You are not logged in.

#1 2004-05-12 02:34:35

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

kernel26, nvidia in modprobe.conf, failed to initialize

According to this thread (at the end) http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?t=4067&start=15 and my own experiences :-) nvidia with kernel26 can't be initialized if it's in modprobe.conf. When starting xfree there is an error (details in the link): "(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module!". This is true for user and root. Nvidia works well only when placed in /etc/rc.conf MODULES line or when run manually with modprobe nvidia. Is this ok or maybe some bug ? I have no problem leaving nvidia in rc.conf because it's the simpliest method and works but I'd just like to know the reason 8)
PS. Sorry If this was answered in some other thread - there are so many threads about nvidia that it's impossible to analyze them all :-)

Offline

#2 2004-05-12 02:41:16

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: kernel26, nvidia in modprobe.conf, failed to initialize

BTW from dmesg:

nvidia: module license 'NVIDIA' taints kernel.
0: nvidia: loading NVIDIA Linux x86 NVIDIA Kernel Module  1.0-5336  Wed Jan 14 18:29:26 PST 2004

Bad nvidia, bad.... ;-)

Offline

#3 2004-05-12 04:13:29

Neje
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2004-05-03
Posts: 26

Re: kernel26, nvidia in modprobe.conf, failed to initialize

I think it's ok, nothing to worry about.

The only nvidia-related line in my /etc/modprobe.conf is
alias /dev/nvidia*   nvidia
I think the nvidia installer put it there for me, as I can't remember inserting it myself.

I believe /etc/modprobe.conf is just for aliasing purposes, as everything in it seems to start with the word alias ;-) Module loading when starting up should be done by /etc/rc.conf, I guess.

Oh, and about the kernel-tainting, that's just a message to the kernel developers: "dismiss this guy's bug report" ;-) They'll immediately suspect the closed source module crashed your system, not their open source kernel. And they'll probably be right, too.

Offline

#4 2004-05-12 11:01:14

bogomipz
Member
From: Oslo, Norway
Registered: 2003-11-23
Posts: 169

Re: kernel26, nvidia in modprobe.conf, failed to initialize

The reason why 'alias /dev/nvidia* nvidia' doesn't work is because devfsd's MODLOAD is broken.

Just add nvidia to the MODULES array in rc.conf.

If you have some driver that you really don't want to load until its devices are accessed in /dev, you can use the hack mentioned in the thread I linked to above.


All of your mips are belong to us!!

Offline

#5 2004-05-12 14:35:36

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: kernel26, nvidia in modprobe.conf, failed to initialize

Thanks for your answers. I already moved nvidia to rc.conf of course (I was planning to do this anyway because I love arch simplicity). I was just looking for an answer what/why there is something broken because I don't like unsolved mysteries in my system :-) Now I understand what's the reason for an error and I'll watch the thread you mentioned 8)

Offline

#6 2004-05-12 16:04:40

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: kernel26, nvidia in modprobe.conf, failed to initialize

If you do not to put anything in modprobe.conf then why do we need it?

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

#7 2004-05-12 19:48:24

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: kernel26, nvidia in modprobe.conf, failed to initialize

I don't need it :-)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB