You are not logged in.

#1 2004-05-10 10:59:02

tigrezno
Member
Registered: 2004-05-10
Posts: 64

Keymap issue

Hi all, i'm new to AL. I'm spanish user, so when booting i cannot use chars like "/", that are very important, so i tried to load keymap "es" or "es-cp850", but "loadkeys" cannot find them.

Can't install AL without "/" or "=", and so.

Offline

#2 2004-05-12 23:12:14

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: Keymap issue

Hello newbie.
I'm also a newbie and when I think of it I never managed to get my swedish keymap to load either. I installed with us layout,it's painful but it is possible to do it.
es-cp850 is the right one for you so if you just do an arch base installation and put that keymap in /etc/rc.conf and reboot you are done.
Maybe mr green can help you more,look for him in here,or dp
Hasta la vista for now


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#3 2004-05-12 23:47:27

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: Keymap issue

1) make sure pkg kbd is installed

2)edit /etc/rc.conf: change the KEYMAP to

KEYMAP="es-cp850.map.gz"

reboot and hope that it works

good luck


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#4 2004-05-13 12:14:09

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: Keymap issue

Hi dp
Can you not explain how you load your keymap when you boot up arch from cd.


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#5 2004-05-13 12:32:27

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: Keymap issue

xerxes2 wrote:

Hi dp
Can you not explain how you load your keymap when you boot up arch from cd.

you mean the installer-cd? i didnt loaded the keymap, because the elementary keys i know where they are on the us-keyboard

see this:
Keyboard2.GIF ... the [/] is next to the right [shift] and the [=] is next to the [<-X-]

i dont know, if the installer-cd has kbd on it - because if it were there, then with loadkeys it would work (you must be root to use loadkeys)


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#6 2004-05-13 13:41:59

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: Keymap issue

Thanks dp,now I don't feel like a fool anymore. I have installed arch many times so I know the us keymap layout pretty good now.
Hope the other guy sees your cool pic!


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#7 2004-05-13 13:53:10

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: Keymap issue

xerxes2 wrote:

Thanks dp,now I don't feel like a fool anymore. I have installed arch many times so I know the us kemap layout pretty good now.
Hope the other guy sees your cool pic!

it's not my pic ... it's a crosslinked pic from the web ... and the colored buttons do not have any meaning for us :-)


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB