sort of windows configuration backup blabla
sda2: Vista System
then there is roughly one gigabyte of free space then
sda4: which was a preset ntfs partition for data

I decided to turn 4 in arch root partition, leaving everyting else unchanged for an instance (no additional swap/boot partition).

By the way, I tried to install Grub directly on partition 4 (it is an ext3 now), too afterwards, which failed with the same error.

Last edited by saciel (2007-06-06 00:16:07)


They say if you reverse play a Windows CD you can hear satanic verses... But wanna know what's even worse? If you forward play it, it's gonna install Windows on your system!

Offline

#4 2007-06-06 00:16:21

ataraxia
Member
From: Pittsburgh
Registered: 2007-05-06
Posts: 1,537

Re: [solved] Cannot install grub on Arch installation!

So, grub tried to use sda4 as your Arch root. Looks like the partition type is still set to 0x7, it should be 83 for Linux. Run fdisk and change the type.

Offline

#5 2007-06-06 00:30:56

saciel
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-07-30
Posts: 153

Re: [solved] Cannot install grub on Arch installation!

that works out fine. thank you for the quick and easy help!


They say if you reverse play a Windows CD you can hear satanic verses... But wanna know what's even worse? If you forward play it, it's gonna install Windows on your system!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB