You are not logged in.

#1 2007-06-25 18:23:08

vomix
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2007-05-02
Posts: 84

How to use Rab's pypanel buffers patch?

Hi,

I'm just playing with arch & openbox, and I must admit that's a killer couple!
I'm using pypanel and would like to apply this patch.  But I'm relatively new to linux and don't know how to proceed.  Must I recompile the package?  Or edit the /usr/bin/pypanel?  Once done, what are the new variables to put in .pypanelrc?

Thanks in advance, and sorry for my approximate english. (:D)

Offline

#2 2007-06-25 18:38:25

tardo
Member
Registered: 2006-07-15
Posts: 526

Re: How to use Rab's pypanel buffers patch?

hmm, I see two ways to do this.

1. Copy /usr/bin/pypanel to a directory. Make another backup. Download the patch to the same directory. run "patch -N < downloaded_patch" (might have to use patch -Np1). Copy the patched pypanel back to /usr/bin, chmod 755.

2. Edit the pkgbuild, add the patch to sources, regenerate md5sums, after "cd $startdir/src/$pkgname-$pkgver" add "patch -Np1 < ../name_of_patch". Run makepkg then pacman -U to install.

Offline

#3 2007-06-25 19:08:38

vomix
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2007-05-02
Posts: 84

Re: How to use Rab's pypanel buffers patch?

Wow, fast response.
I've tried the first method, and it worked like a charm, thank you!

This way of patching files is impressive.  I'm learning day after day with arch, that's really exciting. smile

Last edited by vomix (2007-06-25 19:09:41)

Offline

#4 2007-07-21 13:43:37

Don-DiZzLe
Member
From: Nederland
Registered: 2007-03-31
Posts: 233

Re: How to use Rab's pypanel buffers patch?

Hi i followed the instruction of the first method, but when I start pypanel, this is what i get:

rhandulle@Don-DiZzLe> pypanel                                   ~/SAMSUNG/panel
/usr/bin/pypanel:901: RuntimeWarning: Python C API version mismatch for module p
pmodule: This Python has API version 1013, module ppmodule has version 1012.
  from ppmodule import ppinit, ppshade, ppicon, ppfont, ppfontsize, ppclear
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/pypanel", line 966, in <module>
    PyPanel(display.Display())
  File "/usr/bin/pypanel", line 56, in __init__
    if P_L_BUFF != 0 and P_R_BUFF != 0:
NameError: global name 'P_L_BUFF' is not defined

Offline

#5 2007-07-22 05:56:21

vomix
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2007-05-02
Posts: 84

Re: How to use Rab's pypanel buffers patch?

Did you put something like

P_L_BUFF        = 6
P_R_BUFF        = 6
P_T_BUFF        = 0
P_B_BUFF        = 6

in your .pypanelrc file?

Offline

#6 2007-07-22 10:13:44

Don-DiZzLe
Member
From: Nederland
Registered: 2007-03-31
Posts: 233

Re: How to use Rab's pypanel buffers patch?

nope, I didnt know that, its not mentioned nowhere in this thread.

nevermind!

Last edited by Don-DiZzLe (2007-07-22 18:40:57)

Offline

#7 2008-01-05 06:38:33

bionnaki
Member
Registered: 2006-09-05
Posts: 289

Re: How to use Rab's pypanel buffers patch?

so, I'd like to use this patch as well.

I put the patch into a file called bufferpatch

--- ./pypanel    2005-06-26 16:24:43.000000000 -0700
+++ ./pypanel    2006-10-22 13:47:00.000000000 -0700
@@ -44,19 +44,28 @@
         self.focus   = 0                         # Currently focused window
         self.rpm     = None                      # Root pixmap ID
                 
-        global P_HEIGHT, P_WIDTH, P_LOCATION
-        
+        global P_HEIGHT, P_WIDTH, P_LOCATION, P_B_BUFF, P_T_BUFF, P_L_BUFF, P_R_BUFF, P_START
+       
         # Misc. initializations
         if SHOWLINES or SHOWBORDER:
             self.lgc = self.root.create_gc(foreground=self.getColor(LINE_COLOR))
         if not P_WIDTH:
             P_WIDTH = self.screen.width_in_pixels - P_START
+        elif P_WIDTH:
+        P_WIDTH -= P_START
+    if P_L_BUFF != 0 and P_R_BUFF != 0:
+        P_WIDTH -= P_R_BUFF + P_START + P_L_BUFF
+        P_START += P_L_BUFF
         if SHOWBORDER:
             P_HEIGHT += 2 
         if P_LOCATION:
             P_LOCATION = self.screen.height_in_pixels - P_HEIGHT
-        else:
+        if P_B_BUFF != 0:
+            P_LOCATION -= P_B_BUFF
+    else:
             P_LOCATION = 0
+        if P_T_BUFF != 0:
+            P_LOCATION = P_T_BUFF
         
         # Setup the panel's window
         self.window = self.screen.root.create_window(P_START, P_LOCATION,

Not sure if the first two lines are correct. the dir where bufferpatch and pypanel are is ~/test if that matters.

When I do

patch -Np1 < bufferpatch

I receive the error of

patching file pypanel
patch unexpectedly ends in middle of line
Hunk #1 succeeded at 44 with fuzz 1.

what does this mean?

Last edited by bionnaki (2008-01-05 06:40:42)

Offline

#8 2008-04-28 06:32:31

BluntBox
Member
Registered: 2008-04-28
Posts: 7

Re: How to use Rab's pypanel buffers patch?

Does anyone have a valid link for this patch? I have used it before with success, but do not have a copy any more. I tried using the text in the code block above but it doesn't work properly for me.

Edit: That link might be valid, but on any PC / browser combination I have been able to try and access it, the page just renders blank. Any pastebin.ca url is just a white page. Maybe it hates Australians or something.

Decided to give the page a look in Links... gives me a few links that send me to a pages with bizarre terms of use / spam message combinations, that then link to an email transcript about replica watches. Really quite interesting.

Last edited by BluntBox (2008-04-28 14:39:50)

Offline

#9 2008-04-29 04:14:28

BluntBox
Member
Registered: 2008-04-28
Posts: 7

Re: How to use Rab's pypanel buffers patch?

With the help of someone from IRC (tigrmesh) I was able to get the patch. Can be accessed here http://pastebin.com/f240a16bf if anyone has problems viewing pastebin.ca like I did.

Note, pastebin.com drops @@ from the beginning of the third line of the file, so add those back in before trying to use it.

Last edited by BluntBox (2008-04-29 04:14:57)

Offline

#10 2008-04-29 07:00:15

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2006-11-26
Posts: 5,819

Re: How to use Rab's pypanel buffers patch?

I heard pastebin.com runs on Windows servers and reformats your pastes with Windows instead of *nix newlines... I have had problems using patches because of that.


Got Leenucks? :: Arch: Power in simplicity :: Get Counted! Registered Linux User #392717 :: Blog thingy

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB