You are not logged in.

#1 2004-05-09 23:09:21

trey
Member
From: Alpharetta, GA
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 73

Adding partition entries to /etc/fstab

Here is my current /etc/fstab:

# /etc/fstab: static file system information
#
# <file system>        <dir>         <type>    <options>          <dump> <pass>
none                   /proc         proc      defaults            0      0
none                   /dev/pts      devpts    defaults            0      0
none                   /dev/shm      tmpfs     defaults            0      0
tmpfs                  /tmp          tmpfs     defaults            0      0
sysfs                  /sys          sysfs     defaults            0      0
usbdevfs               /proc/bus/usb usbdevfs  defaults,devmode=0666            0      0

/dev/cdroms/cdrom0     /mnt/cd   iso9660   ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0     /mnt/dvd  udf       ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom1     /mnt/cdr  iso9660   ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
/dev/floppy/0          /mnt/fl   vfat      user,noauto             0      0
/dev/sda1              /mnt/camera vfat    defaults                0      0

/dev/discs/disc0/part6 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/discs/disc0/part9 / ext3 defaults 0 1
/dev/discs/disc0/part10 /usr ext3 defaults 0 1
/dev/discs/disc0/part11 /home ext3 defaults 0 1

The following is my lilo.conf showing the partitions (other than Arch) that I would like to have automatically mounted at boot and viewable by all users:

#
# /etc/lilo.conf
#

boot=/dev/discs/disc0/disc
# This line often fixes L40 errors on bootup
# disk=/dev/discs/disc0/disc bios=0x80

default=arch
timeout=50
lba32
prompt

image=/boot/vmlinuz26
        label=arch
        root=/dev/discs/disc0/part9
        read-only

image=/mandrake/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.3-4mdk
        label=mandrake
        root=/dev/hda5
        read-only

image=/whitebox/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.21-4.EL
        label=whitebox
        root=/dev/hda3
        read-only

other=/dev/hda1
        label="windows"
        table=/dev/hda


#other=/dev/discs/disc0/part1
#        label=dos

# End of file

I am unsure the format/syntax for adding entries to /etc/fstab to accomplish this, assuming I have partitions such as /mandrake and /whitebox.

Help here is greatly appreciated. big_smile

Offline

#2 2004-05-09 23:46:43

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Adding partition entries to /etc/fstab

man fstab

might help. smile

This is what I have to mount my windows partition:

/dev/discs/disc1/part3 /mnt/disk ext3 user,noauto 0 0
/dev/discs/disc0/part1 /mnt/win vfat user,noauto 0 0

To have it happen automatically, it would be:

/dev/discs/disc1/part3 /mnt/disk ext3 defaults 0 0
/dev/discs/disc0/part1 /mnt/win vfat defaults 0 0

You're free to use /dev/hda* instead of those creepy long disc names. smile

Try something like this:

/dev/hda5 /mandrake ext2 defaults 0 0
/dev/hda3 /whitebox ext2 defaults 0 0
(you have to decide if its ext2 or ext3 filesystem though)
/dev/hda1 /windows vfat defaults 0 0

Also, you may want to put all the mount directories in /mnt, eg: /mnt/mandrake. This is the "standard" way to do it.

Dusty

Offline

#3 2004-05-10 00:35:51

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: Adding partition entries to /etc/fstab

/dev/sda1              /mnt/camera vfat    defaults                0      0 

do you mount your camera every boot?
i have a CF-reader in pcmcia and i use a line like this to mount, when needed and not always

/dev/sda1  /mnt/st1  vfat rw,users,noauto 0 0

the other linux-partition you have depends on what you intend to do with it how you mount it ... i would suppose: noexec at least, as you do not want to run mandrake binaries in archlinux (can be very dangerous)


have a look at this:
http://wiki.linuxquestions.org/wiki/Fstab
(in my eyes, much better than the man-page :-) )


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#4 2004-05-10 01:17:17

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Adding partition entries to /etc/fstab

dp wrote:

http://wiki.linuxquestions.org/wiki/Fstab
(in my eyes, much better than the man-page :-) )

dp, home of the most amazingly perfect links. smile

Offline

#5 2004-05-10 01:18:40

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: Adding partition entries to /etc/fstab

Dusty wrote:
dp wrote:

http://wiki.linuxquestions.org/wiki/Fstab
(in my eyes, much better than the man-page :-) )

dp, home of the most amazingly perfect links. smile

lol thanx lol


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#6 2004-05-10 01:26:59

trey
Member
From: Alpharetta, GA
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 73

Re: Adding partition entries to /etc/fstab

Great resource.  Thanks.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB